I might get a lakeside property :-)

The sign says:Drive slowly, watch out for the cat. Should say cats because she have plenty.

The sign says:Drive slowly, watch out for the cat. Should say cats because she have plenty.

The evening has started and it’s summer warm and has been so all day. They say this will be the last summers day for this year because tomorrow a low pressure will come and perhaps leave some rain and bring cooler winds. It’ll be just for a while, after that warmer winds and weather will arrive again but it won’t be as warm as it is now though. Beautiful fog this morning too and I always wonder why the best fog mornings comes when I work, I want to go out with my camera🙂

This and next photo shows fields with lots of old stone age tombs, covered with soil.

This and next photo shows fields with lots of old stone age tombs, covered with soil.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

I talked with some neighbours up the slope about what they will do with the nature reserve and it seems they might make a national park of it. Can’t see why, it isn’t that special even if I love the place myself but there are plenty of bogs like this one but perhaps not as big. They also told me that it now is forbidden to clean up the ditches in the area and that the little lake in the other end of the bog seems to grow.  So I might actually get a lakeside property after all🙂 Well it will most likely be a muddy soup and not so much a lake🙂

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (530x800)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

I’ve promised to work some overtime at work this week, we have so much to do that it’s impossible to deliver in time otherwise. Good that we have lots to do but I am already regretting my promise🙂 But I need hours now when I’ll get x-rayed again and later for when they’ll remove that lymph node. I’ll be working on Saturday morning and I’ll bring my dogs with me too. Perhaps we can go somewhere after work, somewhere they haven’t been before like the big lake Vänern (Europe’s third biggest lake but tine when compared to the big lakes in America🙂 It all depends on what weather we’ll get.

DSC_0001 (800x529)

Flowering for a second time.

Flowering for a second time.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

It’s time for a cup of coffee now, I’m low on tea and save it for tomorrow morning.

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “I might get a lakeside property :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    The cat on the sign looks shell-shocked.🙂 Does the woman live in that one little building?

    I love the photo of the single seed head of grass. Such nice soft colors in the background and that glowing grass in the middle. Beautiful.

    Aquilegia flowering for second time. Not mine. Mine are all brown seed heads. I should go weed the space around them so they’ll sow themselves for next year.

    From the title I was thinking the local beaver had done some prodigious work and the fields were filling up with beaver pond. So, you will have a bog lake at your door? Cool.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes she does, it’s even smaller than my cottage🙂 She helps in one of the cat shelters and quite often she bring home some cats until she can find new homes to them. One of her own cats loves to run towards me and my dogs and he looks slightly insane when he does🙂 He never attacks really but he’s close🙂

      I got a bit surprised to see all those flowers again because I never bothered to remove the old flowers and sead heads. Well they are welcome, not much flowers here now.
      🙂 No the beaver is too far away🙂 I knew the authorities had “bought” all land around the bog but I never could have guessed that they would go this far. That will only mean problems for us living close to it I’m afraid. We’ll get strichter rules when it comes to everything I’m afraid. But it would be cool to be able to say I have a lakeside property🙂 even if it only will be mud🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! does this mean your fall will be starting? the middle of the USA is sweltering right now with temps around 100 degrees. we are in the upper 80’s. i think our cooler weather is still a couple weeks away. i’m ignoring it and preparing for fall! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Strange! I could have sworn on that I answered to You yesterday.

      I usually count the first day of autumn when the first night with frost comes, but there have been years when the frost didn’t arrive until late October🙂 Those years I count September 15th as the first day of autumn.

      We were supposed to get cooler weather today but it never arrived🙂 Nasty cold in the morning though and lots of beautiful fog.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. such beautiful photos, wow, when we lived in the house we lived next to a Conservation area, protected, we were not allowed to do many things because of this, but there was a Doctor who lived just across from us who had a bulldozer on the shore to make a nicer beach, he brought in rocks to decorate as well, those were forbidden acts on this land but I suppose not everyone has to follow the rules, only the poor people, the big shots may do as they please! I hope you have not to hard a time at work, its beastly hot here, crazy weather, but thank goodness cool at night, Autumn is in the air,

    • Hi Laurie!

      We’ll get problems if this comes true, all rules will be much strichter for us than those a bit away. Good luck for me that the castke owns a propert close to mine then🙂 But You are right, rich people are usually allowed to do things poor people aren’t allowed to.

      It will be boring at work but nothing worse🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Tillbaka efter en vecka på fastlandet; Skåne (Österlen), Blekinge och Småland. Vi har haft en otrolig semester men kanonväder och mycket trevlig gemenskap – min bästa väninna från Stockholm var med. När gubben min gick och la sig tidigt på kvällarna efter att ha kört bil hela dagen så hade jag någon att sitta och skvallra med, mycket trevligt! Tyvärr blev det dock inget dopp i havet, det var alldeles för blåsigt och alldeles för mycket rutten släke (=tång) – men det blev ett härligt dop på LindaLundas B & B nedanför Åhus. Och roligt, det har vi verkligen haft…..
    Nu är vi tillbaka i vardagen igen och det är ju helt OK, när vädret är som det är. Ikväll grilalde vi mern vid sjutiden började det bli lite kyligt och vi gick in. Nu är det bara +9 grader! Snart är nog hösten är!!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja det har verkligen varit riktigt fint väder denna sommaren och det verkar bara fortsätta🙂

      s
      Så roligt att semestern blev så lyckad! Rutten tång är ingen höjdare dock🙂

      Vi har haft +1,5 som kallast här igår natt!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Lakeside property is what a lot of folks here on the VA eastern shore have when we get very heavy and sustained rains. Mostly this affects nearly everyone since we have a lot of ditches, no mountains, and everything is flat. Fields become lakes when this happens. Luckily, our home has never been threatened and also we have no basement to worry about it getting waterlogged. We have rainy weather now, but only showers and no downpours. Hope you and the pets get to enjoy an outing after your Sat overtime.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Thankfully this property is in no danger even if flooding would happen, even though I live down a slope it’s still rather high compared to the eventual lake and there are lots of places that are lower where the water would go. Still it would most likely be just mud and that would only make the deer flies, horse flies and mosquitos happy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Around here that would be water front property for which you would pay huge amounts of money. Ocean front would be even more expensive.

    They just released a new flood plane map which shows which properties are in danger of flooding in storms. Luckily I’m not on it, but there are places far from the ocean on it. Their insurance will be huge when adding flood insurance and some companies won’t insure those houses. I’m thinking if the water gets as far as they have listed, I might end up far closer to the ocean!

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      The same over here and the closer to the lake the houser is placed the more expensive it would be and the more damage it wouöld be when the flooding comes. I do like to see water close but I wouldn’t be prepared to pay that much and I wouldn’t like those damages. I’m always surprised when flooding happens and the habitants are surprised about it, even if it often happens every year!!

      No danger of flooding here though even if I live down a sloap my home still is several yards above the water line and there are several places where the water would go instead. It will most likely only be muddy here and only deer flies, horse flies and mosquitos loves that🙂🙂

      So You might get a water front property too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

