An easy day.

We walked in to the center of the village yesterday, the machine from hell could unfortunately be heard just as well there though.

We walked in to the center of the village yesterday, the machine from hell could unfortunately be heard just as well there though.

My first day back at work was rather nice, mostly because I stopped working at 11 am🙂 I had forgotten I had an appointment at the optician today. Well to be honest I thought I had the appointment during my vacation but had forgotten about it anyway🙂 But then I found my note yesterday and shortly after that I got a text message from them reminding me about it🙂 We weren’t many people at work but they managed to get the son of an employee to come and take my place🙂

I guess there's lots of nutricions left in the old manure spreader.

I guess there’s lots of nutricions left in the old manure spreader.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0004 (800x525)

I have become more myopic than I was before and I thought that would be impossible to be honest🙂🙂 I never really like the fashion when it comes to glasses, the only glasses I’ve had that I have liked is the so-called Harry Potter glasses. I had them long before Harry Potter even was a thought in J.K Rawlings mind🙂 But back in those days they usually was called communist glasses (I think Lenin had glasses like that once upon a time)🙂🙂 But when they finally broke they were out of fashion and I had to wear those square ones that has been in fashion since then. But today fashion has finally caught up with me and in around two weeks I’ll have similar glasses again🙂 But to be honest, I do like my sun glasses and I’ll take a photo of them when the new ones arrive.

I cpould see two smallish birds flying around by the telephone wires but couldn't really see what they were.

I cpould see two smallish birds flying around by the telephone wires but couldn’t really see what they were.

Some kind of falcon.

Some kind of falcon.

DSC_0009 (800x530)

It’s expensive though even if I go to a chain called Specsavers. I get two glasses for the price of one and if I don’t want anything special done with the glasses they only cost what the most expensive frames cost. But this time I chose bifocal glasses on one of the pair and that kind of glass that doesn’t get scratched that easily. It will cost me almost 4000 Swedish kronor, that would be around $606 US. Hopefully I won’t have to buy new ones any time soon though.

DSC_0015 (800x530)

The big tomb. I don't know if it is one person that is buried there or several.

The big tomb. I don’t know if it is one person that is buried there or several.

Some of the smaller ones.

Some of the smaller ones.

So I came home rather early and it sounds as if the machine from hell has slowed down rather much, so far I’ve only heard it once in three and a half hour. I guess someone finally called the police🙂 Hector is much calmer even though he still is a bit stressed, now I think he’s mostly stressed about waiting for the bang to be honest. But when ever it gets too much for him he walks in to the bathroom and stays there. One dog that never seems to be worried is Sune. Yesterday when I watched the news I saw a small very happy dog bouncing around in the cow pasture just outside my cottage🙂🙂🙂 No cows were there thankfully but I could see how happy he was just running around, that is until he heard me🙂 He then ran back like crazy and as soon as he saw me he looked as if the world had come to an end🙂🙂🙂 I don’t think it even took a minute until he was bouncing around happily again🙂

DSC_0021 (800x519)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

It’s time to boil some rice for my dogs (I hope this wobbly stomach period is over when the chilly air returns again) and a pot of tea to me. It has been cooler today but not really cool ton be honest🙂 They predict rain almost every day this week so we better enjoy this as long as it lasts.

DSC_0024 (800x530)

All Rowans have lots of berries this year.

All Rowans have lots of berries this year.

DSC_0027 (800x530)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “An easy day.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Your bird looks like a female kestrel from what I can see of it. It looks small enough anyway.

    I just had to get new glasses too. I needed a pair for driving at night as well as a new prescription for reading glasses. The frames were on sale at 50% off the regular price. The lenses had to be coated on both sides with anti-glare and anti-scratch. Anti-scratch because I’m tough on my glasses and anti-glare on both sides because I really cannot stand to see the reflection of my eyeball staring back at me.🙂 The two pairs of glasses cost almost $700 USD. And the new reading glasses give me a headache so I don’t wear them very often. Love the driving glasses though.

    The manure spreader has an abundant crop of something. Leftover seeds in the manure, maybe? I once left a bale of hay in the back of my pick up truck for the whole summer. It was quite verdant at the end.

    Are those poppies in the last photo? They are long gone here.

    It’s cool, breezy and sunny today. Another perfect day.

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi caryn!

      I think You’re right about it being a kesterl. I’ll check it better later.

      I didn’t care about anti-glare, I’ve never had that problem🙂🙂 but anti-scratch is a must otherwise I’ll need to buy new glasses already at the end of this year🙂🙂 I didn’t take bifocal on one pair since I want those when driving.

