It would be cool but…

DSC_0001 (800x532)

They had predicted this weekend to be the last of summer and that we would get rain almost every day next week.  Like always they now show a completely different weather prediction for this coming week🙂 Rather sunny and rather warm and almost no rain at all🙂 I can’t say I’m disappointed but even I have to admit that we need that rain now. A neighbors well have almost dried out now, he’s happy if he can get a glass of water in the morning now and the water that eventual will come out of the tap is rather muddy.

DSC_0006 (800x532)

DSC_0007 (800x532)

DSC_0009 (800x534)

DSC_0010 (800x532)

The day started with some fog and it was rather chilly too but it didn’t take long until we got another summer day. Besides walking with my dogs I planted som small perennials and trees during the day, just because I knew we would get rain🙂 So now I need to remember where I planted them all so I can water them every day, small plants can’t take a draught especially well.

DSC_0011 (800x532)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

DSC_0016 (800x531)

DSC_0017 (800x532)

I changed the time on my alarm clock already on Friday evening since I’ll start working later tomorrow morning. I will most likely wake up the usual time anyway so if it’s light enough I’ll see if we can walk down to the creek before I start working. If not we’ll take a short walk anyway. These new hours and the soon time change to normal time will mess up my sleeping patterns🙂 I always have problems adapting to the changing of time and this won’t help at all🙂

DSC_0018 (800x532)

Fog over the old tombs.

Fog over the old tombs.

DSC_0021 (800x532)

DSC_0023 (800x532)

I ordered a new laptop yesterday evening, I won’t say what kind yet, I’ll do that when I’ve tried it for the first time🙂 I tried to find out where it’s built and got a bit surprised when I found out it was, no I’ll tell You that later too🙂 I shouldn’t really be surprised after all they too are very familiar with computers🙂

DSC_0024 (800x532)

DSC_0027 (800x534)

A Jackdaw and Crow. Two of my favorite birds.

A Jackdaw and Crow. Two of my favorite birds.

DSC_0037 (800x532)

Did You know there’s a European Bison? They were almost totally extinct in the early 1900’s but some still lived in European zoo’s and slowly, slowly they have now established them in mostly Poland, Belarus and some other eastern European countries. Now they are talking about letting them walk free here in Sweden too. The European Bison, or the Wisent) is slightly smaller than the American with shorter hair and longer tail. A bull can weigh up to 840 kg (1900 lb).

DSC_0038 (800x532)

DSC_0040 (800x532)

DSC_0045 (800x532)

DSC_0046 (800x532)

Yes it would be cool having them walking around in our forests (they prefer forests before open fields) but I think we have enough problems with wild hogs, would it be that good to re-introduce an even bigger animal before we can handle the hogs🙂 Besides our very small herd of Musk ox’s need our help so much more and since the authorities only seems to be able to handle one thing at a time it would be better to help them instead. But sure, it would be cool to have them around🙂

DSC_0051 (800x532)

DSC_0052 (800x532)

DSC_0053 (800x531)

DSC_0020 (800x530)

It’s time to make a pot of tea and a bowl with Vanilla yoghurt, sliced apples and cinnamon.

A self sown Clematis tangutica. They usually start flowering their first year.

A self sown Clematis tangutica. They usually start flowering their first year.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x529)

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “It would be cool but…

  1. hi christer! exceptional photos once again. the spiderwebs are fantastic! we are very very dry here too. it kills me but i must water everything by hand again. we are going to be really hot here this week too. i think this is the hottest and driest i can remember you being? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      We’ve had shorter draughts here almost as bad but not an entire summer! I don’t have any grass at all in some places where my dogs like to run and walk and that has never happened before.

      I do like the spider web photos today and fog always makes everything look so much more interesting and beautiful🙂

      I’ll start watering those plants I want the most, the rest need to survive on their own I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Lovely spider webs with dew.

    I wouldn’t worry about the Wisent. They will probably succumb to high speed lead poisoning, too. After all, they are big and brown. Someone could mistake them for deer or moose.
    I did actually know about the Wisent from a PBS program done many years ago about the wildlife of Eastern Europe.
    My theory is that the more endangered species we can put back into their normal habitat, the healthier they and we will be. It’s all interconnected and we have broken a lot of the connections. Many species have taken it upon themselves to reconnect however they can. So now we have big wild animals in our neighborhoods. They have to live too. We have to let them. Humans can live with these animals. We did it for millions of years.

    It’s partly sunny here today. Breezy and cool. There is a warm front coming through later in the week and maybe some tropical storm type weather.
    I’ll be interested to read what you got for a computer.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      These wisents would be heavily protected until they would be able to manage by their own. But after that🙂
      Yes the more of the animals we get back the healthier nature and we will be. But we’re having problems just handling the hogs🙂🙂🙂 and the musk ox’s barely manage despite the little help they’ve gotten. It took them almost twentyfive years for the authorities to make a simple decision to help them.
      Most of those millions of years we humans didn’t have cars🙂

      No risk of tropical storm, a bit cloudy as worst🙂
      I’ll tell You as soon as I’ve tried it. But I sure got surprised when I found out where they are made🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      I could have taken hundreds of web photos like that, the morning dew and fog made it so easy when the sun reached them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I’m really starting to despise weather people….
    good luck with the laptop! I wonder what you are getting. Hmmm
    we have Bison here. There’s a place about 20 minutes from here that sells the meat.
    (gross)

    • Hi Cindi!

      You’ll know on Saturday🙂

      Well if one wants meat that’s the place to go. I don’t see it the way You do but I do want them to treat the animals in the best possible way before slaughter.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • yeah…I realize that there will always be animals slaughtered. But I only hope that it can always be done humanely.
        I was following a blog about an artist who rescues old and disabled farm animals. I knew that she raised lambs for profit and I naively thought it was for wool. Then she did a post about how she sits and comforts the lamb as they have their throats slit on her farm. I guess that’s humane but I was horrified. I mean, I just couldn’t wrap my brain around how a person could rescue on one hand and take a life with the other. She had a person write an article about her on this topic and she was so angry and wanted to get lawyers to sue this woman but I read the article and I thought she just stated the facts. I think the real problem was this artist knew in her heart that her conscience was having a battle and she just didn’t want it in print. Yeah, it’s a tough one for me. I mean I am a hypocrite too. Buying chicken and turkey and eating it when I would never do the deed myself. I guess my conscience bothers me too.

      • Hi Cindi!

        I agree! Even though they are supposed to check the slaughteries they still get away with cruel handling of the animals now and again.

        It’s forbidden to slit the throat on animals that still is alive here. If she did something like that here she would be prosecuted and wouldn’t be able to keep on going with her business. That is just an awful way to kill an animal!! There’s absolutely no profit in selling wool I’m afraid.

        I’ve always wondered if I would be able to kill an animal for food and I guess I would if I had to. But I prefer someone else to do that part. I think we all are a bit hypocrit to be honest🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

