Much warmer but sort of colder.

It was rather dark when we went out for our walk this morning even though it already was 7:30 am.

It was rather dark when we went out for our walk this morning even though it already was 7:30 am.

Even though it’s 10,5C (50,9F) outside this morning it still feels colder than it did when it was -6,5C (20,3F) the other day and it is the strong wind fault. It doesn’t help taking winter clothes when the wind reach me everywhere anyway. I feel it’s way too early to bring out the warm scarves and I would probably start to boil inside if I did wear them🙂 We did get some rain during the night but it wasn’t even damp on the ground when we went out for our morning walk.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

Not a single animal could be seen.

Not a single animal could be seen.

Thankfully most of our walk took place where the winds couldn’t reach us, like in the forest but then the moose flies came instead. I have to say I prefer the winds🙂 At first I learned that moose flies didn’t drink human blood but they still could bite. Then I learned that they do drink human blood but they didn’t spread any vicious diseases. Yesterday I learned that they do spread vicious diseases too. Those flies are just nasty critters to be honest. They live like ticks by biting their victim and then drop their wings, they even sit harder than ticks and can be difficult to remove, how nice🙂

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (530x800)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

I decided it was time to bring in the fish I have in the rain water barrels when we came home from our walk. It isn’t easy to even see three small fish in barrels that contains 200 liters (53 gallon US) of water, so I walked around with a 10 liter (2,6 gallon) water pitcher and watered the dryest plants in the garden. I have to barrels so I did a lot of watering this morning🙂 The koi carp has grown rather much this summer but not the goldfish. I was thinking of having them in my cold cellar during winter but placed them in the aquarium instead since it’s already up and running.

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

The day will stay gray, gloomy and possibly rainy so I’ll take a nap after this and then I think I’ll watch a dvd and read a book until they show Grimm on channel six later today, naturally the first thing I’ll do though is to make a pot of tea. I’ll just put the kettle on the hot stove since there’s already a fire burning in it.

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

DSC_0033 (800x525)

DSC_0035 (800x530)

Have a great day!

There are a few animals that decided to spend the day on my entrance windows.

There are a few animals that decided to spend the day on my entrance windows.

DSC_0039 (800x530)

DSC_0040 (800x528)

DSC_0044 (800x532)

DSC_0043 (528x800)

16 thoughts on “Much warmer but sort of colder.

  1. i would just die if i had those flies here. the stink bugs are bad enough. i think i am really bug phobic! we are still so hot and humid here that i could scream. when i walk outside it feels like i am walking into a hot shower. not my idea of fall weather!

    • Hi Joyce!

      They are truly nasty but haven’t been around that long actually. They weren’t here when I grew up but have migrated here from the continent. Anyone should be phobic about these nasty things, normally one gets big boils after they have been biting!!!

      We have an intense drizzle here now and it’s still the same temperature, nice and warm for us🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I’m always wondering if our Horse fly is the same as your moose fly, here in Canada ( well Northern Canada) we have Deer flies which bite and live on blood , they are the size of a house fly.Then we have Horse flies and they are big, they look like a deer fly are twice the size, they take a chunk out when they bite and make the moose and deer, cows and horses life a misery, oh and humans as well, very painful bite, I really feel a bit sad to see winter come this year, they are having snow just a bit from us and I am not ready, beautiful insect photos today , all the photos are.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I donä’t think it’s the same kind of fly. These dig in like ticks and drop their wings when doing that. Its legs are like hooks so they are very difficult to brush away and they can take really hard hits as well. I just killed one that was walking on my t-shirt, god knows how many I brought with me fromm the forest! Here’s a link to Google that shows photos of it: http://se.images.search.yahoo.com/search/images;_ylt=A0geu8EBH1BSo3YAPQkTOAx.?p=%C3%84lgfluga&fr=chrc-comodo&fr2=piv-web

      Too many bites from them and animals loose their fur and that’s not a good thing before winter to happen.

