I need to go down there myself.

This is a really bad photo of a Robin, but I rarely see them here so I had to show You.

This is a really bad photo of a Robin, but I rarely see them here so I had to show You. My camera decided the dead Thuja was more interesting🙂

The fire is burning in the stove but the heat hasn’t started to spread yet, so it feels a bit chilly at the other end of the kitchen where I sit with my laptop. Soon it most probably will feel too hot but that is better🙂 But until that happens I’ll try to feel warm with the help of a cup of tea.

DSC_0005 (800x532)

Clouds covered the sky so it was rather dark when we were out walking. So I used a high iso on my old Nikon and that makes the photos look a bit gravelly.

Clouds covered the sky so it was rather dark when we were out walking. So I used a high iso on my old Nikon and that makes the photos look a bit gravelly.

DSC_0010 (800x532)

We walked down to the creek again after work, I wanted to see if the beavers had chopped down any of those trees yet, I’ve given up hope of seeing any beaver as long as my dogs are with me🙂 It’s just impossible to walk quietly with four dogs🙂 The trees were still standing though. We had passed the entrance/ escape hole from their nest when I suddenly looked straight in to the eyes of a beaver :-) 

DSC_0013 (800x532)

DSC_0014 (800x532)

DSC_0015 (800x532)

It refused to  be still while I tried to get my camera and take a photo though🙂 My only thought was that they are really big rats🙂 I need to go down there by myself so I can sit down and just wait for them to swim by me but it just doesn’t feel right to walk away by myself while my dogs would have to stay at home.

DSC_0022 (800x532)

DSC_0023 (800x531)

DSC_0024 (800x533)

It’s time to get something to eat and another cup of tea. My dogs are sleeping all over the cottage and my cats are out hunting I guess. The night will be cloudy so we won’t get any frost (I hope). 

DSC_0025 (800x532)

DSC_0027 (800x532)

DSC_0030 (800x531)

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “I need to go down there myself.

  1. I saw enough beavers to last a life time, , dead mostly laying in my Dads trapping shack sadly, ;( . I had to smile when you said you feel guilty walking without the dogs, I truly can relate to this, lol, beautiful robin shot!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Well, it’s very different to see them swimming around in a river or creek and dead in a trapping shack🙂 But that was his life and times were different back then.

      Yes I would feel guilty leaving them at home🙂 But I think that’s the only way that I’ll be able to see any beaver for a longer period of time, my dogs just gets so happy seing them and really can’t be still🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Om man inte har nån hund så skulle man förmodligen knappt komma ut i naturen!😦
    När vi i 2 månader efter Penny var utan hund så sa min gubbe “att visst kan vi ut och promenera ändå” så det gjorde vi förstås. På urtråkiga ställen, vid stränder eller på gångstigar där alla andra gick eller där vi varit tidigare.😦😦
    “Med hund” så är man tvungen att hitta betydligt roligare, mer spännande och annorlunda ställen!🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag var ofta ute och vandrade även innan jag hade hund, fast å andra sidan sprang jag sex mil i veckan och cyklade 45 mil ungefär också🙂

      Har man hyund har man alla ursäkter i världen att vandra på de mest udda platser dock🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I know how you feel about not taking the dog. There’s a lovely wildlife sanctuary along a 7 mile stretch of beach and marsh on a barrier island that I used to hike every weekend. Fabulous bird watching. Great spots for photography. I saw my first ever mink and weasels there. Then I got a dog and dogs aren’t allowed. I felt guilty walking through a place that my dog would have been ecstatic to be in so I stopped going.

    My camera sometimes insists on focusing on a bit of skinny twig instead of the big thing behind it that I want. To be even more contrary, sometimes it insists on focusing on the thing behind the twig when I want the twig.

    Your robin looks so tiny and warbler-like. I’ve heard they can be quite aggressive sometimes. Ours are a kind of thrush. They don’t really look like the old world robin except they have a red breast. I guess the Pilgrims were really homesick when they gave it the name.🙂

    The day here started out very foggy but it burned off after noon. It’s warm and sunny out now.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Exactly! But as long as our dogs are leashed we are allowed to bring them everywhere here, well not grocerystores and thing like that of course🙂🙂 The first ever mink I saw was one that attacked us while walking beside a ditch leading to the creek🙂🙂🙂 I think we must have come close to its pupps and even if it was small it was horrifying🙂🙂🙂

      Yes why do they behave like that! I can aim towards an elephant and still my camera focus on a tissue on the ground beside the animal🙂🙂🙂

      Our robins are slightly bigger than house sparrows but I’ve never heard that they are agressive. They are well known for sit on our hands if they get a treat and seems to be fearless of humans. But I’ve never come that close to them so I can’t say it’s true ;:-)

      Cold start of the day here and it has continued much the same, it’s almost down to 32 already and the clock has just passed 7 pm.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. So, when the dogs are napping, take a quick walk down to the beaver pond; Maybe they will think you have gone to work.
    Love that robin, though very different from ours.
    I don’t think you should call beavers “big rats”. they are much more fascinating! Could a rat build a lodge and a dam? I think not!

    • Hi Robin!
      Ha, as if I could move without them knowing it🙂🙂🙂 It’s enough that I think of a walk and within seconds they are all around me🙂

      You shouldn’t underestimate rats, they are truly wonderful as pets and very intelligent too. I’ve had a pet rat named Hamlet🙂 I never had to close his cage because he knew where he was allowed to be and he could do the most amazing things, for being a rat🙂 Rats are the only small animal I would suggest to families with smaller children, they never bite the hands that feed them and are especially calm when children are around. I do miss that fat big lump of a rat🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

