They have returned for the winter I guess.

I love calves and this one isn't old. It was the first time I saw it today and it was jumping and playing all the time :-)

I love calves and this one isn’t old. It was the first time I saw it today and it was jumping and playing all the time🙂

The day started with thick fog, sometimes just thick but other times as “where can I be” thick. But it disappeared shortly after I started to work, so no resting day for the hunted moose I’m afraid. Thankfully most hunters understands it’s dangerous to hunt when it’s foggy, the group we have here are usually rather calm when it rains too. They seems to prefer to stay at home when the weather isn’t nice🙂

DSC_0004 (567x800)

DSC_0005 (530x800)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

It has been sunny all day after that and I was hoping to come home before the sun set but I had to fill my car with petrol. We have one petrol station in the village where I work and they are building a new one too. But it will take at least a week before the new one is functional and the other one has been broken since at least two weeks back. 

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x532)

So I had to drive to Skara and fill it up. It only took fifteen minutes longer than usual to get home but I arrived by the garage just as the sun went down behind the forest. Ok, it is still rather light outside until 6:30 but it would have been nice to walk around in some sunshine after a day in a factory. 

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

Nova has decided that she is going to dig her way in to the garage no matter what🙂 I guess it’s the smell of mice and voles that drives her to it but also to be for herself for a while. I guess it can be a bit tiresome to always have Sune around because he wants to play all day long no matter what. But I know he’ll play with Orvar and Hector instead🙂

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. I was a bit stressed this morning because I woke up by Nova jumping around in the bed and I wondered what on earth she was doing. It turns out I had forgotten to set the alarm clock🙂 and she really wanted to go outside🙂 I came in time to work but really didn’t have the time to enjoy a cup of tea🙂

This poor Roe deer buck got himself in to a state of panic. They have fences around their vegetable gardens and other fences to keep the sheep away from the rest of the garden and no matter what he did he ran in to those fences all the time. This is neither Rune or Longhorn so I guess I have a new visitor in my garden at night.

This poor Roe deer buck got himself in to a state of panic. They have fences around their vegetable gardens and other fences to keep the sheep away from the rest of the garden and no matter what he did he ran in to those fences all the time. This is neither Rune or Longhorn so I guess I have a new visitor in my garden at night.

DSC_0031 (800x530)

It was so dark that I had problems focusing🙂 So as You might guess these and the next one is very much brightened to be able to see anything.

The doe stood however very calmly and ate apples in my garden.

The doe stood however very calmly and ate apples in my garden.

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “They have returned for the winter I guess.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love the photos of the deer agains the bright yellow barn. Is the fence electrified or just barbed wire? Poor guy. From the antlers, he looks a bit young. It’s not good to be confused when you are a shootable target.

    It took a while for me to figure out what you meant by “they have returned for the winter”. Then it clicked. The deer are back in your garden. Well, at least you don’t have to pick up the windfall apples.

    Good for Nova for being your back-up alarm clock. You need to set her for an earlier time, though, if you want to get a leisurely cup of tea out of it.🙂

    It was warm but grey outside most of the day. I spent the morning cooking stuff that needed to be cooked before it went bad. After that, I goofed off on the internet or reading a book. I did take Rocky for a longish walk. We got distracted by watching spawns of Satan looking for food.
    The spawns are rather scrawny-looking this year. No black walnuts to speak of. The acorn crop is not looking too prolific and neither are the maple keys. There are tons of dogwood fruit but I don’t know how well that keeps. It might be a lean year for spawns and other small rodents.

    Enjoy the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m pretty sure the fence around the vegetable gardens were electrified during summer but there are no vegetables in them now, but all the rest are electrified and there’s also a lynx fence he had to avoid and that one is heavily electrified🙂 No barbed vires on that side of the road, they are removing them bit by bit now.

      I don’t mind the deers eating my apples here as long as the moose don’t come to eat🙂 Well that would be cool if they came once or twice but they tend to stay when they have found a good garden🙂

      I’ll set the clock tonight instead🙂

      Our squirrels look really good now, they’ve gotten their thick winter fur now. But it’s the same over here, very few acorns and no walnuts🙂 The summer was fantastic in all ways but the trees and bushed gave very little seeds. I guess that’s why I have so many birds by my feeders already and mice in my house.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes the word is out, a bit too early though. I won’t start feeding them until there’s plenty of snowor at least snow on the ground🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. such beautiful photos, I felt bad for the deer being caught in the fence, hope it didn’t hurt itself finding a way out.I’m not sure having a big dog jumping around on the bed is the best alarm clock!

    • Hi Laurie!

      No it didn’t hurt itself but I did feel sorry for the poor chap.

      It was very effective to have Nova jumping around but it’s harder to set a time on her🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. We also have a foggy morning today, Thursday, which has caused a 2 hour school opening delay, as it usually does. That’s because some of the back roads are narrow with ditches. I have seen the way some of the bus drivers cut corners even on sunny days so a delay is good. In comparison to your one gas station, we have 4 within less than 2 miles and at times, they all display differing prices.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I love foggy mornings, as long as I don’t have to drive🙂 But I don’t think they ever have delayed the school opening because of fog. Now days the busses only drives on the bigger roads so kids must walk quite a distance sometimes or their parents drive them to school instead. But they can stop the school busses if the roads are icy and that happened a lot last year.

      Here I have to drive over 10 km to find a petrol station🙂 and now none is working in the village I work🙂 Petrol prices varies very little here I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Good for Nova to wake you up! She is definitely turning the garage into her own place.
    We had one morning where there was a light fog for a few hours. It made the autumn trees look mysterious, but did not cause driving problems. I would love more mornings like that.
    I bet you end up with a large herd of deer this winter.

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes, she’s a good girl🙂 and the garage is hers and hers alone🙂 I can’t see any tracks after mice and voles in there any longer🙂

      Nothing beats a foggy morning🙂 The foggier the better as long as I don’t have to drive around in it🙂

      I guess You’re right, their food will cost me a fortune this year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    I totally understand the need to get home before dark. All winter, when I worked, I felt like a mole. I left for work in the dark and got home in the dark. The only sun I saw was through the window in my office.

    The sun has disappeared. The earlier morning was lovely, but now we have clouds. It even looks as if it might rain.

    Gracie has a friend named Cody who comes to the front door and barks to come into the backyard. He frustrates Gracie who wants to play, and he never does. She does get her exercise running around him and jumping on his back, but she’d like some fun with him too.

    Enjoy your tea and the evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes we need that sun during winter even if this summer helped us to load our batteries.

      Cloudy today and some rain too, more will come tonight they say. We need it a lot now so I won’t complain.

      I wish we had more dogs around here, the few that are around aren’t allowed to say hi. One because she’s a bit nasty sometimes and the other is a hunting dog and the owner believes that it would be less good if it could socialize with other dogs. He’s thinking like they did back in the 19th century I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

