Haven’t worked today either :-)

DSC_0001 (800x527)

I haven’t been to work today either🙂 I’ve really had a slow start at work after the vacation🙂 Today I went to the hospital in Skövde to do the CT-scan. Nothing much to say about it really, first I drank 1 liter with contrast fluid during two hours. Didn’t taste anything to be honest, just like water. Then they placed me into the CT-scan and put in some contrast fluid in my veins. That was odd, I got really warm when they did. The machine started and it was over within minutes. Much better than the last thing I did🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

So I had more or less the entire day all to myself. Well my dogs woke me up at 3:45 am and wanted to go outside but I managed to go back to sleep again after that. We went out on our walk as soon as the sun started to rise. It was rather cold when we started so I wore my fleece jacket. That soon changed and I started to regret I took it with me but later I changed my mind once again since we were walking in shoulder-high weeds and stinging nettles. Nettles can usually not be felt through thick clothes but if one walks through a rather big field they start to break through🙂

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

We walked through the village, passed the church ruin and continued to the small lake in the forest. I thought since it is a Tuesday no hunters would be there and I was right, the first thing we scared was a deer buck🙂 The only sounds that could be heard were the sounds my dogs and I made. I had my new glasses on and had some trouble finding the right spot to put my feet at🙂 I have to say that they work rather well outdoors but not as good indoors. Everything is so much closer indoors and it’s hard to remember to turn the head and not just the eyes🙂

Apple trees grows here and there in the village. Lots of eaten apples has been tossed in to the fields. Most of them are rather tasty.

Apple trees grows here and there in the village. Lots of eaten apples has been tossed in to the fields. Most of them are rather tasty.

DSC_0016 (800x530)

I always strt thinking of old time cirkuses when I see this wagon🙂

Not many have walked or driven here this summer.

Not many have walked or driven here this summer.

This net was huge!

This web was huge!

The morning dew is almost dripping here all summer long as most of You know by now and to pass through shoulder-high vegetation sort of make one soaking wet🙂 but we made it to the lake just to realise that it is easier to see it during late autumn, winter and early spring when the vegetation isn’t that high🙂 There is a hill just beside it but it is covered with forest so one can’t see through all the branches.

This mire is the beginning of the lake.

This mire is the beginning of the lake.

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

On my way home I once again started to regret that I had brought the fleece jacket, the sun was shining and the air had become rather warm. That didn’t dry my clothes though, I ironed my clothes dry again when we came home🙂 Nova is a bit angry ay me at the moment, her ears have started to go bad again so I’m giving her the ear medicine again and she really don’t like that. She had forgiven me when I came home from the hospital but I had to give her the medicine again so now she’s a bit cranky again. This will go on for quite som time🙂 She usually get a better mood when the ear problems stop even if I still continue to give her the medicine🙂

The old road goes through an older forest.

The old road goes through an older forest.

The lake, somewhere behind all that vegetation :-)

The lake, somewhere behind all that vegetation🙂

DSC_0035 (800x530)

There's really no way to see the entire lake if one doesn't hesitate to walk out on the mire :-) I hesitated.

There’s really no way to see the entire lake if one doesn’t hesitate to walk out on the mire🙂 I hesitated.

It’s time to make a cup of coffee (still no tea at home!) and something to eat. After breakfast 5:30 this morning I’ve only eaten one hotdog and I feel I really need more now.

I've done some research about this lake and the one further south in the bog. They are actually part of the same lake that once was here, before they lowered the water level several times. I wonder if the authorities are thinking of making this one lake again, because they have been talking about this area in the national news but no one remembers what they said and we know that the Environmental Protection Agency has big plans for this area. We just don't know exactly what those plans are :-)

I saw a big hole in the church ruins on my way home and I guess that either a fox or badgers are using it as a home.

I saw a big hole in the church ruins on my way home and I guess that either a fox or badgers are using it as a home.

DSC_0048 (800x530)

DSC_0050 (800x530)

Have a great day!

DSC_0054 (800x530)

12 thoughts on “Haven’t worked today either :-)

  1. hi christer! i have to give teddy eye drops each morning since she had her operation and each day it is a struggle. she does not like those drops. we are hot and humid here. they are starting on my roof finally tomorrow so i hope the rain stays away! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s not easy but they doo need their drops! Nova seems to understand that so she comes when I call but very, very slowly and reluctant🙂

      It was a rather nice day here, sunshine most parts of the day and fairly warm.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I can see little bits of lake with pond lilies floating. I would hesitate on the mire, too.

    That old wagon reminds me of the shavings truck at the barn where I worked. There were 40 to 70 horses there so the shavings came bulk loaded into big trailers.They were packed solid. I’d have to climb a ladder and stab the wall of shavings with a pitch fork to break them up. The compacted stuff that had been nearest the door would collapse and shavings would flow out until it reached a point of balance and stopped. I’d have shavings down my shirt, up my nose, in my hair. It was worse in the winter because the moisture in the shavings would freeze them into big woody chunks. Poor horses having to lie down on frozen, lumpy bedding.

    The large black and russet bee is very attractive for a bee. Is it a type of honey bee or bumble bee?

