Old myths are hard to kill.

The sun makes the morning dew look a bit blue.

The sun makes the morning dew look a bit blue.

There’s an apple pie just waiting to be placed in the oven and the apples comes from my own trees.  I thought I deserved pie after mowing the lawn today and chipping those branches yesterday. Well the mowing wasn’t that hard because the grass has barely grown since last time but I did mow all those little pieces that were too small to be picked up from the ground🙂

This summers kittens up at the farm. There should be three of them and we met the third later on.

This summers kittens up at the farm. There should be three of them and we met the third later on.

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

The farmer next door warned me that I most likely will hear a loud bang tonight or tomorrow night. A badger has dug a burrow a bit too close to the houses and most people still believes all those myths that badgers are vicious creatures and it’s almost impossible to make them change their opinion. One of the reason they want to shoot it is because they worry that it will hurt my dogs. I told them not to worry about that since we’ve met it several times without anything happening. Another reason  and a very true one too is that badgers can make huge damages on houses if they decide to move even closer and dug a burrow beneath the foundations of our homes. All houses and cottages are old here and none have foundations made from concrete but stones.

Bertil planned to follow us but he just didn't know how to poass this one :-)

Bertil planned to follow us but he just didn’t know how to poass this one🙂

He's always up for a fight but not against kittens.

He’s always up for a fight but not against kittens.

So the kitten calmed down when Bertil just sat there.

So the kitten calmed down when Bertil just sat there.

I think I finally am getting used to my new glasses because it’s harder and harder to use the old ones. I still can’t say I’m actually used to the new ones but I can see clear now and even read with them🙂 They work great together with the camera too, so much easier to get clear photographs, I’m not saying I manage that every time but more often than I did with the old glasses🙂

Bunny tail grass.

Bunny tail grass.

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

I watched the Scifi movie Oblivion yesterday, I bought the dvd on my way home on Friday. Didn’t it have premiere in the cinemas only recently? If You want to see a very well made movie with an interesting story and with really good actors/actresses but at the same time be so bored that You almost fall asleep this is the movie for You. Not even Morgan Freeman managed to make this movie more interesting and if he can’t do that no one can. But the special effects were good so it was possible to believe that the world could look like that and that machines like that really can fly.

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

Even my dogs are waiting for me to place that pie in the oven now🙂 I think I’ll watch another movie while eating it🙂 I have plenty of films I haven’t seen yet.

The sunflower we call Jerusalem artichoke.

The sunflower we call Jerusalem artichoke.

Lots of Aronia berries this year, the branches are so heavy that most of them touches the ground. Not the tastiest of berries but they are said to be really healthy. Works fine as jam or jelly.

Lots of Aronia berries this year, the branches are so heavy that most of them touches the ground. Not the tastiest of berries but they are said to be really healthy. Works fine as jam or jelly.

The first white Rowan berries :-) Birds tend not to eat them unless there's nothing else to eat.

The first white Rowan berries🙂 Birds tend not to eat them unless there’s nothing else to eat.

Have a great day!

DSC_0005 (530x800)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

9 thoughts on “Old myths are hard to kill.

  1. How was the apple pie? That has to be a wonderful feeling, to make it with apples from your own garden. We had a sour cherry tree but the birds always managed to get the cherries before we could. I love all your photos, as always, but my favorites this time are the orange flowers and that magnificent water lily.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      It turned out quite ok, perhaps the apples weren’t totally ripe so the taste was a bit weak to be honest.

      I would like to have a cherry tree but as You say, the birds usually take them all🙂 There’s one garden here in the village where they have lots of cherry tress and they have covered all trees with nets that birds sooner or later always get stuck in🙂

      The orange flowers are California poppies and they have always been favorites og mine. They usually self sown a couple of years and after that I must buy new seeds🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Great shots of the horses.

    Bertil is a gentleman. He’ll wait a while before teaching this little one some manners?🙂

    I never thought about badgers undermining a house. They do dig big setts sometimes so it makes sense that they might be able to do that.
    Badgers here are very feisty things. As a rule, they don’t live close to people if they can help it.

    The picture of the water lily is my favorite today. I love the intensity of color and how the wavy shape of the leaves echoes the wavy water. Lovely shot.

    Enjoy the apple pie and the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Those horses were so far away that I never thought they would come close. But then the brown one started running toward us, he’s used to me talking to them every weekend now🙂

      Yes badger can make a house tilt if they get a chance to make a burrow underneith a house, many a barn have been destroyed by them. Ours are much friendlier and seems to like living close to us, strange since we tend to hunt them with angry dachshunds🙂

      I think my favorite for today is the Jerusalem artichoke. The apple pie was rather nice🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. wow, the photos are amazing today! Enjoy your pie and movie, we haven’t watched Oblivion yet, I’ll keep an eye out for it.Its not on Net Flix yet I don’t think,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Oblivion is perfect if You want a movie where very little happens🙂 It is rather boring to be honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Thanks for the warning on Oblivion, although I doubt if I would have rented it.😀
    I have some apples…but I won’t be making a pie. I don’t have all those ingredients on hand.
    Love that Bertil.
    Love the photos of the horses too.
    I figured out how to make my photos down to 50 mb or whatever that was but now they need to be high resolution of 300 and after much Googling, it appears that they are what they are and it can’t be done.
    This computer stuff drives me completely insane and to be honest, it’s a rather short drive.:/
    Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      One never knows what one does a boring day and renting this one would only make the day even more boring🙂

      I really can’t understand what You are meanibg with that photograph🙂🙂🙂 It must be a huge photo if You will bring it down to 50mb. YUou can make a poster with 50mb🙂 or even wall paper🙂 To bad Yiu can’t do anything with it though. Unfortunately one can only make a high definition to a normal photo and never the other way around.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