      It has snowed further north, far away from here but I think that snow melted within a day or so. But it can turn so fast and snow might fall within a week or so if we are unlucky. At löeast that would kill those moose flies🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Vi har haft en gråmulen dag med regn mitt på dagen. Typiskt – precis innan Leo (Santos strävhårige Podengo-kompis) kom hit med sin matte.😦 Så efter att dom busat runt på tomten en timme, gick vi in för att värma oss och äta lite snacks. Anna är vegetarian så det är inte så lätt att bjuda på nått, men min chilisås och min chutney gick ner galant med tacoschips och morotsstavar. Däremot kunde hon inte äta yoghurtdipsås och oststavar. Knepigt när man inte känner varann närmare, men jag lyckades lite i alla fall.😦😦
    Hundarna däremot, dom fick ingenting utan istället busade dom runt inne – så nu ligger Santos och sover helt uttröttad under skrivbordet!🙂🙂🙂
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Intensivt duggande kan man nog kalla det vi har nu, men till och med solen tittade fram i några minuter idag.

      Jo, det finns ju dessutom så måmga olikas varianter av vegetarianer så¨det är inte lätt att hålla reda på vad som kan vara ok eller inte

      Skönt att de fick rusa av sig i alla fall, de sover aldrig så gott som när de fått göra det🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes they do so I always check if I can see any flies walking around on them when we come home.

      The fish seems to like it rather well in the aquarium, I guess they too like a bit warmer around them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I am rather “alright” with all of your buggies except the spider! For some reason spiders just do me in, and yours appears to be rather large! Of course with your lens and ability to do close ups, it could be just a tiny little thing, but STILL! It’s SO windy here…I know there is damage being done. We had winds up to 60 miles an hour. We have them every Fall…and they begin in October. We call them the Santa Ana winds..and they are vicious. Knock down trees and power lines..and generally make a mess. The palm tree’s can become really dangerous because of their flying fronds. One could get seriously injured or could go through windows. We all have our weather challenges.

    Christer..thank you so much for your information. I knew nothing about Picasa ..nothing. I had no idea that if I deleted a picture that it also went off my blog! OH NO! Will there be one of those little x’s in place of the picture? I’ve seen that on some blogs.
    I really appreciated your input. I learned something today!! 🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      If You take a look at the link I posted when answering to Laurie I think You might have something against moose flies too🙂 That spider however is big and still not fully grown🙂 I used to have spider phobia before I moved to the country side but now days I like them, except for the black, big, hairy one that I sometimes see in my bathroom🙂

      We rarely get that strong winds here, our storms rarely reach number one of Your danger scale, still they create chaos when they pass us.

      It took me some time until I understood that we also got an album at Picasa🙂 I once removed some photos to get more space in my blog and then those photos vanished from my blog too🙂 Yes, I got those x’s.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Nice bug shots.🙂 Even the spider.

    I guess moose flies have to be tough. Moose fur is tough to get through. So is moose hide. Moose are usually in water or heavy underbrush so anything that feeds off them would have to have grappling hooks just to stay on long enough to get a good bite.

    It started out foggy here but the sun came out for a bit. Now it’s clouding up again and starting to get a little windy. Maybe we’ll have some more rain which would be fine. The rain yesterday was good but not enough.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess You’re right but no matter how I look at it they are truly nasty and disgusting🙂🙂

      It has cleared up during the night so the sky is clear now but we’re having a ground fog instead and I hope I can get out in time to get some photos. But we must all eat before we take our walk🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Flies themselves are bad enough, but to read about these variations is even worse. It would make me want to avoid forest walks altogether, Christer.
    Just read your comment on Mona’s blog about how blog photos also appear in Picasa albums, which I didn’t realize either, until like you, I deleted a couple and then they were gone from my blog posts. Then I made the connection. So far, I have not been notified of any space issues and hope it continues.
    A pot of tea, DVD, reading all sound like good things on a rainy day. It’s still unseasonably warm here and not fall-like just as some others have said in their areas. And, like Jaz, I want fall weather.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It looks like there are places that are truly nasty because of these flies so people do avoid walking in the forest this year, here it’s a normal year so even if I always have a couple on me I still gop out there🙂

      It’s when people don’t reduce the size on the photos that the space limit is reached. It’s actually the picasa album that decides when one has to buy for more space in ones blog. I’ve reached that a couple of times and KI’m half way there now even in I reduce my photos to a tenth of their real size.

      We have a couple of free channels this weekend so I ended up watching a Sandra Bullock film in one of those instead🙂

      I wish I could send over our weather but I’m not sure I would like Yours instead🙂’

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Both yesterday morning and this morning I had to kill that kind of fly since it was walking up my t.shirt while I was eating breakfast🙂 They are truly nasty!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

