Like a spit in the ocean really.

DSC_0021 (800x530)

The rain we got yesterday and today was more a mockery than anything else. It sort of teased all the plants that are dying out there, now the sun will come back again but from now on the temperatures will stay on the cool side. But to be honest, new plants can be bought or sown and I love sunshine so I’m not complaining that much🙂 The ones I really want to survive will get tap water instead🙂

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

We walked down to the creek after work today, I heard a shot yesterday but I couldn’t hear from what direction the sound came. I couldn’t see or hear any beaver today but I saw the tiniest surge floating along the creek on an otherwise totally calm water surface, so I’m pretty sure there are beavers still there. It would have been nice to see or hear something more but it is just impossible to walk silent on a forest paths covered with dry leafs and twigs🙂

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (530x800)

Nothing much has happened today otherwise so I have very little to write about. I still haven’t started my new laptop🙂 I just have too many good books to read and the aversion towards Windows 8 is so big that I rather read those than even tries to understand that🙂 But I better check it out soon because the old one is behaving stranger and stranger now🙂

This is a small part of the area that would be filled with water if the beavers are allowed to stay where they are. I wouldn't mind but I think the land owners would :-)

This is a small part of the area that would be filled with water if the beavers are allowed to stay where they are. I wouldn’t mind but I think the land owners would🙂

There isn't even mud in the ditches at the bog any longer. I canm't remember a draught going on for so long here.

There isn’t even mud in the ditches at the bog any longer. I can’t remember a draught going on for so long here.

DSC_0010 (530x800)

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. It’s slowly getting dark outside and last weekend I saw the stars for the first time again since late spring🙂 I’ve missed them a lot.

DSC_0002 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

This auricle is flowering in mmy garden right now.

This auricle is flowering in my garden right now.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Like a spit in the ocean really.

  1. oh wow….your bog is becoming more like a desert! i don’t remember you ever being this dry either. why haven’t you seen stars since spring? i am glued to the television watching the news about the DC shooting. unreal that this has happened again.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have never seen all ditches and creeks this dry before and I’ve lived here for thirteen years now!

      I haven’t been able to see ant stars since it always is light here during summer. The few hours it is dark here during summer is so late during night that I’ve been asleep since long🙂 Now it will be the opposite for all winter long. That’s the only thing I like about winter, finally being able to see the stars🙂

      I haven’t seen the news yet, I sat down by the computer as soon as we got in from our walk. Another shooting!! I better check the news!

      Stay safe!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You🙂

      No rain in sight here the coming days. The little we got has already dried away. Well, I’ve always wanted a dry summer and autumn so I realy can’t complain🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Some of those trees by the creek look as though they are now in the creek.
    I’m sure the landowner would not be pleased if his field became a lake. If he’s haying for sale, that would be lost income for sure. Never mind lost property value.

    It was cold this morning. Rocky found a praying mantis on the walkway this morning. She was too cold to move very fast but she tried to threaten Rocky anyway. He’s easily spooked so all she had to do was move her front leg a tiny bit and he was gone. I scooped her up and put her on the mums by the door. She was very big. Maybe 3 inches long. Lovely colors, too. I got some photos. She stayed on the mums until almost noon. By then the sun had come out and it was warm enough for her to fly off.

    We got a little bit of rain this morning. More than your spit in the ocean but not enough to make up for the shortfall of the summer. No rain in the forecast for the next week.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Some trees are🙂
      I’m surprised they have let the beavers go this far. Could they perhaps been offered some kind of generous compensation to let the animals stay? They are still there, we have just come home from our walk and we went down to the creek. I heard a big splash when we passed the creek before the forest🙂

      Cool mornings here and sunny and warm days, or should I say warmish. Still not sweater weather yet. We don’t have praying mantises here but they live in Germany.I wish my dogs were as easily spooked, both Nova and Sune were too interested in a toad. I really don’t want to go to the vet with two droling dogs🙂 Have You poated them on FB? I’ll check later.

      No more rin here and the little we got has already dried up.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Yes, I posted them on FB the other day. You’ll probably have to scroll waaaaay back to find them. Stuff happens fast on FB.🙂

        My Jack Russell Terrier chomped on a toad once. I dragged her off. She was foaming at the mouth and spitting stuff out. Did she learn? Nope. She was looking for that toad the whole time.

        It’s my turn to have new computer issues. I let the Apple folks migrate my files over. All my document files are now in the trash. If I try to move the Documents folder, the message says I can’t because it’s a trash file and I must move it out of Trash first. But I can’t move it because it’s a Trash file and I can’t do anything to it until I move it.
        Closed loop.
        My photos came over but only up through Sept 4th. Everything I loaded after that didn’t show up.
        I’m not even going to check music files. If I don’t remember that I had it, I won’t miss it, if it isn’t there. At least until I remember and go looking for it. I’ll fix it then.:)

      • Hector did eat an entire toad once, a small one and he started to drool so badly that we had to go to the vet🙂 He threw it up before we left and ate it again when we came home again🙂🙂🙂

        How annoying! I reeally hope You can solve this, I mean You can’t have all the important files in the trash🙂 Does this has to do with the old computer more or less had given up?

        Christer.

  3. Didn’t I see on FB that it was your birthday this last week?
    All the comments were in Swedish but it looked as though you were being wished Happy Birthday
    so I sent you birthday wishes…but maybe it wasn’t.
    IF not, then consider it just Happy Random Day!

Leave a Reply

