The moose hunting season has started.

No sun today, this was taken yesterday.

No sun today, this was taken yesterday.

The moose hunting season has started here in southern Sweden and now is the time to be extra careful when driving early in the morning. Suddenly lots of people are out walking in the forest and then they start to shoot as soon as they see a moose. To hit a moose while driving may not mean that one will die but one will get very injured. But it isn’t just the animals You need to keep an eye on, I almost hit a hunter on my way to work.

This is how this photo turned out directly from my camera. Lots of stars can't be seen.

This is how this photo turned out directly from my camera. Lots of stars as it is.

But even more can be seen if I brighten it up. Many can't be seen in the sky at all.

But even more can be seen if I brighten it up. Many can’t be seen in the sky at all.

DSC_0023 - Kopia (800x530)

Normally all stars You can see in ethe sky looks bright white, but lots aren’t. A good way to actually see what color a star has is to let the camera move some, if You do some of them turn out red, some blue and some bright white. Some even yellowish.

All hunters here seems to be dressed in dark green clothes, I’ve almost never seen anyone wear camouflage colored clothes. If they walk on the road they really should have one of those reflective vests but this hunter didn’t. I barely managed to avoid him because he wasn’t walking especially close to the edge🙂 But I missed him and I think we both were a bit more alert after that🙂🙂

Before birightening it.

Before brightening it.

and after.

and after. As You can see the colors of the stars varies some. Easier to see on the originals to be honest.

DSC_0024 - Kopia (800x530)

I’m not sure how things works in other countries but here one can’t just by a hunting license and then walk out into the forest to shoot a moose or bear. You need to belong to a hunting team. It’s usually the land owner and depending on how big the area is lots of old men and now days rather many women. The ones belonging to a hunting team usually stays until they die and it’s almost impossible for a young person to get in to a team.

Dark and gloomy here today.

Dark and gloomy here today.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

There are different kinds of licenses too. They are all pretty expensive but the cheapest is for the first three days, if they haven’t shot a moose during those days it’s all over. They can’t shoot one later on even if the season goes on for a couple of months. The most expensive is for the entire season but it would be cheaper to buy an entire moose to be honest🙂 It varies how many and what kind of moose (or bear or what ever) they are allowed to shoot as well, it all depends on how big the area they have is.

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

This area is rather small so they are usually allowed to shoot one moose cow and one calf every second year and one adult moose the other year. We don’t have bears here so I have no idea what the rules are about those. Deers have other rules and I’m not sure about those either to be honest. Poaching is rare here in southern Sweden since lots of people would love to call the police to report them (I guess it’s the same further north but very few people live up there so it’s easier to be a poacher there). If the police catch You they take the license and it’s very hard and expensive to get it back. The risks are too big so almost all hunters follows the laws strictly. Well a beaver or two might find it’s way to heaven but just as long as no one can hear when it happens🙂

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

The old ruin.

The old ruin.

Joyce asked me yesterday when we might get snow and I thought not for long hopefully because I hadn’t the energy to change to winter tires. But I took a look at the weather predictions and we might get snow this Friday. So suddenly I was full of energy and changed those tires🙂 It was nice to be out in good time and not to freeze my fingers for once🙂 It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “The moose hunting season has started.

  1. I’ve been loving the leaves turning in your fall pictures.

    Why do they shoot moose? To eat them? And why a calf? That shouldn’t be allowed.

    • Hi Kerry!

      I’m glad You like it, too bad it stays for such a short time.

      Yes it sounds cruel to shoot calves but it is carefully calculated so that the moose we have after the hunting season has as much food as they need and that the mosse still around is as healthy as possible. They hunt them to eat them and also to keep the numbers down. We have too many moose here and too few wolves to keep the numbers down. I’ve rewad that we have more moose here per square mile than anywhere else in the world. If we don’t hunt them they would soon eat everything growing and then die of starvation. I can understand this even if I’m no hunter myself.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! we might see some snow flakes this weekend too. we are going from summer weather directly to winter. we will be in the lower 30’s this weekend. except for few days, we really have not had much fall. i wish people wouldn’t shoot moose. do they even eat them? i just don’t like hunting at all. so glad you didn’t hit the hunter. they should be required to wear reflective vests. there are a lot of dumb hunters out there! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Snow already?! As You say, You haven’t had a deasent autumn yet! We will mostly stay above 32F anyway.

      Yes they eat the moose and we need to keep the numbers down, I’ve read that we have more moose per square mile than anywhere else in the world. If they didn’t hunt them they would soon have eaten everything there is to eat out there and then they would start to starve to death. I’m no hunter but I can understand why this is needed.

