This has not been the best of days.

DSC_0004 (800x531)

I woke up at the right time but felt and was slow all morning. It was cold outside, just below  0C (32F) and I knew I had to scrape the car windows since we also had fog during the night. Just as I was going out the zipper in my work trousers broke so I had to sit down and fix it before I could drive to work and I’m not good with a needle and thread🙂 The car was a bit grumpy too, it always is when there’s little petrol in the tank so it really didn’t want to start in the cold even though the engine heater had been on for hours.

DSC_0003 (800x532)

DSC_0002 (800x532)

DSC_0005 (800x532)

I forgot my dinner at home but we can order food from a restaurant nearby and then they drive it to us. Since I was rather late I thought it best to punch in so to speak (well I start a computer, write my employment number and press enter) before I would order the food. I was on my way back to the list to order when something caught my attention. They had already driven from the restaurant when I remembered I had no food so all I had today was to slices of hard bread🙂

I'¨m so glad I brought the old camera so I had autofocus with my tele-photo lens :-)

I’¨m so glad I brought the old camera so I had autofocus with my tele-photo lens🙂

DSC_0007 (800x532)

DSC_0010 (800x533)

We have one petrol station in the village I work and it’s a container with one diesel tank and one petrol tank and they have to refill them every week, on Tuesdays. The problem is that the petrol tank was empty already yesterday morning but I thought it would be filled this afternoon, how wrong I was. So I had ton decide whether I should drive to the closest petrol station but drive mostly on the highway and perhaps be out of petrol on the way or drive to the closest town but in the wrong direction. I chose the latter.

I'm not sure if this is Rune, I think it might be Longhorn and Lotta.

I’m not sure if this is Rune, I think it might be Longhorn and Lotta.

DSC_0014 (800x532)

DSC_0015 (800x532)

Turns out I could have driven home and back to work again without filling up the car🙂 My little Mazda doesn’t drink that much unless I drive very fast, but then again I’m not sure if they had filled up the tank at the petrol station tomorrow either. So I came home over thirty minutes later than usual just when the sun was going down behind the trees. But We saw the moose cow and her two calves and that sort of balanced the bad day I’ve had🙂

DSC_0020 (800x531)

DSC_0022 (532x800)

DSC_0023 (800x532)

It’s time for some food, finally, and a pot of tea. I’m not sure I’ll be writing anything on Thursday, it depends on how late I’ll come home.

My Lime tree has one flower now, the only one all summer :-)

My Lime tree has one flower now, the only one all summer🙂

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “This has not been the best of days.

  1. Beautiful light in your photos today. I love the one of the all the leaves backlit by the sun.
    How wonderful to see the Moose Family. I would so love to see a moose in real life!
    You definitely had an unpleasant day with broken zipper, frosty car, gas tank worries, and on top of that no food! Hope you were able to relax after all that, with help from the Moose sighting. Hello little lime flower!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I do like that photo too!

      It is nice to see a moose or three as long as they keep a good distance🙂 People have been killed by moose and a cow with calves are really dangerous. I think this one thought she was outnumbered even if we are so much smaller than she and her calves🙂

      Not a good day at all but that must mean that it only can be better🙂

      I never have any problems relaxing, thankfully🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Sounds like one of those days where it starts out wrong and goes down hill from there. At least you got to photograph the moose and her calves and the beautiful sunlit leaves. The day may be on the upswing.🙂

    Today was wait for the oil burner repair man to come and tune up the system before the heating season starts. He came more or less on time and spent a couple of hours doing something down there in the cellar. I heard a lot of banging and some words. It’s possible he was talking on his cell phone, though. He left without telling me anything so I assume all is well.

    It’s summer warm today and sunny as well. It’s supposed to be like that all week. I’ll take it but it would be nice if it would rain some at night. It’s very dry.

    Enjoy your food and the rest of the evening.

    • Hi caryn!

      Yes, it was one of those days today but it ended well with those three moose’s.

      So the oil burner repair man came on time and did his job fast too?! Buy a lottrey ticket, I think You might have a big chance this time🙂🙂

      We sure need rain now but personally I can wait a week or two more without complaining🙂 But I really need to bring in those fish I have in my rain water barrels now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. beautiful moose photos!!! I never tire of moose photos, we have moose on our land and I like t think the hunters don’t come over the fences that surround it! Of course thats wishful thinking on my part, my husband said he knows that people trespass there all the time and we have it posted.If anyone shoots a moose we would like it to be our son, but we prefer if no one does, we aren’t starving, we should let them live! I hope you have a better day tomorrow, don’t forget your lunch!