      It could be leftoevr seeds from the manure but it is a rather common weed here so the seeds might just have blown there themselves.

      I’ve seen bales of hay left on the ground during winter and nothing is as green as those th next spring🙂

      Yes they are California poppies, Eschscholzia californica, and I did sow them a bit late but even if I had been early they would still flower here all summer and way in to the autumn.They’ll self sow if I’m lucky so that I’ll have them next year too. Last time I sowed them I had them for over five years🙂

      It’s warm here again and tomorrow a cold front will arrive and then we’ll have thunder in the after noon. I hope I’ll have come home from work before it starts.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. After I had cataract surgery, I found that I no longer need glasses. I’ve been wearing glasses since I was a young man, but the cataract surgery somehow fixed the problem for me!

    • Hi Jim!

      That’s one good thing from that surgery! But there was an old lady in the store at the same time as me and she had to have reading glasses again after ten years after that surgery. Not strong though but she got them mostly to get rid of a slight headache she had had for some time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • My eye doctor says he can’t wait to get old and have cataracts so he won’t have to wear glasses anymore. He’s a little bit younger than I and he’s been my eye doctor for many many years. He’s still wearing glasses.🙂

  3. We have a place called Hakim , we had the two for one special and Garry’s two pair were 300 canadian dollars, thats with bi focals built in, mine were even less because i don’t have bi focals.I hope your glasses last for a good while at that price! Its still very cool here, going down to 9 Celsius at night and only reaching 15 Celsius day time, The shot of the horse rolling is great, what beautiful creatures, I’m glad they slowed down the machine scaring the birds away, poor Hector

    • Hi Laurie!

      It hurts to pay that much too🙂 But then again one gets two pairs for that price and I remember when one pair costed that much, but new chains like Specsavers have made the prices a bit more humane🙂 He said that I might be less nearsighted within two years and I guess that would mean I would have to buy a new pair then🙂🙂

      Awfully hot here right now and a humidity at 100%, It’s actually quite nasty outside now. Thiunderstorms comes and goes as well.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, seems you started quite an exchange with news about your new glasses, because like others who commented, I also went for new glasses. Mine were about 2 years old and honestly I would have waited a bit longer since they are costly. But the coating was starting to break down on the thinner plastic lenses called high-index type which are thinner than regular plastic. Apparently this is expected with this type, but didn’t make me happy to learn that and I was told that if it happened after 1 year then I would have gotten a new set. So I went to an eye exam, which yiu should get before ordering new lenses, and the new pair will be regular plastic lenses without a coating. Glass lenses would have been heavy to wear as I too wear my glasses all the time. Also, I selected a rounded frame as well…we should compare our new frame looks!
    Glad the first day back to work was easier and also that the machine noise has subsided, hopefully it will end soon.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      🙂 My glasses were three years old and full of scratches. I’ve had that kind of lens that You had and had the same problem too. So I’ll never buy those again. But it’s impossible to buy lenses made from glass now days. Just as well since plastic almost never breaks if dropped on the floor.

      At least my optician almost have an eye exame when ordering new glasses, it’s included in the price. One never knows if it is a disease that is behind the change of sight so I wouldn’t get new ones without an exam.

      I’ll take a photo of my new glasses when they have arrived🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer-

  5. I love to read about how happy little Sune is!😀
    I don’t have health or dental or eye insurance. But my boss puts money into a debit card account for each of us for those type of expenses. Each month, the same amount, he says, but actually it’s the full amount at the beginning of the year. So some people use it all year long. I wait until towards the end of the year and if nothing has happened to me health wise then I go to the eye doctors and get an exam and new glasses. We have to use the money or if we don’t then it goes back to him at the end of the year. so I always use every last penny.

    • Hi Cindi!

      He’s a truly happy dog🙂

      So the eyes aren’t covered in the normal health insurance? Teeth aren’t here but all the rest of the body is🙂 (but unless it’s very special glasses we do have to pay the full price) But everyone here in Sweden have insurance becxause we pay it via our taxes.

      Great tyat he does put away money like that! Is that normal or is he just kind?

      I would use every penny of that too🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Cindi!

        Cheaper this way I guess. But isn’t all of You covered by insurance now when “Obama care” has come? I have to say that I think our system, with its faults, is a better one than what You have in the states. I mean I’ve had two hip surgeries and it didn’t cost me more than around $ 300 USA for both together and that included medicine as well.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

