Even colder last night.

DSC_0001 (800x530)

Once again I woke up to a really cold morning, -5C (23F) and my radiators worked really hard and successfully to keep the cold outside. Well I only had two of them working at the moment so they did have to work really hard. But the sun was on its way up and as soon as it showed itself it got much warmer quickly. At least for a while and after that it didn’t get much warmer.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

The Forbidden Forest.

The Forbidden Forest.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

I had to go to the vet to get a new prescription for Orvar and Hector today. Normally I drive to the big super market and buy everything I need there but the vets office is in the other direction. So instead of buying everything in one place I had to go to several instead and that takes so much more time. I don’t have any lunch break on Fridays since I stop working at that time, so I stopped at a restaurant on my way home and bought a hamburger and fries to go. Just when I came out from there a bunch of funny dressed teenagers came and they had some kind of kick off at school and they needed a photo of a hamburger and most of them should be included in the photo. Of course they could take a photo of my newly bought one🙂

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (530x800)

An awful smell hit me in the face when I came home and opened the door. Bertil had peed somewhere in the cottage and it smelled disgusting. To his defence I have to tell You that I had accidentally closed the door to the bathroom so he really had no chance of getting in there. Instead he had chosen Orvar favorite blanket just by the door to pee on. Orvar doesn’t mind, that’s for sure🙂 But I do so the blanket is now outside until I’ll wash it. I’ve tried to get rid of the smell but it has sort of stuck to the walls, it’s better now but I can still smell it.

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x534)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

We went down to the creek again and still no signs of any beavers but then suddenly one of them dove not far from us and the sound showed they still are there🙂 They have been driving tractors close to the creek and lots of people have been walking around there lately so I guess they have become a bit more shy now. I still haven’t found where they live though, perhaps they still use their old home further down the creek? I know too little about beavers.

DSC_0015 (800x525)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0020 (800x530)

It’s time to make a pot of tea and perhaps a bowl with vanilla yoghurt, apple slices, ginger and cinnamon. After that I think I’ll read a good book.

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Even colder last night.

  1. ja du, kattpiss luktar inget vidare!😦 Jag gillar inte ens svarta vinbär!!😦😦 När jag hade en katt, Murre, som barn så hade han en viss förmåga att pissa på samma fläck jämt. Till slut var korkmattan där alldeles uppluckrad och det luktade avskyvärt! Som tur var så var det i farstun, så ytterdörren fick stå öppen för jämnan undan den varmare årstiden.
    TREVLIG HELG med lite varmare väder
    önskar
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nä, någon parfym är det inte🙂 Men doften av svarta vinbär älskar jag, så fort de nya löven slår ut på våren är jag där och drar i dem🙂

      Varken Bertil eller Teodor skulle pinka inne om de bara kommit in i badrummet, men jag hade en katt en gång som i protest brukade pinka i mina skor🙂🙂🙂 Tyckte nog att det luktade bra mycket värre än fotsvett🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! that is good news about the beavers. you sure are cold already. we still go up to the mid 70’s each day and just down to 50 at night. the stink bugs are back. i killed almost a dozen of them yesterday. it’s the time of year when they try to get inside. i have my solution all mixed up and i am suffocating as many as i can! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I’m so glad that they still are there but as soon as the rain start falling and the area gets flooded I’m pretty sure their time is over.

      We reach around 50’s during the day and I’m hoping for clouds tonight otherwise we’ll get it at least that cold tonight again. At least I have fire logs at home now🙂

      I’m so happy we don’t have those stink bugs! I hope You’ll get them all!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Whoa! That’s cold!
    I can beat your “pee” story.
    Yesterday as I was just about to leave for work, i smelled something very bad.
    One of the little dogs had eaten poop and then vomited it up all over the house!
    It was a disgusting mixture of poop and vomit and I was gagging. I thought I had cleaned it all up but I could smell it still. So I looked around and suddenly realized that whoever was vomiting had jumped up on top of the big armchair and vomited.
    but not on the chair itself but ALL OVER Blues back!
    so, I text work and let them know I’m be a few minutes late.😦
    poor Blue. what a mess.
    Yeah. great way to start the day!
    :p

    • Hi Cindi!