    • Hi Laurie!

      In one way I was glad I had the camera where I have auto focus with that lens but in another it’s too bad I didn’t have the better camera because them the photos would have had better quality. They are magnificent animals and I like them a lot from a distance🙂

      I have to say that the hunting groups or teams follow the laws very strictly here, if they shoot a moose on another ones property they always call that person and tell them that and usually politely ask if they still can have it. It’s just too difficult to get a hunting license here to loose it if someone would see them break the law. I think our lwas a different from the ones on the other side of the ocean. I’ll try to explain it tomorrow if I remember it.

      The days have been much better🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. i hate days like that! but the moose would make it better. how soon until you get snow? it is hot here and the stink bugs are awful. much worse than they were last year. i hate them. hope your day is better tomorrow!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I hate those days🙂 but as You say those moose made my day much better🙂

      Usually we get some snow in late October and usually it melts away fast. But some years we’ve gotten snow in early October and then it has stayed until spring. I sure hope this isn’t one of those years🙂 One good thing with our winters starting thgis early is that most nasty insects are gone by now, except for the moose fly which seems to survive any cold night.

      The days after were much better🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    It was great to see the moose. I loved the picture of them running as you could see their long, lanky legs.

    A day which starts out badly is the worst of all days. The only consolation is it has to get better as it can barely get worse!

    Wishing you better days!!

    • Hi Kat!
      They are magnificent animals and I’m always happy to see them as long as they are on a safe distance🙂

      That day was downhill from the moment I woke up🙂 But the rest of the week has been very good🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Men herregud, så mycket trassel på en dag – man kunde tro att det var en fredag den 13:e!😦 Jag hade istället tur igår – fast jag skyller på “skicklighet” – att jag fick in det jag skulle av växterna, att jag planterade det sista trädet för säsongen och att gubben min fick in det sista av trädgårdsmöblerna och “dekorationerna”.🙂 I morse var det nämligen minus en halv grad när jag gick ut med Santos. Usch, så kallt det var!😦
    Annars ser vädret ut att bli riktigt hyfsat med strålande sol, vilket är toppen eftersom jag ska in till Hemse på Torgdagen. Hela Gotland kommer dit och jag brukar hålla mig därifrån, men jag ska ta hand om min väninnas mamma som har lite knepigt att gå. Alltså blir det förmodligen till att köra rullstol i trängseln, men det går säkert bra – jag är ju van. Hade en bror som satt i rullstol dom sista åren av sitt liv.
    Dessutom ska jag köpa en extra-TV (om det finns några billiga) samt två dunkar med olja = alltså 2 x 4 l – så det blir mycket att kånka på!😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det blev ju bara värre ju längre dagen gick🙂 Men resten av veckan har varit riktigt bra🙂

      När ni hade minus en halv grad hade vi minus 6,5🙂🙂🙂 Soligt och hyfsat varmt på dagarna men kallt och frost på mornarna.

      Hoppas allt gick bra idag och att du hittade en bra tv. Olja tror jag nog du fick tag i utan problem dock🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. I worry about gas like that too. I don’t like stopping when I have my dogs in the van because Nora just goes CRAZY towards anyone outside the van. And I always seem to have them with me when I’m in Iowa where I work and the gas is much cheaper than in Illinois where I live. Finally one day last week I didn’t have them and gas was down to $3.18! I filled the tank up! usually I just put $20 in but that is super low!
    Boy, your day did suck! I would have been tempted to stay home! LOL!
    Seriously though, the no food thing would drive me over the edge. I have a box of crackers and a can a soup stashed away at work…just in case.
    I’m so happy that you at least ended the day with the Moose!😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      None of my dogs care about people outside the car, thankfully🙂 We pay 2,5 times more for our petrol so I would think it was cheap no matter where I was in the US🙂🙂🙂

      Yes it was a really bad day but it got better during the week🙂 I would only forget if I had any food at work🙂 But I could have driven to the grocery store in the village but I just hadn’t enough energy that day🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

