The first night frost.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

I did expect it yesterday evening even if I hoped I was wrong. But it never reached the cottage but I saw my car covered in ice when I went to fetch my morning paper. The car stands a few yards closer to the bog and that was all that was needed. But it was a light frost to be honest so not even the more tender plants got damaged. My guess is that if we’ll get a clear night it will hit harder but the sky shows a few clouds so if it gets cloudy we’ll get a warm night instead.

Frost.

Frost.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

The rest of the day has been the total opposite to the morning, it’s summer warm again🙂 I’ve been sitting on the kitchen stairs with Nova just enjoying the sunshine. The few insects that’s still around seems to feel their time is coming to an end now, they are all very busy flying around doing what’s necessary before it is too late. Many of them will survive these first cold nights but food will be scarce and the few that will hibernate during winter are all busy trying to find the right place to do it. I usually have a few butterflies in my cottage, they tend to wake up as soon as I start the fire in the stove again. It will still be warm enough for them to find a new place if they’re lucky, if they stay indoors with me and my dogs they will starve to death.

DSC_0011 (530x800)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

I thought I saw a deer on the field but it turned out to be a tree stump :-)

I thought I saw a deer on the field but it turned out to be a tree stump🙂

DSC_0018 (800x529)

Nova became four years old yesterday🙂 Time just flies away, she has been living here for two and a half years now. On the sixth both Orvar and Hector will become ten years old, it feels like just yesterday they were crawling around on my kitchen floor🙂  I’ll go back to work tomorrow, the stop pills finally did their job🙂 I still have no energy but I’ll take it easy so I’ll last the day🙂

DSC_0020 (800x530)

DSC_0021 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

Have a great day!

I took this series of photos earlier today. I guess this just will make You love that little monster even more :-)

I took this series of photos earlier today. I guess this just will make You love that little monster even more🙂

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

16 thoughts on “The first night frost.

  1. hard to believe bertil is a little monster because he sure is adorable! i guess fall really is on the way if you have frost already. we did not get as cool as they promised. our leaves are starting to fall. i must get out and look for pumpkins!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ve had to warn my neighbors about him🙂 just because he looks so adorable🙂

      Yes autumn is here now even if it is summer warm during the days. Most leafs are still hanging on the trees but more and more turn yellow now.

      Good luck pumpkin hunting🙂

      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Yes, indeed, we will all love Monster Bertil even more.
    Though I do see a momentary flash of “What do you want, Human?” in one of those photos.😀

    I saw the post about frost on Facebook. I do not want to think about frost. We are in the slow slide to winter now and, for the most part, it will be pleasant. Frost will be much later for us.

    Today I have to bring my computer to the Genius Bar and see if they can figure out why it’s doing the weird thing it’s doing. It’s probably something stupid but I’m not going to mess about with a screen that goes transparent black for no reason and won’t respond to commands. I had to take the battery out of it the other day to break the cycle.
    I hope it’s something stupid, anyway.:/

    It’s warm and sunny here now. The drippy stuff has blown away. If it doesn’t get too hot, it will be perfect.

    Don’t work too hard. Enjoy the day as best you can.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yesd those eyes do say a lot🙂 Sooner or later I’ll pay the price for those photos🙂

      I don’t mind frosty mornings as long as the day get warm. Winter however is a different thing, that I don’t like at all .-)

      My computer behaves very odd too! Sometimes like You describe, transparent black but it’s enough for me to just restart it. But now dyas it can’t stay in rest mood or power saver mood. It no longer remembers what to do🙂 It just shuts down and then I have problems starting it again. I think it might be time to buy a new one and save what I want to save on this one before it is too late. I hope it’s nothing serious with Your computer!

      I’ll take it easy, with a bit of luck I’ll be in the neighbor company tomorrow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • For $280 they will fix whatever they find wrong with it but they might not be able to fix this particular thing because they don’t know what it is. The message I’m seeing when it happens has nothing to do with the thing that is happening and I shouldn’t be seeing that message ever because it’s a background type message. Okay. I’ll just keep doing what I’ve been doing when it happens and save the 280 towards a new laptop.

      • Hi Caryn!

        I would do the same, a bit tricky if they fix ant problem for that sum but perhaps not that one🙂🙂🙂

        I’m thinking about getting a new one too, this one just gets more and more senile🙂

        Christer.

  3. Fabulous photos!
    The one above the horse one, looks absolutely magical
    and the so is the thought of butterflies in your cottage.🙂
    Love the Bertil photos.
    He looks so cuddly and sweet except for the 5th photo down, which makes me laugh!
    Yep, there’s a little monster in there!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I like that one too but perhaps the one above with the web colored in green and red even better🙂

      I always find some butterflies flying around when I start the stove in the autumn. They need a better place to spend winter because here’s just too warm for them. But it does look nice when they fly around here🙂

      Yes that photo says it all🙂 The only time he’s nice is when he wants me to clean up a wound, last time he had a bloody one on his head so he allowed me to clean it up and as soon as I had finished he went back to his old self🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Frost? No, keep it away from me. Ours will come soon enough, but right now it is warm, in the high 70’s. I can’t believe you have had Nova so long. It just seems like yesterday who were going crazy trying to train her. The fog over the fields is one of my favorites of your pictures. I love the ground fog when it appears here over the river and fields. Bertil has the look of an imp. Those eyes gave you a bit of a warning!

    Have a great evening, and I hope all went “well” at work.

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes frost and it’s actually a few days early. Normally it shows up around the sixth or seventh of September. But the day has been summer warm and just lovely.

      I was surprised when I realised how long she’s been here. She’s still just as impossible to train when it comes to hares🙂🙂🙂 otherwise she really good now days.

      I had to look up what an imp is and we call them puke. They seems to be rare in our folklore but it seems many places in poor areas have puke in their names since the soil was devilishly bad🙂 I need to check more about these things! and You’re right abut Bertil and the imp🙂🙂🙂

      I love fog when I don’t have to drive in it🙂 but it seems the best fog mornings are when I need to drive to work🙂

      I’ll take it easy tomorrow, I’ve heard they’ve had awful problems at work today though so I’m glad I missed them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Say it isn’t so, Christer, frost already! But, then I did see the evidence in this post. Quite the opposite here, instead of cooler weather there has been a return to hot and humid. Of course, this is good news for the mosquito population, much to my display. The other day I got bitten more than 6 times just standing near the wildflower meadow taking butterfly photos. Glad to know you are feeling better. I had to read back a few posts to catch up tonight. And, yes Bertil does look very harmless and innocent…little devil.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Sorry but so it is🙂 Quite normal here, perhaps one or two days early but it was this week it should happen. All the other nights have been very warm instead🙂 Normally the days willl go on being rather warm (very warm lately) but nights usually get nasty cold for a while. If we’rte unlucky winter will arrive in early November. Not looking forward to that🙂

      Very few mosquitos though, all their ponds and creeks have dried out and I think it’s too late to get any more this year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq!

      If I had tried to rubb him on the belly I would have to clean up nasty wounds🙂 He really don’t like humans and I’m only accepted because I give him food🙂

      No, I would say that this is quite normal for getting the first frost here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi deanna!

      If You had known him well even You would have seen the devilish the eye he gave me is🙂 But he is cute, I can’t deny that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

