The plant swapping day.

DSC_0002 (800x531)

I usually go rather early to the plant swapping day but that was just impossible yesterday. The thunderstorm lasted for over four hours and the lightning flew across the sky as well hit on the ground the entire time. By now we must have gotten as much rain as we usually do during summer but in just a few days🙂

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x529)

But the sky cleared up around 3pm so I drove away anyway. The lightning had hit if not the house in the garden I was visiting but close enough to blow all fuses. The sun was shining when I arrived but it didn’t take long until thunder was close again and the sky opened up🙂 But we continued like there was no rain and I had the heat on in my car for the first time this summer on my way home. I was a bit cold after the rain and every window fogged up as soon as I sat down🙂

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x529)

This garden has way over three hundred different day lilies and lots of other plants as well. So I think I’ll let my photographs talk instead. It’s time for a cup of tea and perhaps something to eat.

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

Have a great day!

DSC_0015 (800x530)

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0020 (800x530)

DSC_0022 (530x800)

DSC_0023 (530x800)

DSC_0025 (800x529)

DSC_0026 (800x532)

Lots of water close to this garden, ponds and a river too.

Lots of water close to this garden, ponds and a river too.

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x519)

DSC_0030 (800x530)

DSC_0032 (800x530)

DSC_0033 (800x530)

16 thoughts on “The plant swapping day.

  1. what an amazing tour of a truly magnificent garden.I’m very fond of lilies and had several different plants at the house, I had some called Naturalizing lilies and they were ornage red pink and yellow, oh and white .They were wonderful, we also had Tiger lilies which grow wild along the road but grow bigger in the floweer beds, and we also had Day lilies also wild, ( I dug them up along the road and brought them home,) they were yellow and orange.The foilage that is left after they finish blossoming is a nice filler too, in the garden I mean, have a good day Christer, that was a bit scary about the lightening, I’m listening to thunder right now!

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is an amazing garden, one that I never could have myself, I’m just too lazy to keep anything that tidy🙂🙂🙂

      I have a few lilies, day lilies and a few tiger lilies too, they don’t always flower but always come back every year🙂 The tiger lilies however seems to manage any kind of environment🙂

      I’m thinking of planting all day lilies in one flower bed because they tend to disappear behind other higher plants here🙂

      I do have respect for thunder now days🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! it sure does take a lot of work for gardens to look like that. do they have the plant swap in the same place each year? do the people that live there organize it? it seems to be a very nice event! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it does and that’s nothing You’ll ever see me doing🙂🙂🙂

      They have had this day for several years now and it is the owners that organizi it. But there are several others doing the same all over the country, I had it when I had my garden center🙂 It’s not much to organize though, everyone brings plants they have a surplus of and then it’s like a lottery. We all pick a piece of paper with a number on it and then we go by that. The one starting shouts out the next number as soon as they have picked the plant they want.

      It is a fun event, especially if it doesn’t rain🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    So, did you bring home more plants than you went there with?🙂

    Lovely gardens. I would love to have gardens like that or like Joyce’s but I’m lazy like you. Too much work to keep it neat and too much money to pay someone to neaten it for me. I let nature take its course and plant what it wants in my garden.
    Some helpful squirrel planted a walnut tree in a discarded pot of dead petunias. Now I have a little tree to plant somewhere and I don’t have to dig it up first. Thanks to the little Spawn for doing the work. Now if I could just get them to weed and trim.😀

    The weather here is sunny and warm but not too warm.
    Enjoy the rest of your evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      This time I think I actually brought home almost the same amount🙂

      Like You I’m too lazy and not rich enough to hire someone to have a garden like that🙂 and I don’t even have helpful squirrels🙂
      I can keep weeds in the flowerbeds as long as they flower but get rid of them before they start produce seeds. Most weeds have really nice flowers🙂

      Sunny here this morning and a bit chilly.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