      I’m rather happy I didn’t hit him either🙂 I can’t for my life understand why he didn’t use a reflective vest, most of them do.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    You don’t have to belong to any hunting teams or clubs to hunt around here. You get a license from the state you want to hunt in, you get your gun and go out and shoot the legal number of things you got a permit to shoot. You can’t hunt on posted land but the regulations for posting one’s property are so hard to meet that many land owners don’t bother.
    When I owned a horse, I kept him at a barn near a wildlife preserve. The land owner had posted her property but hunters still came on to it regularly. I used to wear International Safety Orange and my horse had International safety orange bridle, breastplate and quartering rug. I wanted to make sure no one could mistake us for a deer. Even so, I still had bird shot bounce off my riding helmet one time. The guy thought my horse and I were a Canadian Goose. Yeah.
    I don’t mind hunters. I just wish they weren’t stupid.
    Here is my favorite hunting song. I hope you enjoy it.🙂 (I also hope the link works.)

    Nice star shots.
    But I kept trying to wipe the dust off my monitor.😀😀
    Did you find out what that star was?

    Enjoy the afternoon.

    • Hi caryn!

      What a great song🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve been shot at too once🙂 They were also out to hunt ducks and started to shoot towards my cottage (where I lived before) and they mostly hit the roof of the cottage. Well I’m not afraid to tell people what I think of them and I started shouting as soon as I understood what was happening. Something about having just bone through the entire skull, stupidity and something more that isn’t something I canb write here🙂 I ran towards them at the same time but I could hear their car driving away quickly by the time I reached the pond🙂🙂🙂 No one else hunted anything there as long as I lived there🙂

      Too bad I don’t know th name of those stars but the previous one must be Pollux.

      I agree, I don’t mind hunters, just the stupid ones🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Interesting reading about the moose hunting regulations, Christer. There are no moose hunts here, just deer and duck hunting. I believe that all that’s required is a license and I am not sure if there are designated hunting days. There are some of those at one of the federal parks, but of course, it is closed now due to the government shutdown (the less said about that nonsense, the better). I was wondering what time you were outside to take all the sky shots, which I have never tried myself cause I would rather be indoors at night.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Strabgely enough I’ve never heard anyone hunt ducks or geese here but I know some hunters that wants to shoot cranes now when they are so many again. Really! Just because there are plenty of them doesn’t mean that we shouöld start shooting them! We have the same rules on private property as state owned one over here. But if some land owners don’t want a hunting team on his land I think he can stop the hunting.

      I was out around 7pm when I tiook those photos. It’s getting dark early here now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I love the Tom Lehrer Hunting Song, thanks Caryn! Lehrer is one of my favourites!!

    Ja, inte skulle jag kunna bli jägare inte. Och dessutom gillar jag inte älgkött, eller annat vilt heller förresten. Rådjursfilé och sadel går att äta, men jag är inte överförtjust. förmodligen beror det på att man äter det så sällan. Vilket är lika bra det. Visserligen vet jag att det är alldeles för många älgar så dom måste skjutas av, men jag kan inte förmå mig till att tycka att det är trevligt.😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nä jägare skulle inte jag heller kunna bli, om det inte var livsnödvändigt för då skulle jag inte tveka. Men jag gillar både älg och rådjurskött, jo allt villt egentligen.

      Jag bara föreställer mig hur det skulle bli om vi inte hade jakten och då tycker jag den är helt ok🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    Deer season is about it here on the cape. There used to be many, and now they are far less because of building houses. You just need a deer hunting license, and you can go pretty much anywhere which isn’t private property. Here we also get clamming and shellfish licenses, usually for the summer. They are good on any beach as very few are private. Fishing licenses are also gotten at the town halls.

    I have seen a few deer here but not in a long while. Wild turkeys seem to be really numerous now, and the hunting season for them starts in a couple of days. They are quite the prize.

    • Hi Kat!

      Hunting is very regulated here, it’s perhaps not a fare system but they keep controll on the hunters. We don’t need fishing license in our five biggest lake or by the ocean and we’ve never had license on clamming or shellfish either. I don’t think it’s needed for lobster either but then again the season is just one month long I think.

      I’ve only seen five different deers all summer, I hope they just have been in the forest all the time. I haven’t heard that anyone have hunted deer this year. Turkeys would have been great to see🙂 but I do prefer them behind fences, nasty tempered birds🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

