A sweater day.

DSC_0002 (800x529)

We’re having a fantastic autumn day here, sunny and sweater warm but it started nasty cold and foggy. Just as we went out on our walk however a strong wind started to blow and most of the fog blew away but I managed to get a few foggy photographs anyway. 

Can't say what a single star is called because I couldn't recognise a single star sign when I took this.

Can’t say what a single star is called because I couldn’t recognise a single star sign when I took this.

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

It wasn’t inviting to go outside again after our walk so I filled the bird feeders, brought in those last trees to my cold cellar, did the laundry and took a long nap. It wasn’t supposed to be a long nap at all but every time I tried to open up my eyes the eyelids were so heavy that they fell down and it didn’t matter how hard I tried, my eyes kept on being closed🙂

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

DSC_0020 (800x499)

DSC_0021 (800x530)

We went down to the creek on our next walk and to my surprise a big dragon fly flew around us for several minutes. It never rested so I could take a photo though. I hope it manages to eat loads of moose flies before it dies because there were lots of them by the creek now. No beaver was to be seen but I didn’t expect that either. I’ll save the photographs I took there for a rainy (or perhaps snowy day later on).

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

Everyone but me is sleeping now, Nova up in my bed, Orvar and Sune beside me in the kitchen, Hector and Bertil in the living room and Teodor upstairs I think. Bertil sleeps in the big flower pot by the window so he can take a look atb the bird feeders just outside. Lots of birds there now, mostly Blue tits and Big tits but also a few House sparrows and Tree sparrows. It’s time to make another poit of tea and after that I think I’ll go outside in to the garden for a while.

DSC_0033 (800x530)

DSC_0035 (800x530)

DSC_0037 (800x530)

DSC_0039 (800x530)

Have a great day!

DSC_0041 (800x530)

DSC_0049 (800x530)

DSC_0050 (800x530)

DSC_0051 (800x530)

8 thoughts on “A sweater day.

  1. hi christer! i guess the sow is not too far off for you now. we are still warm during the day and mild at night but that is about to change soon and i can’t wait. teddy spends as much time as she can outside now. as she has gotten older, she has turned into a spring and fall pup. she doesn’t like it too hot or too cold. i love your star photos. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Guess if I’m glad You asked that question, because I hadn’t changed to winter tires yet and thought that I would wait until next weekend. They predicy snow this coming Friday! It will be cold as well during the week so I guess the roads might be slippery. So as soon as I saw that I went out and changed to winter tires🙂 Thanks for the reminder🙂

      I soo understand Teddy🙂 But I refused to complain thi summer when iy got too hot since we rarely get really warm summers.

      I wonder how big tele-photo lens I would need to see which ones of those stars really are galaxies. Must check that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    You would probably need a very big telephoto to see which of those stars are galaxies. You would probably need a big telescope like the Hooker 100 inch at Mt Wilson Observatory. I think that’s the one that was used when Hubble proved in the 1920’s that most of those fuzzy dots of light weren’t nebulae but entire galaxies.

    It’s a sweater day here as well. It’s hanging around 59ºF right now and it’s murky. I made soup for breakfast because it’s that kind of day.
    Rocky and I are slacking off on the couch. He’s asleep. I’m on the internet and listening to some guy on TV talk about Jesse James. There really is nothing else interesting on. It’s game day for many games so those of us who don’t watch sports or reality shows have not much choice left.
    Book TV and History TV are the two channels I mostly watch on the weekends. I hear authors talk about their new non-fiction works and I get to hear lectures from different history professors around the country. It makes great background noise when one is surfing the net or knitting.🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      That is a rather big lens🙂🙂 I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to find it cheaper at the pawn shops internet auction site either🙂

      We reached 55 here and that strong wind we had in the morning was much weaker later in the day. Now there’s no wind at all.

      Nothing on tv on this side of the ocean either. I normally watch the Knowledge channel but they only show interesting programs in the evening. Sometimes they show interesting semenaries during the day but not today.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Absolutely love all your foggy photos today!!
    It’s 70 degrees here at 4:00 pm, but rather cloudy. Still nice to go out without a sweater.
    Your family spreads out all over the place for their naps. I notice the Queen of the Universe has taken the bed for herself.

    • Hi Robin!

      I do like fog in the morning, well I can like fog all day if I know it will go away the next day.

      She can share my bed with Hector every now and again. It’s fun, even if she plays with Sune all day it still seems she prefers old Hector in the long run and Sune prefers to be with Orvar🙂

      Have a grea day!

      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    The pictures today are absolutely gorgeous. I love the foggy ones especially. The muted colors are just lovely. Gracie would love your walks but she’d chase the deer and anything else she’d see in the woods. Like you I took a nap and was joined by Gracie and Fern. Maddie was napping elsewhere.

    No wildlife has been seen around here lately. The last was the fox. Gracie barks, I check, and I see nothing but she keeps barking anyway.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I do love fog a lot, especially those days when it’s so thick that it stays in the forest too. Normaölly it’s never foggy in the forest but when it is it’s so mysterious out there🙂

      A nap is never wrong and yesterday it seems I really needed one🙂

      Dogs bark at anything🙂 Sune barks when he thinks a human is walking outside the fence, mostly there’s nobody there🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

