Like curtains of water.

2013-08-07 001 (800x530)

We didn’t get any more thunderstorms yesterday, they all passed some distance away but my phone rang every now and again so I know it hit some telephone wires far away. I have an old phone plugged in even if I almost never use it because if I have it plugged in the lightning goes in to it, if I don’t have it the lightning goes out through the telephone jacket in my hallway and in to the wall on the other side. I really should call the telephone company and ask them to remove those lines since I don’t use that phone.

2013-08-07 003 (800x530)

2013-08-07 004 (800x530)

2013-08-07 007 (530x800)

I see I started with yesterdays photos🙂 We went out to the bog shortly after the thunder had passed. It was like walking in the rain because the spruces kept on dripping for hours.

The showers were so strong when the thunder passed that I had two long water falls on each side of my cottage, I couldn’t more than half a meter (much the same in yards) because of the rain coming from the roof. The first thing I did after it had passed was to go outside and check how it looked where I had fixed the roof🙂 It looks ok🙂 Normally it gets a bit cooler after a thunder-storm but not yesterday, it got hotter and reached 29C (84,2F). It was awful to go out with my dogs for a walk but they really wanted it, we made it to the bog and then we all wanted to go home again🙂

2013-08-07 008 (519x800)

2013-08-07 010 (800x530)

2013-08-07 013 (530x800)

Today is much nicer though still rather warm but another cold front will arrive tomorrow and after that temperatures will drop rather much and I think we all need a bit cooler now. I don’t want it to be cold though, a nice, warm and long autumn followed by a short and reasonable warm winter is what I want🙂

 

2013-08-07 012 (800x530)

2013-08-07 016 (800x530)

2013-08-07 017 (800x530)

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. Doors and windows are open all over the cottage and if just the machine from hell doesn’t sound during the night I’ll be happy.

Sunshine and lower humidity makes this day so much nicer.

Sunshine and lower humidity makes this day so much nicer.

2013-08-07 021 (800x530)

2013-08-07 024 (800x530)

Have a great day!

I saw this deer and I had to cough loudly to make her notice us :-)

I saw this deer and I had to cough loudly to make her notice us🙂

Suddenly her young one comes too.

Suddenly her young one comes too.

Suddenly One eyed Rune showed himself too :-) He's looking good.

Suddenly One eyed Rune showed himself too🙂 He’s looking good.

16 thoughts on “Like curtains of water.

  1. I’m so glad Rune is managing with one eye ( I now difficult this can be, lol) he looks fit and well, no bones showing and his coat looks good! Maybe someone will steal the noise machine, or it will break😉

    • Hi Laurie!

      He seems to manage very well and i don’t think he suffers much from the loss of that eye.

      They have changed the machine from hell quite a lot. In the beginning we heard it several times every hour but now just a few times a day. Too much anyway if I could deside. Farmers have started to harvest their crops all around the region so I hope this will end soon.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Warm weather after a thunder storm can be very steamy.

    The sparkly spruce drips are very colorful. Like tiny rubies falling from the trees.

    It’s good to see that Rune is looking so good. They must have gotten used to the machine from hell.

    Maybe one of the hunters will “accidentally” shoot that machine in a way that is not repairable.🙂
    Or all your neighbors can unite and complain to the village authorities that it is a noise nuisance and must be stopped.
    I have a similar problem with the church. After 40 something years of being quiet neighbors, they decided to get electronic bells. They are so happy with their electronic bells that they run them several times a day and they always play the same tunes. Badly.

    It’s another lovely day here. Sunny, some puffy clouds, a light breeze. Perfect.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was just awful🙂 but it is cooler down by the bog but I can’t say it was enjoyeble there either🙂 but at least all those sparkling drops were beautiful🙂

      The machine from hell doesn’t bang that often any longer, I guess authorities have warned the farmer that has it. We have no village authorities though, It’s the reagion authorities that gives permission for thing like this and I guess too many called them about this hellish sound. I wonder how those living closer to it manages not to go crazy🙂

      Why on earth did they get electronic bells?? Didn’t they know that church bells are one of the biggest sources of compleint when it comes to sound? They drive people mad after a while🙂 everyone likes them in the beginning but that just lasts for a short while🙂 I think they shouldn’t be allowed to use them any other time than on Sunday morning, not too early though, not everyone goes to church and they might need to sleep longer on Sunbdays.

