I have obviously been effective.

My Brasilopuntia brasiliensis flowers now. The flower is a bit flat since it has leaned towards the window.

My Brasilopuntia brasiliensis flowers now. The flower is a bit flat since it has leaned towards the window.

Some days time just stand still and not because it’s boring. I guess I must have been effective or something🙂 We got up rather late for being me, 7 am, I’ve taken a long nap and I’ve done my laundry, been to the super market because I must have left my brain at home last Friday and still there’s lots of time left of the day. Normally it would be over by now and Monday would be on its way🙂

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

But I didn’t get everything I wanted at the super market anyway. I was going to buy flour but didn’t know where they had placed it and then something caught my eye while I was looking for the flour and then it sort of disappeared from my line of thought. 

Free from the leash for the first time this autumn.

Free from the leash for the first time this autumn.

DSC_0015 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

He looks a bit guilty, what kind of poop is he eating :-)

He looks a bit guilty, what kind of poop is he eating🙂

I’ve also started to bring down those plants I want to spend winter in my cold cellar. I decided much of what I have in pots will stay outside since the frost has damaged them quite bad. But all trees, well going to be trees is a better choice of words I think, and bushes to be is placed down there now. I still have the two apricot trees to take down but they still have all their leafs on so it’s better they lose them outside. I still don’t know what to do with my water-lily, I think I’ll place it in a plastic bag down in the cellar too since there’s very little water in what bused to be my pond.

Some flowers survived the frost.

Some flowers survived the frost. I decided to use my Nikon D70 this afternoon.

Oak leafs usually turn colors quickly, from green to yellow to brown.

Oak leafs usually turn colors quickly, from green to yellow to brown.

Maples however are a totally different thing :-)

Maples however are a totally different thing🙂

DSC_0007 (800x531)

It’s time to feed all the animals and I think I’ll make myself a pot of green passionfruit tea and perhaps a bowl with sliced apples and vanilla yoghurt. I’ll of course have both cinnamon and ginger in it as well.

It seems beavers never concentrate on one tree. Lots of trees have chewing marks now, a few days ago only a few had that.

It seems beavers never concentrate on one tree. Lots of trees have chewing marks now, a few days ago only a few had that.

DSC_0011 (800x532)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

Bertil is not fond of beavers. They like water and splash hard with their tails and therefore a bit suspicious :-)

Bertil is not fond of beavers. They like water and splash hard with their tails and therefore a bit suspicious🙂

Have a great day!

DSC_0017 (800x531)

18 thoughts on “I have obviously been effective.

  1. wow…the beavers sure are eating the trees! the leaves are beautiful colors. we are just beginning to see some red. why don’t you write down a shopping list so you don’t forget what you need to buy?

    • Hi Joyce!

      yes they are but it seems they have problems just chopping down one at a time🙂 It looks like one soon will fall so I’ll have to go there again a couple of times this week🙂

      I wasn’t supposed to buy that much, some dog food and flour so I didn’t feel like I needed a list🙂 Well I’ll pass the grocery store in Kvänum on my way home tomorrow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Dianna!

      They don’t happen that often here so I was mostly surprised🙂🙂 But it was rather nice to have the rest of the day to do nothing important at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I know what you mean by getting all the things done so fast it seems like the day should be over and yet it is still early. Usually I can find a number of ways to waste my time before I get around to the unpleasant chores that always have to be done. In my defense, I’m retired so every day is a weekend and I can goof off.🙂

    Maybe the beavers are tasting the trees to see which ones will be good for different things. Mmm, this one tastes like wallboard and this other one tastes like a bit like dam but it has to age a little first.🙂

    Your maples are almost as red and garish as ours. The difference with maples and oaks is that maples turn lovely colors very slowly and then they all fall off at the same time and have to be raked up. Oaks turn reddish brown and hang around all winter. By spring they’ve mostly weathered away so there’s not much left to rake up.
    Now black walnuts don’t really turn at all. They just drop their compound leaflets which rot away quickly leaving just sticks. And tons of walnuts. Not this year, though. Hardly any walnuts at all.

    Thanks for identifying the strange fruit. I suspected some kind of dogwood but I’ve never seen a kousa so I wouldn’t know. They are edible. Kind of squishy, though. They look as though they’ve already been chewed.🙂

    Rocky and I are going on an ice cream run and maybe visit the beaver pond. I’ll post some picture, if we do.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I have no problems wasting the rest of the day🙂 I just got so surprised when I realised I had done everything I was supposed to🙂

      Godd idea but it looks like almost all of them are birches around the same age🙂

      Maples are almost the only trees that get that fantastic color here, most others just become yellow or stay green to the bitter end. The leaves on my walnut just froze so they didn’t even get a chance to decide if they wanted to change color🙂

      I’ve seen those fruits in photographs so many times but never in real life. Even the big trees I’ve bought dies here during winter, I put my hopes to the greenhouse effect🙂 If I can’t have a mango tree growing in my garden before I die I sure hope I can have a kousa🙂🙂🙂

      I’ll pop in to FB in a while🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      It’s so fun to see how she can run around too, usually chasing Sune🙂 But I can only let her do this by this field because I can see everywhere so no hare can just pop up and destroy everything.

      It has been a nice day after all has been done🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes thet will🙂 That’s why I am surprised they still live🙂 But it must be that authoroites already know they are there and has informed the land owners to, so to speak, tie their hands🙂 Or they will vanish from the earth when the moose hunt starts in two weeks.

      My stomach never feel good I’m afraid and yoghurt is a favorite food of mine so I eat it all the time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, you were quite effective with your camera as well in capturing some wonderful fall colors. I am seeing so many reds and yellows onboard the train as we head home from our Niagara Falls-Toronto travels. Apples are always more enjoyable with some cinnamon and ginger.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Most trees here only become yellow but cherries and maples can become both orange and fiery red🙂 I think You have more colorful trees on Your side of the ocean than we do.

      It’s so true! Ginger and cinnamon makes anything taste better🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    I have a wonderful beaver story. Along the Potomac River in Washington, D.C. are the cherry blossom trees donated years and years ago to the US by Japan. One year a few of them had been taken down then a few more. People were horrified that someone would destroy those beautiful trees. The rangers kept an open eye and did some surveillance. Come to find out it was 2 beavers who had migrated to the river. They were trapped and re-located and the cherry trees are saved from any more destruction.

    We are still a long way from our first frost. I just saw my first two trees with changed leaves this morning. They were oaks with red leaves. Noe in my yard have yet to change, but it is definitely fall.

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    • Hi Kat!
      🙂🙂🙂 It would have looked bad if those beavers had taken them all down🙂

      Way below 32 here last night but once again we were saved by clouds🙂 I so hope winter will be late this year, late and short🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. The leaves here are starting to change but the weather has been rather weird. tomorrow it’s supposed to be 84! On the 1st of October! I start my vacation next week and I hope it cools down some. They say the temps are going to fall on the weekend. We shall see.
    Sorry your tummy still hurts.

    • Hi Cindi!

      It’s actually a bit colder tha jormal here now but they say it will be a bit warmer later on. As long as winter doesn’t start early I’m happy🙂 I don’t think we ever have had 84 in October here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

