Im bleeding and it hurts.

DSC_0013 (800x530)

We’ve had a wonderful day here and it looks as if it will continue like that until the night comes. Warm air, sunshine with just a few clouds and a nice warm breeze. It wasn’t that wonderfully warm this morning though, only 3C (37,4F). But it was enough to wear a fleece sweater, the sun did its job rather well. Besides a few birds singing and a few cranes shouting (I really don’t know what to call their sound🙂 ) not a sound could be heard.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

We met a doe and her young one on our way to the creek this morning, but by the time I had my camera ready the doe had jumped away :-)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

We walked down to the creek and the water level is very high there and that’s a bit odd since it’s desert dry everywhere else in this area. I’m pretty sure its beavers that has built a wall somewhere downstream from where I can walk. I got even more sure when something made a big splash in the water when we passed an opening between the trees. There’s so much vegetation along the creek out by the fields now that it’s impossible to see the creek now so I guess it got just as surprised as we did🙂

We might get a few ripe blackberries this year.

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

I didn’t mow the lawn today like I always do, instead I started to make wood chips from all the branches that been drying since I cut down my plum tree and half the apple tree. I wouldn’t have cut them down if it wasn’t for the fact that the plum tree was dying and half the apple tree fell down on the ground. Both my neighbor and I miss the plum tree, he could take as many plums as he wished since I really can’t eat that many myself🙂 We have now decided we both will buy plum trees this autumn🙂 I’m not sure what kind I’ll get this time though.

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

DSC_0032 (800x530)

DSC_0033 (800x530)

Anyway, I started chipping wood chips and this time it was so much that the wood chipper was over heated🙂 I had to stop several times to let it cool down otherwise it just stopped and then it took even longer to finish the job. It turns out I was out for five hours🙂 I also gave myself a few scratches and some bleeding wonds while working out there and it does hurt, especially when I wash my hands🙂 So now it’s time to make my dogs their food and a pot of tea for me. I might make an apple pie for later, I don’t think I’ve ever had this many apples and then I only have half the apple tree left🙂

DSC_0038 (800x530)

DSC_0039 (800x530)

This is the biggest web I've seen in my life.

DSC_0041 (800x530)

Have a great day!

DSC_0042 (800x530)

DSC_0043 (800x530)

DSC_0044 (800x530)

DSC_0045 (800x530)

16 thoughts on “Im bleeding and it hurts.

  1. Vilka underbara bilder! Magiskt morgonljus🙂 Kul med bävrar men kanske inte för de drabbade markägarna. Trodde när jag läste överskriften att du skadat dig igen, tur att det inte var allvarligt fast småsår gör jäkligt ont de med, speciellt på händerna:( Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Det blir ett sådant fantastiskt ljus när solen håller på att gå upp!

      Jag äger ju ingen mark så jag gillar det skarpt om de flyttat hit🙂 Såpass långt från min stuga dessutom så det finna absolut ingen risk att jag drabbas på något sätt🙂

      Fast även små skador är ju skador🙂 Men jag märkte faktiskt inte av såren och blodet förrän jag slutat för dagen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. well, with a title like that, I HAD to stop and read your post even though I am at work!😀
    glad it wasn’t something serious.
    great photos as always.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’ve had very few readers lately so I thought I had to get some attention and I usually do with a headline like that🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. i got scared when i saw the title of the post too! be careful out there! they finished me roof and then it rained. perfect timing! it is hot but finally the humidity dropped.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ve had so few readers lately so I had to catch some attention and I usually do with a headline like that🙂

      I’m glad they got time to finish the roof before the rain came!

      Summer warm and low humidity here so I’m enjoying every second of it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    I wasn’t too worried about the title of today’s post until I got to the part with the woodchipper. Uh,oh. Maybe this is going to get serious. Glad it was just the normal wear and tear of yard work and not an industrial strength accident.🙂

    I’m seriously jealous of your spider web photos today, especially the rainbow wheel one and the back lit ones. My spider web shots are disappointing. The webs are too fine for my lens. But I keep trying.🙂

    On our walk this morning a ruby-red dragon fly landed on my shutter finger and sat there, 6 inches from my nose, for a minute. I guess he was waiting for me to figure out how to get that shot. Wasn’t going to happen. The other hand was holding on to Rocky and I haven’t developed a talent for taking good shots with my elbow yet.🙂 The dragonfly moved himself to a nearby leaf and hung around for his portrait. Very obliging of him.
    Another dragonfly landed on my head but he didn’t hang around very long. We were at a different end of the lake where nobody pokes around close to shore. I guess the dragonflies there don’t know what people are.