    Enjoy your evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess it would be safe to walk out to the hunting tower but it’s almost impossible to see the lake from there anyway🙂

      Shavings is that like straw that the horses can walk and sleep on? Google didn’t help at all with that translation🙂 I really need to buy a dvd with an English-Swedish dictionary.

      That is a bumble bee. I don’t think I’ve seen a single honey bee here since I moved here thirteen years ago. But thankfully we have loads of different bumblebees and solitary bees to help us with pollination here. I have been thinking of renting a bee hive but it’s the problem when the bees are swarming. I wouldn’t know how to take care of the new population and then I would have to get the owner here and who knows if he or she can get here in time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Shavings for horse bedding is like the cedar shavings you put in hamster cages except that it’s pine shavings. It’s much cleaner than straw and easier to deal with, too.
        The websites all show it neatly packed in paper sacks like horse grain. We got it in bulk trailer truck loads that were blown into the trailer from a huge pile.The stuff was solidly packed in there.

        One of my knitting friends kept a hive for a couple of years. Her first year the hive produced way more honey than it was supposed to and she had to harvest some. It was excellent.
        The next year was a disaster. Her bees didn’t make it through the winter. The hive was properly insulated and the bees had plenty of food. The winter was so cold they wouldn’t leave the bee ball to feed so they starved.
        The replacement bees started out fine but the queen died. The hive carried on as if nothing was wrong but they didn’t make a new queen. They were republican bees, I guess.🙂 Eventually another queen appeared but this one was a virgin and clueless. Eventually, the hive died out from attrition because no new bees were being made.
        My friend decided to give bee-keeping a rest for a while. Other beekeepers she knew were having similar problems.

        Bees are complicated little things.

      • We have pine shavings here for both hamsters and horses🙂 Well, sometimes I think it might be spruce as well but never cedar because it doesn’t grow here.

        Lots of problems having bees, the honey just doesn’t make up for all that🙂 It must have been nasty cold if the bees prefered to die than to try eating! Lots of bees die here now, like all over the world due to pesticides (now forbidden in the EU) and a mite that kills the bees during winter. I only hope they’ll stay with the honeybees and doesn’t try bumblebees and solitary bees too.

        Christer.

  3. still having tests I see, I wonder if you will glow in the dark after consuming the contrast potion!!I am facsinated by badgers, we have none this far north,the closest thing we have is a Martin, they are nasty to and can be quite viscous considering their size, hope the ears clear up soon, poor dog can’t even reach them, our pet rabbit had ear mites once, I washed his ears and put castor oil in them, it worked quite well for mites but was a messy clean up!

    • Hi Laurie!

      The last one I think. If they can’t find anything strange now we must assume it’s twenty years of stress at Volvo that destroyed my stomach. I had hoped to glow but no🙂

      We have both badgers and martens here and none is aggressive. Both tends to run away as soon as one comes near and martens are really hard to see at all to be honest. It seems the European species are much less aggressive than the american ones.

      The vet once said that Novas ears are built to get infections so I’m afraid this is something we’ll have to keep on doing all her life. Her medicine smells rather nice actually🙂 and no mess tio clean up either🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    The dog is pretty good with medicine, but she hates when I use the breath freshener on her, but sometimes I have no choice. After I use it, Gracie has minty fresh breath. Before I use it, her breath could clear a room. The cats are horrible with medicine, and I have to wrap them in a towel so they don’t scratch me.

    Hot day coming today, but I put the air on yesterday and it is still on. Gracie was panting so much yesterday I decided I needed to cool her down. She is sleeping right now-her morning nap!

    Have a good day today. It sounds as if you could use it!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Al dogs here hate taking any kind of medicine but comes very slowly when I call them🙂 Both cats however are dreams when it comes to this, even Bertil?! It’s like they understand that even if it might be nasty at the time they will get better if they allow me to give it to them. This morning for instance Bertil allowed me to clean up a nasty wound on his head, normally he hisses if I try to touch him🙂

      Dog breaths can be truly nasty🙂🙂🙂 But I have to admit that I’ve never tried breath freshner🙂 Orvar however do smell minty fresh sometimes because he loves tooth paste. He isn’t allowed to eat it but if he gets the chance he steals a tooth paste tube and eats all of the paste🙂🙂🙂

      It’s actually quite warm here now, even at night! I would have loved to have a morning nap today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Well, I am glad you hesitated. Howard’s Dad didn’t (in Maine) and nearly lost his life. He got stuck in the mire or quicksand as they call it, which he didn’t even know was there. The more he struggled the deeper he went. He yelled and yelled as loud as he could. He stopped moving and just yelled. Their home is very isolated, rather like yours. Finally a man taking a walk heard him, rushed home and got his truck and some rope and pulled him out!
    I am GLAD you hesitated! 🙂
    We had a nice walk this morning..you and all of us readers!🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s usually safe to walk on mires especially if one walks on grass tufts but why risk anything. I don’t think we have quicksand here in sweden but we do have quagmires, a bit different but really the same thing anyway if You know what I mean🙂
      I’m glad everything went well that time for Howard’s dad. I’ve heard that the best thing one can do if falling in to a quagmire or quicksand is just to try floating, moving only make things worse. Never tried it myself though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

