The first real autumn day.

DSC_0006 (800x531)

Yes today was the day when autumn arrived for real and I don’t mind it at all. Yes I love summer but we need more rain and less heat so that all the plants, trees and bushes included, survives the winter if it gets bad. First day of autumn also means first day with a fire in the kitchen stove and that I like a lot.

El Magnifico, as I call him is very good friend with...

El Magnifico, as I call him is very good friend with…

El Diabolo as I call this one. They tend to be together all the time when they are in the same pasture. But this time they were separated by the road so they stood just beside the fence as close to each other as they could.

El Diabolo as I call this one. They tend to be together all the time when they are in the same pasture. But this time they were separated by the road so they stood just beside the fence as close to each other as they could.

DSC_0019 (800x530)

For once there was no back draft from the chimney, as my friend said it’s been so dry and warm this summer that the chimney most likely is completely dry and no cold humidity is there to stop the smoke from floating upwards. So I had the fire burning for three hours, always take it easy the first times because the chimney needs to get used to become really hot again. Too much in the beginning and the chimney might crack here and there. Tiny cracks that perhaps won’t do any harm now but most likely later on.

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

It isn’t much rain that falls to be honest, it mostly drizzles lightly and every now and again it gets more intense. Still not more than drizzle though. I had rather much sunflower seeds left from last winter so I started to feed the birds again, very early to be honest. We have no tradition of feeding birds during summer since there’s no need for it really, especially here where we have so much insects that they can eat. Not this summer though, I can’t remember that we’ve had that few flies here since I moved here thirteen years ago.

Very autumny at the bog now. Not a single moose fly landed on me today.

Very autumnal at the bog now. Not a single moose fly landed on me today.

DSC_0010 (800x530)

I watched Ironman 3 yesterday. It’s good but if You want a movie with lots of action, this is not the one You’re looking for. It’s actually quite slow most of the time. It does heat up at the end though and even Gwyneth Paltrow shows some action there🙂 Now I need to but Ironman two too🙂 The latest Star Treck that I watched on Saturday had almost only action all the time and I really liked that film.

DSC_0011 (800x530)

A Raven flew by.

A Raven flew by.

DSC_0005 (530x800)

It’s time to make a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat. Or I might wait till after my dogs and cats have had their food, because then I’ll get some peace while eating mine🙂

Ferns by what used to be my pond, damned voles :-)

Ferns by what used to be my pond, damned voles🙂

DSC_0018 (800x530)

Some kind of Euonymus growing in my garden.

Some kind of Euonymus growing in my garden.

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “The first real autumn day.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love when leaves turn in fancy patterns.

    The raven shot is kind of cool. And I love the bully friends and shaggy ponies. Always the shaggy ponies.🙂

    Actually, I think your former pond looks rather attractive at the moment. At least it’s not a weedy depression in the lawn. Have you decided how you’re going to winter over the fish and plants?

    That’s a lovely euonymous. Mine has boring white flowers and is inconveniently growing inside the old quince bush. Most of the weedy ailanthus were removed from that bush but the euonymous escaped. I’ll have to address it next spring after I see how the quince makes it through the winter.

    My new computer has auto-correct which I haven’t figured out how to turn off yet. I hate having to pay attention spell check squiggles because the computer has decided I meant eponymous instead of euonymous and helpfully changed it for me. Grrr.

    It wouldn’t matter if my dog had been fed. He would still be sitting nearby watching me eat and expecting a handout.

    It’s cloudy here and it did rain a bit. It needs to rain some more but I think it isn’t going to.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It does look cool in the beginning when just parts of the leafs turn color🙂

      I keep all weeds away as good as possible, it helps that I have the ground carpet and a thick layer with wood chips. But I have at least six selfsown clematis growing there now🙂 Still not sure how I’ll do with those fish. I could have them in my aquarium all winte or get a tank of some kind and keep them in the cool cellar instead. As soon as I’ve fixed the pond that will be their permanent home, but I then need to make the pond deeper and bigger and I’m a slow worker🙂

      The flowers on my euonymous start out white but rather quickly turns pink. I don’t know what kind it is but I know that it isn’t what the name tag said🙂

      Auto correct, so fun or soo annoying :-)I have it on my computer too but it doesn’t change anything until I click on the word that is marked red. I’m so glad it works that way🙂

      They tend not to beg if they eat before me, but Nova can make her eyes so wide🙂 Sune is more direct and stands on his hind legs staring in to my eyes🙂🙂 The old ones know it’s useless so they have given up🙂

      The drizzle continued most of the day and it was rather much rain after all, both my water barrels are filled now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. so, is your pond kaput? i thought you were going to replace the liner? we are having a cool fall day today too and i am loving every second of it. and there are all sorts of games on today which is very fall-like too. i wonder why the bulls were separated? our leaves are just starting to change color here.

    • Hi Joyce!

      yes it is kaput! I will make it wider and deeper and I’ll place a layer of concrete beneath the new carpet when I finally strt doing something🙂 Hopefully I’ll start next spring but it all depends on what other things I might want to do. I usually say that if I do anything within five years I’m fast🙂

      El Magnifico was placed amongst lots of cows while El Diablo still was in the bull pasture. Neither the cows or El Magnifico seemed to be interested in each other🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. A picture of my favorite cat, Bertil, always makes my day! It’s Autumn here…today..and is Winter approaching where you are, Christer? Do you celebrate Halloween in Sweden? I should know all of this after following you for such a long time..but I am old, and forget easily! :):)
    Take care..
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Not winter yet and I hope it comes late this year. Normally it comes sometime around late October/early November but a few years ago it started already at early October and lasted until early May. I hope that never happens again🙂

      No historically we don’t celebrate Halloween but it is becoming more normal here now. Especially in the big cities but not so much in the country side. We need something during the dark cold season soI think it would be a good thing if it became popular.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • It’s really a lot of fun. Letting the children go door to door alone in the neighborhood, has become a thing of the past. LONG past. Too many bad things can happen. It’s sad. The parents usually take them out..and the toddlers are here by five and six in the evening.
        People seem to love to be scared…NOT I! NOT I!🙂

      • We have much the same tradition over here but at easter when kids dress up ass witches, wizards and warloks. Back in the days all kids dressed up like witches, even boys since Harry Potter hadn’t appeared yet🙂

        Most kids walk by bthem selves still, only the smallest have parents or older siblings following them. But I guess it’s just a matter of time until they can’t walk around by themselves any longer.

        Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      No, geldings both of them🙂 They are only well fed🙂 I haven’t seen any of them pull a carriage for a long time now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. It will be interesting to see if we have some fall colors when we return home after being away for 2 weeks on our Niagara Falls-Toronto road trip. When we left VA the weather was still rather warm during the day and we did not have any colorful leaves in the yard.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I don’t think that autumn has started in southern Europe yet and that’s even further north than You live in VA.

      Lower than 27F here this morning🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

