It wasn’t the spices.

DSC_0034 (800x530)

I bought a package with ready-made and fried meatballs some days ago but I didn’t open it until Tuesday evening. I always smell things I’ll eat before even trying them, especially if the brand is new for me. This one smelled ok but I thought they had used som strange spices. They tasted ok but different to any other brand I’ve tried. Next morning I was a bit unsettled in my stomach and when I opened the fridge I understood why.

Lots of spiders where I live :-)

Lots of spiders where I live🙂

DSC_0036 (800x530)

DSC_0038 (530x800)

Didn't take many photographs this morning but thankfully I took a lot yesterday between thunderstorms.

Didn’t take many photographs this morning but thankfully I took a lot yesterday between thunderstorms.

It reeked of death and despair🙂 and it was the meatballs that was behind it all. Of course I tossed them away but that doesn’t help my stomach🙂 Thankfully it was rather cool yesterday with lots of rain and thunder so I spent most time in bed reading. Today is cool too so far and even if I’m already much better I can’t do much until I’m sweating badly and get a bit fatigued. I had to go to the super market this morning because I was out of that oh so important thing called toilet paper and I thought I just as well bought food for the coming week while I was there.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (531x800)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

I think it actually is a good thing to buy food while not in the mood for eating, one never buy more than one really need🙂🙂 I also had to fill up my car with petrol but the petrol station refused to accept my bank card since that magnet tape on the back side is so worn. So I had to find a petrol station where I could pay at the cashier where they now days only care about that little chip on the card. It’s always painful to pay that bill🙂 Today the petrol cost 14,53 swedish kronor and that is around $2,2 US per liter and that would be around $ 8,4 US per gallon. So I had to pay over $100 US to fill up my car this morning.

The bog ladies tried to dry up I guess, the smoke could be seen even in the middle of the day :-) There was so much that it rolled out over the fields and roads too :-)

The bog ladies tried to dry up I guess, the smoke could be seen even in the middle of the day🙂 There was so much that it rolled out over the fields and roads too🙂

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0016 (800x530)

There’s an idiot out there somewhere that shoots his rifle all day around. At first I thought someone might be hunting wild hogs, the only thing I think one is allowed to hunt now, but this person shoots in the middle of the night as well?! It woke me up late yesterday evening so I wonder what it’s all about. I know they have some kind of bird scarers that sounds like gun firing of every now and again, but middle in the night?

DSC_0017 (800x530)

Thunderclouds came and went all day and we were lucky to get home before it started to rumble all around us again.

Thunderclouds came and went all day and we were lucky to get home before it started to rumble all around us again.

DSC_0021 (800x530)

Building up to become a thunder cloud.

Building up to become a thunder-cloud.

It’s time to make a pot of tea and perhaps it’s time to have some breakfast, after all I’ve been up for over seven hours now but still haven’t had any breakfast🙂 I don’t feel like it but still I do need to eat. I won’t have any ready-made meatballs for quite some time though🙂

The bog is the nicest place to be at now, cool, without flies and absolutely quiet.

The bog is the nicest place to be at now, cool, without flies and absolutely quiet.

DSC_0030 (800x530)

I had to look twice before I could see her :-) The Hazel grouse hen is very good camoflauged. I thought she already had left with het chickens because I couldn't see her yesterday even if she must have been there all the time :-)

I had to look twice before I could see her🙂 The Hazel grouse hen is very good camouflaged. I thought she already had left with het chickens because I couldn’t see her yesterday even if she must have been there all the time🙂

This photo isn't much better but I didn't want to disturb her any more than I already did.

This photo isn’t much better but I didn’t want to disturb her any more than I already did.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “It wasn’t the spices.

  1. Usch då, matförgiftning är ett elände:( Nu får man vara väldigt försiktig med mat, jag brukar ha med mig kylväska och blandar lite känslig mat med fryst mat/grönsaker för att bevara kylan hem:) Fortsätter skjutandet i skogen även nattetid får du kanske göra en polisanmälan, verkar ju skumt att de skjuter på nätterna. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Finns ju roligare🙂 Men jag har varit med om värre fast jag är fortfarande lite darrig🙂

      Jag gör likadant som du, dessutom tar jag med kylklampar så det redan är kallt i kylväskan. Men inte denna gången med köttbullarna, det var lite oplanerat att handla då nämligen🙂

      Ja det är mycket konstigt med detta skjutandet, kan ju inte tro att de övar heller för det handlar om korta stunder då och då. Mycket konstigt!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Death and Despair Meatballs. Yum.😛
    I think I’ve had their bacon. It’s equally sickening.
    Hope your stomach settled down quickly.

    I couldn’t see the hen at first. She was behind the bushes.🙂

    Yesterday I went to the beaver pond (on the way to ice cream). There were so many different kinds of dragonflies buzzing over the water. I could clearly see them with my crappy eyes but the camera couldn’t see them at all. It was so frustrating. I wished I could walk on water.🙂 I did get a photo of one that obligingly sat on a bush in the water near me. And I got a decent photo of a great blue heron flying overhead.

    Your skies are definitely ones with big stories to tell.🙂 Loud ones, too, probably.
    It’s lovely here right now. Cool, sunny, low humidity.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It is better already even if I still feel a bit wobbly🙂

      I have now seen what birf it is and it isn’t what I thought it was🙂 I’ll tell You all about it tomorrow🙂 I even have a slightly better photo🙂

      I saw those photos today on Fb I liked them a lot! We have very few dragonflies this year, I’ve seen around five or six all summer. But there’s still time for them so I’m hoping for more.

