I’m not afraid of falling down and die, it is the pain I get if falling down and all the bones in my body breaks and I survive that scare the crap out of me.

Now the roof looks fine again. I had to get from that roof ladder to the top of the roof and to the most left one could get.

Now the roof looks fine again. I had to get from that roof ladder to the top of the roof and to the most left one could get.

I said to my self this morning, It’s now or never. I had noticed that the tiles at the top of my roof at the end of the left side of the same had slid down a bit and had to be placed properly again before the big autumn rains and winter snowfalls started. They were careless when they changed the tiles from clay ones to concrete ones. They used the same roof laths one hangs the tiles on that already were there. The problem is that concrete tiles are much heavier than clay ones so they sort of give up after a while. I hate walking up there and I have used the entire vacation to build up enough courage to go up there. When I finally had thunderstorms arrived and after that I was food poisoned🙂

We still had some fog left when we finally were out walking.

We still had some fog left when we finally were out walking.

DSC_0031 (800x530)

DSC_0035 (800x530)

But then, this morning at 5:50 I decided it was time. I brought all the material I needed, not much to be honest, a roof lash and some nails and a hammer. Climbed up the ladder and then I continued like a slug moving forward on the roof🙂 My roof ladder is placed at the middle of the roof and to get to the most left I then had to push up some tiles so I had somewhere to place my feet. I had hooked myself to the old tv-antenna with my car towline. It has hooks at each end so I just hooked it on my belt. To be able to push away those tiles (five of them) I then had to lean outwards and downwards just relying on that towline🙂 When I finally reached the place I realised that I still hade the roof lash on the roof of my patio. So I had to slowly slide back to the roof ladder and slowly slide down the ladder to fetch the lash🙂

I have to say that this farm cat really doesn't know how to hide well :-)

I have to say that this farm cat really doesn’t know how to hide well🙂

DSC_0036 (800x530)

DSC_0038 (800x530)

Then slide up again and slide back to where I had to do the repair. I was so nervous that my mouth was dryer than a desert but I sweated so much all over my body that it felt like I was standing in a rain shower🙂🙂 As soon as I hit the first nail two of the tiles slid down and landed on the patio roof, thankfully none of them broke. So I finished the job and then I did the same thing one more time🙂 But this time I had two rather heavy tiles in one hand and that made the sliding so much harder. When I had finished the job I slowly slid back again but this time I had to pull down those five tiles I had pushed up. That’s much harder and I squeezed my fingers every time :-)But now it’s done and I can finally start thinking of other things I want to do this summer. Like my green house.

DSC_0040 (800x530)

DSC_0041 (800x530)

DSC_0051 (800x530)

As soon as I’ve been to the home improvement store the thought of the roof have given me so much anxiety that I have turned home again. I knew I had to fix the roof before starting with anything else. But now when it’s done I can finally relax. A good thing with this though is that I got a chance to see that the rest of the roof looks good. But sooner or later another of those roof lashes will give up and then I’ll have to do it all again🙂 I’m glad I did this early in the morning when fog surrounded the village and it was cool because now it’s so hot that not even Sune wants to run around and play. I would have boiled as well up on that roof if I had done it now.

DSC_0062 (800x530)

DSC_0002 (800x530)

Lots of big dragon flies at the bog but none wanted to sit down and rest for a while so I took this one while it passed. Pure lucj because I really couldn't see where it was :-)

Lots of big dragon flies at the bog but none wanted to sit down and rest for a while so I took this one while it passed. Pure lucj because I really couldn’t see where it was🙂 I’ll have to live with the blurryness.

Now I feel rather relaxed and sort of proud of myself🙂 I’m still thirsty all the time but I guess I’ll have to drink a lot of water after that time on the roof🙂 My stomach is still a bit wobbly but I’m hungry again and that’s always a good sign. So now I’ll make myself something to eat and even if it is hot outside I still think I’ll have a cup of cocoa🙂

It wasn't any kind of grousse as I first thought, that had laid those eggs. It's a Woodcock. Just look at that big eye!

It wasn’t any kind of grousse as I first thought, that had laid those eggs. It’s a Woodcock. Just look at that big eye!

