We had a visitor here this morning.

I could see something walking around behind the apple tree this morning.

I could see something walking around behind the apple tree this morning.

The clouds blew in from north last night and saved us from yet another night with frost. Well it had looked better if everything had been covered by frost to be honest but one can’t get it all as they say. But just because we didn’t have frost it didn’t mean it was especially warm, there’s a weak but cold wind blowing so the fire has been burning all day in the stove.

It's way too early to start feeding them but I think it was apples she really wanted.

It’s way too early to start feeding them but I think it was apples she really wanted.

Something kept annoying her at her back, a moose fly perhaps.

Something kept annoying her at her back, a moose fly perhaps.

I think it might be Tiny, still small and a bit too thin.

I think it might be Tiny, still small and a bit too thin.

I thought I should bake a rosemary rye bread since I had the fire on but it turned out that I don’t have enough flour, I don’t even have enough for an apple pie but it might just be enough for a few pancakes🙂 I made some gooseberry jam a few weeks ago and it would be nice to have that to the pancakes.

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

We walked down to the creek again this morning, no sign of any beavers but I think I found one of the entrances to their home! It’s actually easier to see it in the photo than in real life but I wonder how they’ll disguise it when all the leafs fall of the trees. I’ve read that they usually disguise the entrances rather well.

I had to hold a tree trunk hard and lean out over the creek to take this and next photo, without any autofocus :-)

I had to hold a tree trunk hard and lean out over the creek to take this and next photo, without any autofocus🙂

DSC_0019 (800x530)

I had to walk out on this rotten bridge (not the right word but I really can't find the right name for it so bridge will have to do :-) ) to be able to take the next photo. I thought it would break in the middle while I was out on it :-)

I had to walk out on this rotten bridge (not the right word but I really can’t find the right name for it so bridge will have to do🙂 ) to be able to take the next photo. I thought it would break in the middle while I was out on it🙂

We went to the bog this afternoon instead and I could see a man dressed in a reflective vest down the road towards the creek, he usually wears that when they hunt so I guess they are looking for deers now. Kind of stupid really tp start shooting so close to the moose hunting season since I haven’t heard a shot in the closest hunting areas. My guess is that the moose will move to areas where they can’t hear a lot of shooting going on. But so far I’ve heard nothing.

DSC_0021 (800x530)

This is a place where the beavers walk up on land a lot, the grass always looks as someone has walked on it all night.

This is a place where the beavers walk up on land a lot, the grass always looks as someone has walked on it all night.

So I started to watch the other side thuroly and there it was, an entrance or escape hole :-) It's almost impossible to see it but it shows much better in this photo.

So I started to watch the other side thoroughly and there it was, an entrance or escape hole🙂 It’s almost impossible to see it but it shows much better in this photo.

I had a visitor here this morning, a doe🙂 I couldn’t see who it was but I could see that it wasn’t Doris the Doe. She has a long rip in her left ear and this one didn’t. I thought she looked a bit thin though, not a good sign this early in autumn.

Still lots of moose flies out by the bog, signs showed the moose had been there a lot so I guess that's the reason. But I had hoped they all had frozen to death by now.

Still lots of moose flies out by the bog, signs showed the moose had been there a lot so I guess that’s the reason. But I had hoped they all had frozen to death by now.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

It’s time to make a pot of tea, give the dogs their food and after that watch Grimm at channel six.

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (530x800)

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “We had a visitor here this morning.

  1. Great photos! That poor deer sounds like she has had a rough summer. I love the mushroom photos, as well as the creek ones. That was good luck that you found the beaver hole. They are such clever creatures! Maybe you and the dogs should all wear reflective vests for a while!! Those durn hunters are annoying.

    • Hi Robin!

      I think she should look a bit fatter by now so I’m hoping she’s just fit🙂

      Yes it was pure luck I found that hole🙂 Normally I think they have them beneath the water level but I think I’ve read that they have several ways in to the nest.

      Thankfully these hunters usually have someone walking arpound looking for people like me that walks around on these old roads. I also know the safe ways which they never shoot towards so I think I’m pretty safe but one never knows🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. your trees grow so tall and straight, do you think the doe was thin from all the moose flies, they are so hard on the animals aren’t they, thats a great shot of the beaver entrance (exit) my Dad would love to see that, lol!

    • Hi Laurie!

      It can be the moose flies but to be honest, they have been rather calm this autumn. But if they get to bitten by them they can start to loose their fur.

