Frost tonight?

The photos comes from several days today.

The photos come from several days today.

Sorry about Tuesday, the time just ran away so It got a bit too late for me to write anything. I really don’t have much to write about today either to be honest. The days have passed quickly and I haven’t even anything to complain about either🙂

We have actually gotten a couple of heavy showers now, can't notice much on and in the ground though.

We have actually gotten a couple of heavy showers now, can’t notice much on and in the ground though.

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

But the beavers are still hanging around by the creek. We went there yesterday again and the first thing I heard was a big splash when we passed an opening by the creek out on the fields. There grows lots of bushes along the creek but I think the beavers might have used some of them as food, it’s mostly willows and there’s nothing beavers like more than willows.

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

I’ve connected the engine heater in the car now, they have warned for strong night frost this week, especially in the region I live and since I live in a cold spot we’ll most certainly get it and it will probably be colder here than just a hundred yards away. There is however a place I pass on my way to work that is even colder than here, I always smile when I pass that house🙂

DSC_0025 (530x800)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

I picked some of the berries on my Aronia tree the other day. To be honest, they taste like crap before frost gets a chance to freeze them a little but since the frost didn’t show up more than that one time I thought it best to help nature on its way so to speak. They become a bit sweeter after a frost night or two but then the birds love them a lot too🙂 Lots of berries had dried up so I only got a couple of kilos (around four pound). I’ll make some jam of them later this autumn. That jam is rather nice when having pancakes. The berries are full of vitamines and anti oxidants they say and they were very popular in the old eastern Europe back in the days. I’ve always wondered why since they aren’t that tasty before they are made in to anything else. But I guess times always were tough for them back then and they used anything they could really.

DSC_0044 (800x530)

DSC_0046 (800x530)

DSC_0048 (800x530)

It’s time for some food and a pot of tea of course. The sky seems to be clear so perhaps I’ll go outside to watch the stars for a while🙂

DSC_0037 (800x530)

DSC_0035 (800x530)

DSC_0032 (800x530)

Have a great day!

DSC_0050 (800x530)

12 thoughts on “Frost tonight?

  1. Hi Christer,
    Spider in amber?🙂

    I’m glad to read that the beavers are still around. Willow is a favorite food of theirs. How convenient for them that willow likes to grow near water.

    My computer is okay now. I spent and hour and a half at the Genius Bar last night. Some of that was because there was only one genius on duty and the couple ahead of me had a mystery problem. It was still a mystery when they left. Mine was simple for the genius to fix. He knew another way to get things out of the trash and combine them. The part that took longest was combining the iPhoto libraries because somehow there were two.

    It got very cold here a couple of nights ago but we didn’t get a frost. My tomatoes are still alive and have produced more flowers. Those will be going nowhere. There are still 5 green tomatoes on the plants. There may be enough good weather for them to ripen. We’ll see.

    The weather is back up in the sweet spot of temperatures now. Sunny, not too warm, cool at night. Perfect. But when I put the dog out at 5AM I saw Orion high in the sky. The sight used to make me a little sad because it meant winter was coming and I was going to have to drive to work in the snowy crap. Now I just wave at Orion and smile knowing I won’t have to drive in winter filth unless I want to.🙂

    Enjoy the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I wish🙂 Only the lamp outside my entrance🙂

      It would have been problematic for them if willows only grew high up in the mountains🙂

      I’m glad the computer problem is fixed! It’s great when one of those geniuses are available, they rarely are🙂 Two libraries? I would have said odd but since it is a Mac🙂🙂🙂

      I have lots of ripe tomatoes out there and I hope that they will make it through the night since they stand just beside the cottage wall.

      I saw Orion yesterday but I think it can be seen all summer if one is up long enough. But I see him in early night here. Unfortunately I still have to drive to work🙂 I’m just waiting for the lottery winning🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! that spider pic if wonderful. frost tonight? that is early but maybe not so much for you. we are warm here for a couple days and rain is on the way for tomorrow. this week sure flew by! we are weeks away from a frost i think. my garden is still producing and we are still eating from it so that is good! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like that photo too but I have to admit that I didn’t see that upper spider at all when I took the photo🙂

      Yes we got frost last night and this is quite normal here, this year is not normal otherwise since we’ve only gotten two nights with frost so far, normally it’s several by now.

      The days are still rather nice and warm, especially since the sun shows itself so much. I brought in the last of my ripe tomatoes and I’m thinking of making tomato sauce of them. It just takes too long to make ketchup.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad You like them🙂
      Even when I was afraid of spiders I still loved their webs🙂 How can a small animal like that know from birth how to make a web as fantastic as they are.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    The sky is just so lovely in all your pictures. That yellow tree is the best sign of autumn. None of the trees have yet to change here as it hasn’t been cold enough. I don’t envy you such an early frost. Our nights have been in the 50’s except for one which got to eh 40’s. That was a blanket on the bed night with two animals snuggled beside me.

    My autumn clematis is beautiful and has taken over one section of the front fence. My landscaper has two more plants for the other side of the fence. My friend, who is a gardener whose house is usually on the garden tour, said she read that a new color of the clematis will be out in the spring so I’ll put it beside the white on the remaining fence pieces.

    I still need to get some mums!

    Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Almost all trees have at least a few yellow or red leafs here now and some have dropped almos all leafs too. This was only the second night with frost this far and we’ve usually had several by now a normal year. But I don’t mind the frost, I like the cold crisp air.

      I have one clematis still flowering here and that one starts in early spring, Even its seedlings flower the first year and it self sows that well that I almost can call it a vweed🙂 It’s Clematis tangutica with yellow flowers.

      I bought two rusty brownish/red mums tioday🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

