What deranged mind created Windows 8?

DSC_0002 (800x530)

 

I went to the post office in the grocery store in Gudhem to bring home my new laptop yesterday. It worked as it should when I started it but it did start to ask a lot of annoying questions, like what color do I want as background? What did I want to call my new laptop and what kind ofnetwork did I have for my internet? If I didn’t know that question I could perhaps ask a friend who has the same. Well that’s just stupid, if I don’t know what I have how would I then be able to ask a friend that has the same?? I could also install internet later if I wished.

We had fog here yesterday morning.

We had fog here yesterday morning.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (529x800)

I wished so and continued to answer questions. Finally it opened up and all I could see was icons for lots of apps. It took me five minutes to find the old desk and that was just pure luck. A side bar popps up like an insane rubberball as soon as I move tiowards one direction exept for when I really need it to pop up. I accidently started the app Accuweather eight times and I can’t for my life tell You how I finally got out from it! Windows 8 tries to behgave like a mobile phone but it just doesn’t work if one has a touch screen.

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

I down loaded my photos and then I realise I don’t have the old photo editing program in the new laptop! I only have Paint and even if usually only reduce the size of my photos I sometimes like to make a photo sharper too, can’t do that in paint. So now I need to buy an editing program too! So I tried to get out of that program and it wasn’t easy, I still don’t know how I did that🙂🙂🙂 So far I know of three people that likes Windows 8 and over a hundred that doesn’t🙂🙂🙂 I’ll get used to this crap too eventually but I’m afraid this will take time. So I’ll start saving already now so I can buy a Mac the next time. But I do like the new laptop! There are a few things I wonder about how they were thinking but that’s nothing compared to Windows.

DSC_0020 (800x530)

DSC_0021 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

So today I still use my old one so I could edit my photos like I wanted to. I’ll tell You more about the laptop on Saturday when I have cooled down enough to be a bit more objective🙂 Now it’s time for something to eat and now I can start eating a bit more normal, my stomach is back online today🙂 Tonight I’ll dream of punishing people at Windows and put them in a pillory so all can see what they look like🙂🙂🙂

No fog this morning though.

No fog this morning though.

DSC_0048 (800x530)

DSC_0050 (800x530)

DSC_0040 (800x530)

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “What deranged mind created Windows 8?

  1. oh no…new computers can just be nightmares. hopefully you will get used to it soon. those sky photos are beautiful. we have had storms on and off here today and tomorrow it is supposed to be cooler. i am so excited!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it can be a nightmare but this time I at least like my laptop🙂 I will get used to windows 8 too but I’m afraid I’ll never like it🙂

      I do hope You’ll get cooler weather soon, strange climate this year!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi pattyskypants!

      Nice to see You here again🙂

      Thank You🙂 I really didn’t want Photoshop but I knew of no other than Windows photo editor that didn’t come with the new laptop.

      I’ll go to pixlr.com!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Good lord. Paint? Really?
    It’s too bad about Paint, actually. I used it a lot when I was making training PowerPoints. It could have been a nice program but they stopped developing it for some reason.

    What kind of computer did you get?

    My new mac has the swiping thing, too. Once my brain accepted that idea, it was fine. It’s annoying when I do some random finger movement that opens a useful menu and then I can’t remember what I did to get there. Arrgh!

    Check out Windows 8 The Missing Manual on Amazon. I’ve found that series to be extremely useful when trying to figure out what the heck is happening. I have one for every OS I’ve used so far. It’s a real stress buster.🙂

    Can you move your old photo editing program over to the new computer or does it not work with Win8 at all?

    Iphoto doesn’t have much in the way of editing so I use free online things like Ribbit or whatever it is that Flickr is using now. Ribbit is my main one.

    It’s only 88 today. Partly cloudily, breezy. They’re predicting thunder storms later in the day because a cold front is going to move in. That will be lovely.

    Enjoy messing about with your new toy.

    • Hi Caryn!

      yes Paint and nothing else! I agree, it could have become so much more!

      I’ll tell You all about it on Saturday🙂 I’ll give You this much, this company bought IBM’s pc company🙂

      I’ll avoid my laptop until Saturday when I have all day to go through it. I’m still to angry about yesterday🙂🙂 I’ll check that!I hope I can find it in Swedish. My English is reasonable good but when it comes to technical words it’s quite useless🙂

      I don’t think I can move it or even if it would work on the 8. But Pattyskypants gave me a link for something else!

      88! Still very hot this late in September even for You. I doubt we ever have reached that here this time of year, people would have talked about that for decades🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. PS, I googled the book and Amazon says it’s available in Swedish but I’ve never been able to get to their foreign language books. It’s also an ebook and is cheaper that way. That’s how I get them.

    And I guessed correctly about your laptop.🙂

    • Hey Christer –
      Really lovely sunrise – your photos are sometimes the backdrop for my computer screens ~

      When we bought a laptop the same week that Win 8 debuted, I wanted to stick with 97 and Hubby wanted the latest and greatest. Our 22 year old salesman agreed with me, and I’m so glad we went that way! I don’t know anyone who likes 8, and many are still frustrated with it! Good luck with yours – just keep the beautiful photos coming! Great weekend to you from Texas!

      • Hi Hermit’s Baby Sis!

        Nice to see You here again🙂
        To bad those sunrises last for such a short time but I guess that makes us love them even more, I’m honored that You wantv to have my photos as backdrop🙂

        I know of three people that likes 8?! I guess that says more about them than windows 8🙂🙂🙂

        I’ll take it slow and easy now on Saturday, this is what I have so this is what I’ll have to get used to even if I don’t like it🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