      I bet he would have liked to see that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Good job finding the entrance hole. Usually those are under water but I think they can probably have an escape hole here and there. I would think that they should have a more secure place all ready since winter is coming pretty soon.

    That doe looks a bit ragged but I’ve found that a lot of wild animals look more ragged in summer than they do in winter. All that winter fur fluffed up makes them look sleek. They look pretty ratty by comparison in summer.

    I found some seeds on our walk this morning. I don’t know what they are but they belong to a smallish tree, like a dogwood. The flowers are white and bloom in spring. I don’t know what shape they are because I’ve never seen them. I’m going by my brother’s description. The fruits look like cherries with spikes on them. They are medium red color and about the size of eating cherries. The flesh is bright orange and squishy. The seeds are relatively small and pale yellow. I don’t know if they are drupes or some other kind of things. Here’s a link to pictures. http://www.flickr.com/photos/meotzi/sets/72157635989712684/
    Can you tell what they are? I’d like to try to grow them. .

    Sunny and warm here today. Nothing much else is happening.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      That’s the fruit from the Kousa Dogwood, Cornus kousa. Pick out the seeds, wash them so no fruit flest remains and plant them right now outside. They need a winter to germinate and usually germinates best when sown early. I’ve planted that tree here several times but they usually dies during their second winter here. The fruits are said to be edible but I’ve never gotten the chance to try them myself.

      I did think those entrances should be under water but perhaps they are planning on that since there’s still plenty of hight for the water to rise🙂

      I still think she looks a bit thin though, they usually look best just before they shed their winter fur🙂

      The night started out really cold but once again clouds came and saved us🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. The pancakes and jam sound wonderful with a hot cup of tea. Hope the deer gets a bit fatter soon, but then with winter coing it might not be likely.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I never came around to make any pancakes, I went to bed early and read a book instead🙂

      Well at least she knows where to come for some extra food during winter🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I KNOW beaver can build dam’s and cause some flooding I suppose..but I wish they would just trap them and move them…if babies are in the nest..take them too. Just seems so cruel..you know? I would stay hidden too if such danger existed. 🙂 The way things go here with all the shootings..makes one wonder just how safe we really, even in our own homes..
    I read in the news on AOL tonight that a minister was shot and killed while giving a sermon in his church. Some man walked right up to the pulpit and show him twice. He died on the spot. A dangerous world we live in. I hope it’s nicer in Sweden. Do they have gun laws there? Do they have to have permits and are folks checked out before being sold one?
    Did Joyce make some delicious looking meatloaves or what??? :):)

    • Hi Mona!

      That would be great if they just trapped and moved them but I doubt property owners would like to pay for that. The problem is that they most likely would give someone else problems instead🙂

      Most shootings here are between gangs thankfully but lately I’ve read more and more reports about people in families killing each other too.

      Our gun laws are very stricht but that doesn’t help much since the borders within the European Union is wide open. Guns and weapons of all kinds are flowing in to the country I’m afraid. One can’t buy any kind of weapon here before getting a license and You must take a really advanced class to be able to get that license.

      Those meatloves looks just delicious🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    We had an unwanted visitor on our street Saturday morning around 9. It was a fox with a cat in its mouth. That was the last thing I wanted to see, but that fox has been around the area a lot s that is the second sighting for me. I haven’t seen the coyote for a while so it is the fox that is responsible for the rabbits disappearing. I hope he moves on!

    • Hi Kat!

      It’s rare that our foxes takes cats here even if we have plenty of cats around. I’ve seen it once in thirteen years here. It looks as if our foxes done a good job reducing the hare population though. We had lots this summer and spring but I haven’t seen a single one in weeks now. It’s either the fox or hare plaugue. I’m hoping it’s the fox because people have died in hare plague over here, it’s spread by mosquitos but then again we haven’t had many of those this summer either to be honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I’m at work and I think this monitor isn’t showing me the beavers entrance! Dang it!
    I will look again when i get home.
    Poor skinny deer.
    I haven’t seen “my” deer for a long time although one very early morning i saw a deer way down the avenue walking with a baby one. I wonder if it was her?

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes it is one of the entrances or escape routes, I’m not sure which🙂

      Yes she’s a bit too skinny this time of year so I hope she’ll come early when I start feeding them this winter.

      I wouldn’t be surprised if it was Your deer🙂 I guess few predators comes too close to homes with lots of dogs so I guyess she feels rather safe in that area🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