      Yes those clouds were noisy🙂 Very nice today, fewer clouds and a breeze that cools down rather much and low humidity strangely enough, still it’s very warm once again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I hated to grocery shop so much I’d go when I was out of cat and and, like you, toilet paper. The dog food comes from a different store. Now I use a delivery service so I order multiple rolls of paper towels and toilet paper as I no longer have to carry it inside the house. I don’t run out any more.

    Great breeze on the deck tonight! It will be perfect for dinner. Lots of birds at the big feeder lately so I’m going to fill it before my guests come.

    Have a great evening!

    Sorry about those meatballs!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I don’t mind going to the grocery store or the super market. Mostly I go to the super market when few others are out, early in the morning🙂 and I go to the grocery store in the village I work after work and even though there usually are lots of people there it rarely takes long. Well sometimes it takes an eternity but that’s rare🙂 But I seem to have some kind of blocage when it comes to toilet paper🙂 I won’t get it until i have panic because there’s only one sheet left🙂🙂🙂

      Last evening was quiet pleasant and so is this morning, but it will be hot later today and tomorrow we’ll reach at least 83 they say. Not sure I like that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. oh no…poison meatballs! i hope you are feeling better now. wow…your gas sure is expensive! ours is about 3.69 cents per gallon now. the grouse hen is pretty! do the dogs go with you on the shopping trips?

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think that if we swedes ever want to take over the world we’ll poison meatballs and send them to IKEA🙂 There’s very few places on earth that doesn’t have an IKEA any longer🙂🙂🙂
      It’s the same all over Europe now days, petrol is so expensive it hurts. That’s the reason we have smaller cars over here.

      It turns out it wasn’t a grouse hen at all🙂 Finally I got a good look at it so in todays post I’ll tell You all what it is🙂

      It depends on what kind of shopping I’ll do and the weather. I don’t have ac in my car and if I can’t bring them with me thery better stay at home in the dog yard. More and more stores allow dogs now days, except for food stores of course but four dogs fill up my car pretty well so there wouldn’t be any space left for what ever I have bought🙂🙂🙂

      Still a bit wobbly in my stomach but much better than it has been.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. back when I still eat meatballs, I got some Italian ones and tried to make a burrito out of it.
    yep, last time I had those.
    $10.00! boy, I’d be in trouble if I had to pay that.
    please be careful out there…don’t want that idiot thinking you are wild game.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I love Italian meatballs🙂 But we call them frikadeller🙂

      It is painful to pay that much for petrol but we’ve gotten used to it🙂 I wonder how much difference there is when it comes to what we make since You think Your petrol prices are high. Must see if I can find that on the internet!

      I can hear that it is on the other side of the big road, at least a mile from here and there’s no risk of getting close. But I wonder if it might be some thing that just goes of every now and again to scare birds? Those things tend to drive neighbors made after a while🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. One thing I have never bought and after reading about your experience never will buy are frozen meatballs. I prefer to make my own and then freeze them. Frozen packaged meats never seem to get good reviews. And glad to read you are feeling better. We try to contain our grocery shopping trips to only once a week, but running out of toilet paper is a definite reason to shop. The spider web was very artistic and wonderfully captured.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      These weren’t frozen! Meatballs are a big thing here and we can get all kinds of them🙂 These were packaged in that kind of gas they love to pack meat in now days instead of vacuum. My guess is that these had been placed to warm some time. I would never worry about the frozen ones though.It’s always best to make them oneself but I felt lazy and got punished for it🙂

      I usually buy food at the super market once a week but I can also stop by the grocery store in the village where I work, it’s on the way home and the prices are much the same as they are on the super market. But as You say, no toilet paper is a reason to go there anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Nej inte är det kulprecis att bli magsjuk!😦 Fast du hade ju tur i oturen att det var just dom svala och regniga dagarna.🙂
    Här är det så varmt idag att det nästan inte gick att sitta på altanen när vi bjöd fyra vänner på lunch (laxpudding) och likadant igår, det är bara dom hemska flugorna som gillar de thär fukltiga, varma och soliga vädret. Igår var det dom nya ägarna – sommarboende – i grannhuset som var här på kaffe ett par timmar.🙂
    Som tur var inte längre – man är helt klalrt alldeles för gammal för att ha småbarn omkring sig. Den ena var 2,5 den andra 4,5 och dom satt ju inte stilla precis. Det hoppades, det skreks, det spilldes och det gräts. Men…det var jättekul att se hur Santos reagerade; Inte alls!🙂🙂
    Penny gillade ju inte barn alls. Speciellt inte små pojkar så det hade aldrig gått!
    Santos försökte få dom att leka med sig, men den äldsta grabben var lite rädd och den lilla ville helst jaga Santos, inte bli jagad själv. Så Santos gick till slut undan och la sig – smart!🙂🙂🙂
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nä roligare finns🙂 men dagarna var ju svala så det hjälpte mig nog att må bättre. Nu har det blivit hett igen så tack och lov att jag redan är bättre🙂 Tyvärr satte regnet igång skogsflugorna igen, annars har det varit riktigt lugnt på flugfronten här. Vi har inte haft såhär lite flugor på de tretton år jag bott här🙂

      Alltid lika intressant att se hur hundarna våra reagerar på barn, Hector skulle nog bli alldeles för uppspelt, Orvar bli grinig och gå medans både Nova och Sune skulle älska det🙂
      Smart av Santos att inse att det ingen idé var🙂

      Ha det gott i värmen!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

