Are pears good for pies?

DSC_0001 (800x531)

It’s rather warm again and it seems that most of the heavy rainfalls they have warned about missed this part of the world. I’m not complaining, on the contrary🙂 Once again I can have the windows open all evening and perhaps all night too. I like it when summer makes a curtain call like this🙂 But nights are getting colder so I know this won’t last for too long.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x531)

I bought a dvd when I was at the super market on my way home today. There’s nothing good on tv so I bought all three of the Jurassic park movies. The first one I know I’ve seen and that one is really good. I think I’ve seen a big part of the second and I think I thought it was exiting enough and I’m totally sure I’ve never seen the third one. I think the reviews were anything but good for that one but who cares🙂 I’m always in the mood for a really bad movie🙂 I love it when they are so bad that they become funny🙂

Hector looks very guilty :-) I wonder what he was eating :-)

Hector looks very guilty🙂 I wonder what he was eating🙂

DSC_0007 (800x530)

I don’t have much energy left today and not many photographs to show either so I’ll stop here. It’s time to make a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat as well. I’ve bought a lot of very big pears, are pears any good in pies? I have custard so I might make one tomorrow if they are🙂

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (530x800)

Have a great day!

DSC_0015 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

16 thoughts on “Are pears good for pies?

  1. I’ve never heard of a pear pie….so I’m thinking no. But maybe a pear tart?
    I have no energy either. In fact I could go to sleep right now except for the fact that I’m at work.
    I’m on a..break, yeah a break. Actually everyone has settled down and I’m waiting on 2 more boarders.
    and yes, Hector does look guilty.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Neither have I so I guess it isn’t that common🙂

      We were just like that at work today, we all would have fallen asleep if they had allowed us🙂

      He does look really guilty🙂 He didn’t two seconds before I took this photo though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      He always eat stinky things🙂

      Pear and blackberry! sounds delicious! and I saw that Kat gave me another recipe as well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer,
    I found a quick recipe for you.

    Pear Pie

    Ingredients:

    Original recipe makes 1 – 9 inch pie

    1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch double crust pie
    1/2 cup white sugar
    3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1 teaspoon lemon zest
    5 cups peeled and sliced pears
    1 tablespoon butter
    1 tablespoon lemon juice

    Directions

    Combine sugar, flour, salt, cinnamon, and lemon rind in mixing bowl.
    Arrange pears in layers in a 9 inch pastry lined pan, sprinkling sugar mixture over each layer. Dot with butter. Sprinkle with lemon juice. Roll out remaining dough; cut slits for escape of steam. Moisten rim of bottom crust. Place top crust over filling. Fold edge under bottom crust, pressing to seal. Flute edge.
    Bake at 450 degrees F (230 degrees C) for 10 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C), and bake for an additional 35 to 40 minutes.

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank You!
      I don’t have all ingredients this weekend but I’ll be sure to have them by next🙂
      All purpose flour, is that the same as wheat flour? I don’t think we have all purpose flour here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! i depends on the kind of pear. some pears are too soft and too watery. if it is a firmer drier pear it will work. i’ve made pear and blackberry pies and they are very good. uh oh…hector sure does look like he has been into something he should not have! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Naturally these are the watery kind🙂 But I’ll know better until next weekend🙂 I’ll make a peach cobbler instead🙂

      He really does🙂 He didn’t a few seconds before when I picked up my camera🙂 I guess he did manage to eat something disgusting just before I took this🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Yes indeed. Hector looks very guilty. And they say dogs don’t understand the concept of doing something wrong.🙂

    I have seen pear pie recipes where the pears are roasted ahead of time to remove some of the water and concentrate the flavor. Sounds logical but I’m not a baker so I can’t say.

    What do you do with the water lilies in the winter?

    Enjoy the DVD’s. I’ve not seen the other two Jurassic Park movies. The first one was good enough for me.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      They sure do🙂 It’s so easy to see when they have done something they know is wrong🙂🙂🙂

      It does make sence roasting them at first, pears doesn’t taste that much in the beginning and the pie would be rather like soup with all that water in them🙂 I’ve gotten a few recipes now so maybe I’ll try them later.

      Normally the water lilies would stay in the pond but since there’s no water in the pond after the vole I’m not sure what to do. I can either just dig them down in a flower bed or bring them in to my cool cellar. I guess I’ll dig them down outside.

      I went to bed instead🙂 So I’ll watch one or two of them today instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I’ve only eaten fresh pears..no pear pie. It doesn’t sound good to me. Mixed with another fruit might be good. Beautiful moon shot, Christer.
    I’ve only seen the first Jurassic park movie..not really my thing..and you are right..they can get SO bad that they become funny.
    Summer is doing a major curtain call here in California. Another day of temps over 100. Miserable. Tried to trim the rose arbor today..but waited to long and got really miserable. I’m too old for that I guess. Gorgeous bouquet though!
    Have a nice weekend, Christer!

    • Hi Mona!

      I have eaten pears in different cakes and desserts but never in pies. I’ve gotten a few recipes now so I’ll try it later in autumn.

      Yes there are lots of really, really bad movies and they are so funny🙂 If the third one is bad I really hope it’s really bad🙂

      I’m so glad we never reach temperatures like that! I think it’s hot enough when it reaches 85🙂

      That’s one of the reasons I don’t have roses, just too much trimming🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Oj vad Hector så skyldig ut! Det är kul att dom får så personliga uttryck så man kan se på dom när dom gjort nått ofog!! *FNISS*
    Santos är konstigt nog helt fantastisk när det gäller att ta äckliga saker i mun. Ser man honom göra det är det bara att säga SLÄPP och då gör han det direkt och så går han därifrån. Jag är helt överväldigad!🙂
    Att det är konstigt beror på att när vår ursnälla tax Brasse fick nått “ätbart” i munnen så svalde han det direkt vad man än sa. Och Penny ska vi bara inte snacka om, hon ÄLSKADE att äta sånt man inte kan äta – helst sånt från människor – och det gick knappt att bända upp käken med våld på henne.😦
    Här är vädret hyfsat fast helt mulet. typiskt när vi ska ha lunchgäster på altanen, men som tur är så finns det ju tak där!🙂
    När dom 44 gästerna från Bergianksa Trädgården var här i onsdags så VRÄKTE det ner i 10 min – det hade varit uppehåll hela dagen innan och solen kom fram precis när dom åkte – så dom stod och trängdes på altanen för att skydda sig. Inte så kul…..😦😦
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Tjänare Susie!

      Ja man kan alltid se när de gjort något de vet de inte får🙂

      Sune är väl lite åt Santoshållet, men resten av dem kan vara helt omöjliga. Ju äckligare det är desto envisare är de🙂🙂

      Rätt skönt väder här idag, mestadels mulet men varmt och en varm bris gör det ännu behagligare.

      Det är ju ett typiskt väder, när man absolut inte vill att det skall regna sätter det igång🙂 ungefär likadant på våran växtbytardag🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

