Cows can be scary sometimes :-)

DSC_0002 (800x529)

After seeing that beaver down by the creek yesterday I just had to go there this morning again. This time I was prepared but naturally the beaver sat on the wrong side of the creek this time, on my side hidden by some big ferns🙂  So I only got one photo much like the one I got yesterday. today it swam a bit faster though so perhaps it just wanted us to follow it yesterday because it had its young ones close to where we first met it?

DSC_0001 (800x530)

DSC_0003 (530x800)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

As fun as it was to see the beaver again it wasn’t as fun to pass the two cow pastures. Naturally all cows and two bulls were very interested in us and followed us to the gates. Well it’s wrong to call them gates, it’s four elastic ropes with electricity in them. I leashed Nova with Orvar and Sune with Hector and went to open up so we could pass. Half of the cows then panicked and ran like crazy from one pasture to the other and the other half hesitated some distance away. I waited for a moment but when they didn’t come closer I closed the two pastures so we could pass.

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

Suddenly all cows were interested in us and rushed to the gates🙂 Have You ever tried to lead four leashed panicking dogs between two pastures with curious cows? It’s not easy and not especially fun🙂 When we had passed I then had to go back to open up the passage between the two pastures so the cows could come and go as they pleases. No matter how I did I realised that I had to go back to the other side leaving my dogs where they were because I knew that as soon as they cold pass the cows most likely would run like crazy to the other pasture to their friends.

It was bitterly cold this morning and it was easy to see our breaths in the sunlight.

It was bitterly cold this morning and it was easy to see our breaths in the sunlight.

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

After the forest we had to walk through waist high wet grass.

After the forest we had to walk through waist-high wet grass.

I knew that Orvar and Nova would stay where they were but Sune would most likely try to follow me again. How it would end would be entirely up to Hector, would he be able to stop Sune that long so the cows could pass and I later on would be able to pass on the road to my dogs? yes it turns out that Hector’s fear towards cows is bigger than anything🙂 so Sune could do nothing but to sit down and wait for me to come to them🙂 Besides this the day has been quite uneventful. I watched the last of the Jurassic Park movies and it was actually quite good. Of course they shouted all the time when they shouldn’t, stole eggs from dinosaurs when they shouldn’t and almost everything else wrong too🙂 but still, much better actors this time.

DSC_0025 (800x530)

and then came the cows.

and then came the cows.

It didn't take more than a few seconds until the cows came running and I only could hope Sune and Hector would stop at a safe distance.

It didn’t take more than a few seconds until the cows came running and I only could hope Sune and Hector would stop at a safe distance. Sune would be able to walk underneath the ropes but Hector fears them, he has walked in to them before.

There they were when I finally could go over to them :-)

There they were when I finally could go over to them🙂

My stomach seems to be following its usual pattern so today I managed to eat some rusks without too much trouble. I still have no energy to do anything really but if I can eat something more dinner like tomorrow I’ll be able to work on Tuesday. So now I’ll make a pot of tea and I’ll try a small sandwich I think🙂

Orvar and Nove had sat down at a much safer distance.

Orvar and Nova had sat down at a much safer distance.

DSC_0036 (800x530)

DSC_0035 (800x530)

It's amazing how much noise small mice can make, I would never have found the entrance to their home if they would have been quiet.

It’s amazing how much noise small mice can make, I would never have found the entrance to their home if they would have been quiet.

Have a great day!

Here comes a few garden photos.

Here comes a few garden photos.

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

8 thoughts on “Cows can be scary sometimes :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    Yes, cows can be quite scary sometimes. So can electric fences. I’ve been bitten by electric fences. Not pleasant.
    Nice of Hector to stand his ground and make Sune be reasonable.🙂

    Lovely photos of the creek and it’s critters today.
    Monkshood is really quite alien-looking from that angle. It reminds me of the Tenniel illustrations in the old Alice and Wonderland and Alice Through the Looking Glass books. The Jabberwocky, I think.

    The coyote is back in the neighborhood. I thought he might be around because the woodchuck and the rabbits are gone. A neighbor saw him sitting in front of my house the other night. So, back to no pets or small humans outside unattended by larger humans.

    It’s another dingy day here. Humid. It’s raining a little now and there have been some faint rumbles of thunder. Rocky and I were out walking near the lake when that started. But it didn’t develop into anything after all.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m not sure what’s worse stampeeding cows or electric fences🙂🙂🙂 i too have felt the stung from those fences a couple of times🙂 I guess it was the fear of cows that made Hector stand his ground, he’s terrifed of them🙂

      That monkshood do look strange, sort of plastic but still fleshy🙂 I wouldn’t have been surprised if it had been a flesh eater🙂 I’ve read both books but wasn’t a jabberwocky a kind of dragon or something? Can’t remember and that only shows I need to reread those books again. I love those old classic English books.

      I would love to see a coyote but I wouldn’t like to keep my eyes open all the time so I wouldn’t loose any of my dogs.

      The weather kept on much the same all day but the moment I hang out my laundry to dry the wind stopped to blow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Yes, it’s a dragon, but in one of the Tenniel illustrations it is looking straight at the reader and it has that exact same monkshood expression.

  2. hi christer! i, too, have walked into electric fences a number of times. it felt like someone hit me with a board. we had a heavy short rain here today. teddy is hating the heat and humidity. it is supposed to cool down this week….finally! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      The ones for cattle are the worst🙂 I remember when Nova, Hector and Orvar did it, they sounded as if something tried to eat them alive🙂 They only needed one time to learn the lesson, I had to do it a couple of times🙂🙂🙂

      It is cooler here this week and I can imagine how hard it must be for Teddy in the heat. She’s more built for colder climate, like Orvar and Hector.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m not sure it was so patiently, more slightly panicking because they couldn’t see me🙂

      I think a rusk also can be called a bisquit but it’s like a piece of very dry and stale bread, perfect with cheese and jam🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