    Bertil looks quite predatory in that second photo of him.

    If there’s a beaver on that creek and it floods, will it effect anything near your house? Or will the beaver mysteriously expire from high speed lead poisoning as many do around here?🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I always turn of the power (and pull out the plug too) if I need to put my hands down where they shouldn’t be. I am very fond of my fingers🙂

      You need to go outside just when the sun starts to rise and there’s still some morning dew around, that’s when the webs look so beautiful. We have so much morning dew that I really could wait an hour or so before I leave the home🙂

      I’m always jealous of Your dragonfly photos! They have to be near dead if I would be able to get any good photos of them🙂 I also think it’s a bigger chance of winning the lottery than to get a dragonfly landing on ones hand🙂

      Beavers usually die from high speed lead poisoning here but these one must be ver well known since they must have their building close to the road so they are pretty safe. I think beavers are protected here still. They were once extincted here but they moned some from Norway I think and finally they have spread to big parts of the country. All houses here are placed high enough to be safe from water damage because of beavers and I don’t think there’s a house close enough either.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Beavers are protected here, too, but they often die of high speed lead poisoning especially when they build close to a house or a road.

        We haven’t had much morning dew lately. The spider webs have no pretty droplets to make rainbows with.😦

        Dragonflies usually come back to the same perch so when I see where one has landed, I ease my way closer with my camera to my face, shooting the whole time. I keep the camera on that spot even when they leave because they will often come back in a few minutes.
        Sometimes I use the camera screen instead of the view finder and slowly move the camera in closer while I stay at arms length and try not to fall over.
        Even the big dragonflies that patrol along the shore line and never seem to land will come in to check me out as long as I sit quietly in an obvious spot. Rocky is usually with me and he is always in motion but I have seen the big dragonflies check him out. The smaller ones will sometimes land on his leash as we’re walking.

      • Yes that high speed lead poisoning spreads like crazy sometimes🙂

        I think that I perhaps have too few good places for a dragonfly to stop and rest at, at least where I’m able to walk too🙂 But I have to admit that ours rarely come especially close to us, I thought it would help with a tele-photo lens but they just seems to fly ever further away from me instead🙂

  5. Helt underbara bilder,det är en viss skillnad om man använder systemkameran istället för mobilen som jag oftas gör numera,av lathet tror jag.Det är så fint nu på sensommaren,lite vemodigt att allt tar slut.Men inte än.Jag klippte gräset idag,någon flishugg har jag inte.
    Ha det gott
    Renate

    • Hejsan Renate!

      Visst är det skillnad men det är riktigt bra kameroir i mobilerna numera!

      Jag vet inte om jag behöver klippa gräset denna veckan egentligen, kanske att jag gör det imorgon eftersom det ändå är torrt.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. So sorry you got hurt. Maybe the tea and apple pie will be soothing. I always love your photos but two in this post are amazing – the purple frond and the second spider web. How are they showing rainbow coloration? Was it the lighting or your camera, or what? Fabulous.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      I didn’t feel any of the scratches or see the blood until I was finished for the day so I guess they all happened just at the end.
      It’s the morning dew that makes the webs show those colors. We always have lots of morning dew here, it drips from roofs and trees some mornings. So when the sunlight hits the water those colors show. Still, the camera can’t catch how beautiful they really are, it’s like walking amongst rainbows🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Säger som Monne…. trodde du stoppat fingrarna i flishacken… Skönt att de finns kvar😎 Jag glömde ju o ta med din ljusstake till Dagliljeträffen! Ses vi nånstans före advent?
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      🙂 Jag är väldigt försiktig när det kommer till den kvarnen🙂 Finns roligare sätt att bli av med fingrarna på🙂

      Ingen av oss kom ihåg någonting nu senast🙂 Jag har ju ett keramikhus dessutom någonstans i Skara trakten🙂 Vet inte när vi ses igen men skall du något till Karin igen så ta med den och lämna den där.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