      Sound like Your having a really nice day🙂

      have a great continuing of it!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Weather after the rain is so iffy: it can be horribly hot and humid or gloriously dry and cool.

    One eyed Rune looks nice and healthy. I don’t remember your posting a picture of him in a long while. Glad to see him back again.

    The woods and trees seems to glisten after the rain.

    I am glad there are no machines from hell here. I just have Satan’s spawns. I like church bells which are sweet sounding but not often!

    Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      So true but it usually cools down after thunder but not this summer.

      He does look very healthy but he has a competitor, a beautiful one now so I wonder how he’ll manage this winter. I did post a few photos in the beginning of my vacation but not since then. The machine from hell scared them all away.

      Everything look so full of life after a good rain, the grass grows again and it looks just as green and fresh as it did this spring.

      Church bells seems to be one of those things that can drive people mad. I like them but then I live far away from the church here. I haven’t heard the machine from hell this afternoon so maybe it’s turned of? I do hope so!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      We’ve had unusually little rain here this summer and I think almost everyone is happy about that, even the farmers seems to be quiet and that’¨s really unusual🙂 But these last showers have been really heavy! I love thunder storms but since Hector get so afraid I always hope it’ll miss us here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! is this the hottest summer weather you have had in years? we are having a thunderstorm right now. thank goodness because i was going to have to water! i’m glad someone made the man turn the canon of for the most part. they are so annoying. it’s nice to see that rune is still around and looking good. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      yes it is, we’re comparing it with the summer -94 and that was a really good summer! We also got the bronze medal in the Soccer World Cup that year🙂

      I haven’t heard the machine from hell all afternoon so I’m hoping it is turned of now🙂 I can understand why he wants it but it scares everyu living thing here.

      Yes Rune is still around but he has a serious competitor this year, I’ll show photos of him in todays post.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. The rain on the spruces was quite wonderful and beautiful to see, Christer. We had a full day of rain yesterday, and thankfully we do not have any noisy machines in the neighborhood, only an occasional barking dog, but then I know you are used to those sounds.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It was so beautiful but it was just nasty walking around in that heat and humidity🙂🙂

      I don’t mind if dog barks here as long as it isn’t my dogs doing the barking🙂 but that macine is just pure evil! Haven’t heard it all afternoon though, so I’m hoping they have turned it of now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      This time we need it our selves though. It’s so dry in the ground that even big trees seems to have problems now. Otherwise I would have done my best to send You some of it🙂

      He sure looks fine Rune and loosing one eye doesn’t seem to bother him at all.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. we’ve had cooler weather and rain and I was happy.
    But today I have the air-conditioner on again.
    Tomorrow it’s supposed to be cooler again. I hope!
    guess what! I have a deer too.
    I saw it down in my neighbors yard eating out of the bird feeder last week!
    Then this last weekend I was outside very early pulling weeds and I hear this clicking sound and it was the deer crossing the street and eating grass. Then it crossed again and a car had to toot it’s horn to get it out of the way.
    Then I saw it another day and it was walking down the front yards across the street.
    I think it’s very cool but then today I noticed that my Morning Glories were half eaten!
    I’m pulling up and transplanting almost everything except those. I was happy where they were.
    Just my luck.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Deers are famous or should I say infamous for eating exactly those flowers one wants the most🙂🙂🙂 But I always forgive them🙂

      Much nicer and cooler weather here now but I wouldn’t mind if the rain could stay away all autumn🙂 It looks as if we’re going to have every second day weather here, one day rain and one day sunshine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