      It will be at least that cold tonight again unless clouds comes in from north, they say they will.

      I’m so sorry but I laughed out loud reading Your story🙂 How awful!! Poor Blue!! I can honestly say I’ve never been through anything like that and feel so thankful about that🙂
      I’m not sure I would have gone to work at all after that🙂🙂 Cat pee is nothing especially since I found the spot directly!

      Have a great day anyway!
      Christer.

  4. Cat pee can definitely linger, ugh!! We have not gotten that cold yet at night, mostly upper 40s. Today is absolutely gorgeous with sunny skies and about 68 degrees. Love it!
    Have a great weekend, and make Joyce’s zucchini cake!~

    • Hi Robin!

      I can’t feel it any longer this morning but I haven’t been outside yet so I might just have gotten used to it. I know better in a couple og hours🙂

      Much warmer tonight, those clouds from north came so nor frost this morning🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I’m glad to know the beavers are still around. Perhaps they will construct things so that the creek won’t overflow any one’s land too much when the rains come. Perhaps.🙂

    Cat pee. Eww. If it has sunk into the wall or floor, you might have a problem. You could try spraying the area with vinegar and water and letting it sit for a while.
    I used to use a product that smelled like mint taken to critical mass. It wasn’t nasty but it was very strong and it did work. Then there is the stuff that smells like a million squeezed orange rinds in a closed room. That worked too. I can’t remember the names of any of them. Nilodor was one, I think.

    It’s sunny with big puffy clouds again. It’s only 65ºF but that’s fine. The sun is warm. It will get a bit colder tonight but not so cold as you are, thankfully. I’m not ready.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It would actually be rather easy to construct embankments on each side of the creek if they wanted to, they already have that in the forest after digging the creek deeper long ago. But it’s all about money and who’s going to pay for it and so on. They should however have started to do that weeks ago if they had that idea.

      No smell this morning but I haven’t been outside and back yet so I might just have gotten used to it🙂 I’ll know better afdter our morning walk.

      Cloudy night here so no frost and perhaps no need for the winter jacket on our walk either🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I would find that forbidden forest very tempting to visit! Poor Bertril, accidents happen, but cat pee is one hard odour to be rid of, especially if they are not neutered, thats really smelly! Enjoy your book!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Not I, I’ve been there once and that’s enough for me. Doesb’t look much different than the rest of the forest but I can feel I’m not welcome at all.

      Yes he had no choice poor Bertil, at least he did it close to the entrance door, too bad he did it on Orvars favorite blanket🙂 Can’t feel any smell this morning though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I know after reading your post that Bertil had no choice, but it does make me glad that at least for now we are petless after having had cats and dogs previously. Psta are a definite responsibility and so we would not be able to travel easily or for long periods.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      The smell is gone now but I wonder if I’ll ever get it out of Orvars favorite blanket🙂

      No chance on travelling especially much when having pets unless they can come along. I don’t travel much these days🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. You are right. It sounds like the beaver are beginning to keep a low profile due to all the foot traffic and equipment. Men are not usually great friends to animals and see the harm they think they do rather than the good. Oh well.
    I have always had cats in years past. Always sometimes two and at one time three. I don’t recall them ever doing anything in the house..but I have smelled it in other peoples homes and it is terrible. I had a friend who’s home reeked of cat urine! It just seems to permeate every in of a home and is so hard to get rid of. I’ve suggested we get a cat but patient husband glares at me when I mention it..and he is right. One dog is enough at our ages.🙂
    Gorgeous photo’s as always!

    • Hi Mona!

      It seems most men, especially those with any kind of weapon, want to kill anything that moves around🙂

      Bertil and Teodor never do anything indoors either but Bertil couldn’t get in to the bathroom all day and I was at work so I couldn’t help him in any way. He really had no choise. But the smell is gone today thankfully🙂 I once had a cat that peed in my shoes every time she was upset about something🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

