To bad the grass grows after rain.

DSC_0005 (800x532)

The sun is shining at the moment but it’s cool and it rained just minutes ago and more will come, we’ll try to take a walk between showers later on. I managed to mow the lawn for the first time in four weeks just before the rain came. The grass had grown high in some places and that grass was wet since the last rain and the morning dew. I hate that because the mower just clogs and I had to stop every second minute to get all that green stuff (can’t really call it grass in that stage🙂 ) out so I could keep on mowing. In other places the grass was short and dry and so easy to mow.

DSC_0003 (800x532)

DSC_0009 (800x532)

DSC_0010 (800x532)

It seems the machine from hell only works in the evening now, I haven’t heard it at all so far today. I guessed it was like that so we walked down to the creek early this morning, well not early to be me, I slept until seven am and that’s pretty late for me🙂 Hector behaved like he always has and walked a bit in front of me until we came to the fields where the noise comes from, then he started to walk behind me again. But when he realised nothing was going to happen he became that happy dog he always has been again. He’s not that happy right now though, I think it took two seconds from when I opened up the kitchen door until he jumped over the fence and ran up the road to the farm next door🙂 How I yelled at him when I discovered him🙂 He’s after the cow dung it seems and now he has a breath that kan kill bears🙂

Common Buzzard?

Common Buzzard?

DSC_0015 (800x532)

DSC_0019 (800x531)

The water level was unusually high down by the creek today. There shouldn’t be much water at all since it has rained so little and no other creek or ditch has especially much water in them. Something blocks the passage beneath a gravel road and I wonder if we’ve gotten beavers here again. Last time they disappeared strangely as soon as people started to know we had them here. I won’t say they were victims of poachers but that’s my guess.

DSC_0020 (800x532)

It's almost only my dogs and I that walks down by the creek and since we haven't been there for almost two months the path is hidden in all that grass.

It’s almost only my dogs and I that walks down by the creek and since we haven’t been there for almost two months the path is hidden in all that grass.

DSC_0024 (800x532)

Tomorrow I’ll go to the annual plant swapping day on the other side of the bog. I won’t bring that many plants myself this year because most of what I have germinated rather late due to the late spring and they are rather small yet, I’ll have plenty nest year instead🙂 But like always I most likely will bring home more plants than I brought. This day is really more a chance to meet people living far away that we won’t meet otherwise, some of them I know since over 15 years back. I’ll bring my camera because the place I’m going to will cost likely have around 300 different day lilies flowering. They predict rain for tomorrow but I hope it won’t be too much, a drizzle I can take though.

DSC_0025 (800x532)

DSC_0026 (532x800)

I could hear and see that Bertil wasn't too happy, so I guess wild hogs were close.

I could hear and see that Bertil wasn’t too happy, so I guess wild hogs were close.

DSC_0030 (532x800)

I better put on some socks and shoes and take that walk since the sun still is shining. The forest flies have gotten a second spring but I can take that without my mosquito hat. Thankfully the biting ones are gone for this year by now🙂

DSC_0032 (800x532)

DSC_0033 (800x532)

DSC_0035 (532x800)

The Forbidden Forest.

The Forbidden Forest.

Have a great day!

Teo met us when we came home.

Teo met us when we came home.

DSC_0047 (800x532)

DSC_0050 (800x532)

another one of those poppies that look different from its parent.

another one of those poppies that look different from its parent.

10 thoughts on “To bad the grass grows after rain.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I love walking around by that creek.
      Bertil always look angry🙂

      I don’t know if they hunt hogs around here but they do all over southern sweden. But they are smart so if one is shot they never show at that spot again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I was driving around the town where I used to board my horse and passed by a spot that has had a beaver dam for the past 10 years or so. The brook that gets dammed runs close to a garage or barn and the resulting pond floods the yard and sometimes the roadway. Periodically, someone (I assume the property owner) will blow up the dam but the beavers always build it again. It had been blown up fairly recently as the pond and channel were empty. I expect the dam will be rebuilt pretty soon.

    The weather here is beautiful. Breezy, sunny, warm.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The beaver is a protected species here so they tend to shoot them before they make a dam. It’s easier I guess than to have to deal with authorities. The ground is so flat here so if they would make a dam the water would cover huge areas and I guess some forest owners rather shoot them than risk loosing lots of money.

      Rainy and cool here now and my laundry will never dry if it doesn’t stop soon🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      They say it will rain a lot tomorrow but I’ll try to get some photos anyway.

      It felt strange to see Bertil looking worried, he always look angry normally🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer,
    Your walks always seem to find the loveliest of places, wild and remote. Gracie would love that opportunity to run like the wind, but I’m afraid she would chase whatever animals she saw. Off she’d go chasing a deer or a rabbit. When a rabbit sits in my front yard taunting her, she goes to every part of the fence looking for a weak spot. Luckily she never finds one.

    I hope all went well during the thunder and the dogs survived the scares!

    Have a wonderful evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      We still have some spots that look like that, but most older forest is or will be cut down and what’s left is newly planted spruces.

      Gracie is like Nova then🙂 But Nova usually only chase hares and squirrels🙂 But she’s the only dog here that never jumps over the fence and walks away, not even if she can see a hare just outside the garden.

      All went well during the thunder, Hector stayed in the bathroom the entire time and the others aren’t that bothered thankfully.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      He was really worried when I took that photo. But as soon as we had passed the creek he went back to his more normal angry mood🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