Finally the Peacock eye is back :-)

Finally the Peacock eye is back🙂

DSC_0019 (800x530)

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “I’m not afraid of falling down and die, it is the pain I get if falling down and all the bones in my body breaks and I survive that scare the crap out of me.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Well, if you’re going to do something that may involve falling and breaking a bunch of bones, it’s probably best to wait until you’re almost ready to go back to work so that you don’t spoil your whole vacation with inconvenient things like emergency rooms, IV drips and body casts.🙂

    A group of us decided to reroof a friend’s barn. We were doing silly things to keep ourselves from falling off the very sloped part. The builder who lived behind her property suddenly showed up on the roof with some braces and strips of wood. He had been watching from his deck and couldn’t bear it any longer. He was there to show us how to walk on the roof without falling off. You nail horizontal strips of wood across the roof and use them like steps. So simple. Except then you have to patch and tar the nail holes when you pull the strips off.

    I thought at first that the dragonfly was a helicopter. It’s very annoying when they don’t land for their portraits.🙂

    That’s a woodcock for sure. It was hard to see what she was before. Hunters here often call them Timberdoodles.

    It was pouring rain here this morning. Now the sun is shining. They are saying thunderstorms for today. We’ll see.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It would probably not been worse than that I could go back to work directly from the vacation anyway🙂🙂🙂

      I think I’ve seen something like that in a documantary from the US or Canada because I knew exactly what You were meaning. I’m not sure I would have managed to do something like that here though, I would most likely had fallen quite quickly🙂🙂🙂 But it is a really smart thing to do!

      Yes why can’t they understand that we want tp take a few photographs?🙂 I’ll walk there early tomorrow morning to see if they perhaps is resting when we arrive, but I don’t think it will be cool enough for that.

      I think Timberdoodles sounds rather nice🙂 We call them Morkulla. Strange bid and the flight is even stranger. It flaps its wings every now and agin and sort of glides in between🙂

      No thunderstorms here today, just hot. Tomorrow will be even hotter.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Rocky and I went walkabout in my yard a couple of hours ago and I found a very cooperative dragonfly that sat very nicely for its portrait. I’ll put some up on Facebook.

      • I went out to the big now when we woke up but I couldn’t find a single dragonfly. It’s too warm already so thay were out flying. I’ll chek on fb!
        Christer.

  2. Hmm.
    I read each word slowly, imagining what you were doing.
    It reminded me of the time I cut down big limbs and some medium sized trees.
    I was so thankful that I didn’t cut my leg off with the electric saw as I fall off the ladder……….
    so, what I am thinking here is that both of us need to stop doing this stuff!
    maybe take a few over-time hours (which we HATE working) and use that cash to pay SOMEONE ELSE
    to do this dangerous stuff…..seriously. I mean it.
    (although i am going to try to disconnect and put up a new electric security light outside this weekend and I have no idea how to do it.)
    anyway, as my Dad used to say “Do as I say, not as I do!”😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I would have loved to give this job to someone else but my economy doesn’t allow that🙂 A few hours wouldn’t help either I’m afraid, but I’m saving for the day when the entire roof needs to be redone. I would however never stand on a ladder with a chain saw🙂🙂🙂

      Good luck with that security light! I don’t think it is especially difficult. Lots of people in the city have it and most have put them up themselves.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Förstår din ångest fullkomligt! Höjder är bland det värsta jag vet😦 Har jättesvårt att bara klättra upp några steg på en stege, upp på ett tak skulle jag aldrig våga mig. Så skönt att det nu är över så att du slipper tänka på detta nu ett tag framöver:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Egentligen stör inte höga höjder mig, men att stå på ett tak gör mig fullständigt skakig🙂 När man kommer upp i höjder som Eiffeltornet bryr jag mig inte alls, det är så högt att hjärnan liksom inte fattar det🙂

      Ja nu kan jag glömma taket över vintern i alla fall🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

    • Hi Suzanne and welcome to my nlog🙂

      I am and finally I can relax again🙂

      I’m glad You like it here🙂

      have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! that is really scary. couldn’t you ask your neighbor to watch while you do that in case something happens? i am so afraid of heights i could never do that. that kitty looks like she thought she was well hidden. so, are you going to build your greenhouse? i am going to the first harvest festival tomorrow! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I was thinking of going to the home improvment store today but it isn’t eve 7 am yet and it’s way to hot. So it will have to wait.

      I think he probably would get up there at the same time as me🙂 But I’m pretty sure he would have kept an eye on me if he just had been awake🙂

      Yes that cat really believes it is hiding well🙂🙂

      Too hot to do anything here right now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Suerte and welcome to my blog🙂

      So who am I to complain🙂🙂🙂 Today is very nice though, lower temperatures once again and a nice cool wind. A perfect last day before work starts again after the vacation.

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

