So colorful now.

My photos are all about autumn colors today.

My photos are all about autumn colors today.

There’s no fire burning in the stove today, it’s been above  60 today so it would be awfully warm here if I heated up that stove of mine. I know because I did that yesterday (I needed to get my work pants dry and didn’t want to start any radiator🙂  ) and it was so warm when I was going to sleep that it was impossible. I read for a long while but still just couldn’t fall asleep. I don’t know when I finally did but I doubt I slept many hours🙂

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

Now it’s getting dark in the mornings too so I had to use the high beam to be able to see if there were any animals beside or on the road to work. I hate to be surprised by a moose or deer standing just in front of me even if we so far always have managed to avoid each other. On October 14th the moose hunt starts and now I drive that late to work that I most likely will meet lots of animals panicking when the shooting starts.

DSC_0023 (530x800)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

I can’t remember when we had such a colorful autumn before, You should see the road to my job now because the trees have all varieties of yellow, orange and red. It looks amazing but this will only last for a few days because the leafs are falling of rapidly now, especially since we’re having a strong and steady wind blowing all day. The photos I show today is nothing compared how it looks on the way to work.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

Well, I had to have one less colorful :-)

Well, I had to have one less colorful🙂

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. Both my dogs and cats have gotten their food and now they all sleep here on the bottom floor, except for Hector because he sleeps in my bed🙂

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (530x800)

DSC_0016 (530x800)

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “So colorful now.

  1. such beautiful color! The moose will even have less of a chance to escape death when the leaves all drop, I know some people must hunt to eat but rarely is that the case, I don’t even know how murder can be called sport, so sad.Small game is open season now, moose season is open up North, my son will shoot a moose, he rarely buys meat, he eats wild duck, partridge, moose and deer, he even feeds his dogs the same meat he eats.He fishes as well, he raises chickens now as well, he lives 9 hours North of us, at the tip of James Bay, there are no maples that far north, only yellow leaves.

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is beautiful now but I really wish You could see the road to my job, it’s spectacular!

      I’m not sure if the moose will have less of a chance since it is brown and so are all branches and twigs too🙂 It might even be harder to see them.

      I have always wondered why they are so proud after shooting an animal on a long distance, It would have been another thing if they had run up to the moose, wrestled it down and then managed to kill it or if the moose to coulod use a gun🙂

      I think Your son seems to have a fantastic life. He doesn’t hunt for fun but to survive. He doesn’t waste what he has killed and I think that’s ok. Your sin actually lives south of me if Sweden had been placed on the American continent🙂🙂 But we have the Gulf stream to thank for a milder climate than what he lives in.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      You should see the road to my job! This is nothing compared to that.

      Yes it would have been nice if we had had those colors for a longer period of time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    The fourth picture is my favorite. The house looks so comfy snuggled in among the trees. The trees are beautiful colors, too. Antique gold and russet with a pop of orangey red. Perfect.
    There’s not a lot of color yet around here. Some things are turning. Usually the low-growing stuff in the swamp turns first and then the trees.

    It’s 76ºF right now. The sun shines brightly for a bit and then big grey clouds cover it over for a while.The wind is blowing rather strongly. The walnuts are falling off the trees. I can hear them hitting the lawn and sometimes the roof. There aren’t many this year so the squirrels will be unhappy but I’m won’t be. Less for me to rake up.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      That’s actually my little cottage🙂
      I think it’s the long, dry and hot summer that is the reason for all these colrs and I like it🙂

      Steady grey and dreary here but unusually warm, it will turn towards colder very sioon unfortunately. I hope that I too one day can hear how the walnuts fallto the ground🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer….i think this is the first time i have really seen how your cottage is situated on the road. it is wonderful. who could not love fall with the wonderful colors. we are finally having a nice cool cloudy day and the wind is blowing and i have a fire burning and it is a little piece of heaven! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I love these colors and I do like autumn too, despite moose flies and short days. The smells and sounds in the forest an early autumn morning is hard to beat.

      Cloudy here today and 63,3F! That isn’t common here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. We live in such a beautiful world. I am so grateful that I live where there is an element of peace in spite of some of the tragic things reported in the news. All those beautiful woods.
    We have 62 acres in Maine..right on the northern coast and my husband is bent on selling it because we are too far away to take care of the house and land. It makes me sick. I wish I could talk him out of it..but since it belongs to him and not to me really, I try and stay out of it. The area is wooded and wonderful and you can walk across the road right to the ocean. I wish we could live there at least part of the year..but he won’t. He will be 80 the 22 of this month so I cannot blame him for giving up at least the home and an acre of ground. 😦 I do hate getting old..it’s not something I thought would happen. :):)
    Look at all that lovely area you have to take walks through..just gorgeous. And your dogs don’t need to be leashed all the time. It’s wonderful.
    Lots of wind here too. We still have heat. Joyce is nearly 3000 miles away from on the other side of our country..in a beautiful state too. Lots of color there..not so much here.
    You are both so fortunate to have all that color in the Fall.

    • Hi Mona!

      You have peace but then again You have earth quakes🙂🙂🙂

      Too bad I don’t live in the USA, I could have bought that place🙂 Main looks very much like it does here so I would have loved it🙂 and closeness to the ocean is something I really would love! That’s the only thing I miss from living in the big city, I could see the ocean from my balcony.

      I do love living here despite nasty insects🙂 and I hope I’ll be able to live here until it’s my turn to rest for good.

      63,3F here today, I’m not sure we’ve had it that warm in October before.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    You have far more color than we do. I am surprised by how late the leaves are changing colors and more are falling than turning color.

    We had 70’s all last week, and this week will be all 60’s, but I still think that is nice fall weather. We finally had a little rain the last few days.

    I have the window ope in my bedroom as it has been too hot for sleeping, especially with a dog and a cat huddled beside me.

    Enjoy the evening and the warm weather!

    • Hi Kat!

      We haven’t had this much color in years and I love it🙂

      But I do have my bedroom window closed now, it can turn so quickly here and when it does I doubt it would be enough with all my cats and dogs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! I just have to say, what a beautiful country you live in! Isn’t autumn the best season with all its beauty?

    • Hi Dianna!

      iusually the forst comes so early and is so strong that many trees don’t get any color here by the bog. I prefer spring but years like this nothing beats autumn!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Beautiful! kinda looks like Vermont, although I haven’t been there in 17? years.
    I wish I had a lot of money so that I could buy Mona’s husbands land.
    Maybe I should start playing the lottery!
    If I win BIG I could buy it and build a cool house with a place for horses.
    I’d even give you a couple of acres!😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I too would like to win that lottery and buy that piece of land🙂 I could go there during late summer and autumn so I missed those nasty moose flies🙂

      That does sound nice🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

