It’s like living in a giant hair dryer.

DSC_0001 (800x530)

It’s already much warmer than they predicted for this area, at the moment we’re having 31C (87,8F) and it just keeps getting warmer. we’re having a strong wind too so it’s like living in a giant hair dryer🙂 The wind makes it feel a bit cooler than it is though but everything out there is drying out. I’ve watered my potted plants, like the tomatoes but I doubt it’ll help especially much. I guess they’re right about thunder later tonight because a cold front is approaching from west so guess if I’m glad I fixed those tiles🙂

DSC_0002 (800x530)

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

I can’t remember when it was this hot the last time but Sune and Nova insists on me playing with them outside and they also wants to go for a walk but I’ll do nothing of that in this heat, the risk of them getting over heated is just too big right now. So both shows I’m the most boring human there is on this planet🙂 Orvar and Hector mostly sleeps on the floor in the living room. I wish they didn’t dislike going down in to the cool cellar so much because I think that would be the best place for them to be at this moment. I’ll keep my doors and windows open until the thunder and rain starts so the wind can blow straight through it.

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

I’m not complaining though, I wanted a warm and sunny summer and that’s what I’ve got this year🙂  For once I don’t mind getting back to work on Monday, usually I’m more tired after my vacation since the rain has kept on falling all vacation. This year I’ve gotten the chance to charge up my batteries to last all winter long, can’t remember when that happened the last time either🙂

DSC_0013 (800x530)
DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

We went to the bog this morning to see if I could find any of those dragonflies still resting in bushes but it was already that warm that they already had left (I can now see some of them flying in my garden instead🙂 )Some birds were singing but otherwise it was very silent. Now the katydids are playing so loud that it is almost the only sound I can heare through the wind. That’s the sound of autumn coming closer. I hope we’ll get a long, warm and dry autumn this year, it would be perfect after a summer like this🙂

DSC_0021 (800x531)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

It’s time to make some coffee because I have a head ache that comes and goes. That’s usually the sign of thunder but in this case I think it’s just because I have had too little water during the day🙂 No food though, it’s just too hot.

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0030 (800x530)

DSC_0031 (800x530)

DSC_0036 (800x530)

Have a great day!

Have You ever tried Clematis as a ground cover? It looks very beautiful when the ground is covered in huge flowers like this one.

Have You ever tried Clematis as a ground cover? It looks very beautiful when the ground is covered in huge flowers like this one.

6 thoughts on “It’s like living in a giant hair dryer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You🙂
      Those birds are Barn Swallows. I have had a nesting couple beneath my tiles above the kitchen door this summer🙂

      I could take the heat better than my dogs though. But we have already had one big thunder storm and it sounds as if another one is moving this way now. The wind have started to blow again so I wouldn’t be surprised if the rumbling starts soon again. The lightning have gone through my old telephone four times already.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer,
    This is so not like your normal weather. Imagine that hot wind with a temperature 10ºF hotter. That’s what we had a couple of weeks ago. Yes, there is a breeze but it’s like the breeze you get when you open the oven door.

    I never thought of clematis as a ground cover. It was always very touchy in my yard and didn’t do well so I avoided it. It’s supposed to prefer to have its roots in the shade and the rest of itself in the sun. If it’s sprawled on the ground, it would self shade its roots and that would be just to its liking. Hmm, maybe they would like the west slope of the driveway.
    Every July for several years I drove to Washington DC for work. Along the New Jersey Turnpike and points south I would see, out in the wetlands, huge, dinner plate sized flowers threading all through the grasses and other plants. They were hardy hibiscus or rose mallows. Imagine a mass of those things growing in your yard. My back swamp is too shady for them or I might consider it.

    Barn swallows and swallows in general are so cool. I love watching the fledglings play catch with a down feather. Hey, you have to learn to catch stuff while flying and a down feather is a good place to start. It falls slowly.🙂
    Once I saw a tree with very strange leaves. On second look it turned out to be a dead tree and the “leaves” were swallows that were all perched facing the same direction. It was the oddest sight.

    Great weather here today. Mostly cloudy, cool breeze, some sun. Nice.
    Enjoy your day. Hope it doesn’t thunder too much for Hector’s sake.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it’s very unlike what we usually have here but I think this will help my walnut to survive through the long winter, this hot and sunny summer is just what it needed for its first winter outside! But I’m sure glad we never reached those heights in temperature You had🙂

      More and more people use clematis as a ground cover here but grass will grow through the vines after a while if one doesn’t cover the ground with something, like I did with those wood chips I made.

      I would love to have those hardy hibiscuses here but they only survive a winter or two until we get one of those nasty cold ones without snow. I had one for a couple of years but it never managed to flower. But I think it would grow and thrive rather well at my neighbours up the slope, they live in a totally different climate zone than I do.But I usually get lots of musk mallows here, they grow much like weeds here🙂

      I love to watch swallows fly around in the air! Sune thinks he can catch them and tends to run after them as soon as they fly close enough🙂 He’s having a hard time since the grass is so high he must jump up in the air every now and again to be able to see anything🙂🙂 They usually sit on my telephone line just outside my cottage a few days before leaving for more southern places. I know autumn is close when they’re gone.

      We’ve had some thunder storms so Hector has spent most of the day in the bathroom but he seems to be calm and happy there so I let him stay for as long as he wish. He’s kind enough not to dig through the cat litter🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

