I’m long gone and dead by then :-)

Todays photographs are a mix from yesterday and today.

Todays photographs are a mix from yesterday and today.

I’ve always wanted an oak with those pointy lobed leafs I always see every Christmas when we watch Donald Duck and his friends celebrate Christmas. It’s Chip and Dale that picks acorns from such an oak. Our two species only have round lobed leafs and I like those pointy ones. They have oaks like that by the big hospital in Skövde and I’m going there the 30th this month for a MRI. But today I saw some on my way back to my workplace when I had been in the neighboring factory.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

I had to look for a long while on the ground before I finally found a few acorns. I’ve noticed that this has been a bad year when it comes to acorns on our oaks too. I picked those I found and I’ll sow them tomorrow. I think it is Northern red oak but I know there are more oaks on the american continent that has leafs like that. I’ll pick a few if I find some when I go to the hospital too🙂

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

Now You might wonder way I want oaks in a rather small garden? It’s only 900 square meter (1076,4 square yard), They do get very big after all. But I’ll be dead and long gone before they reach those sizes🙂 I leave that problem to those who comes after me🙂 Black Walnuts do get rather big too I think and if mine will survive and become big it’s placed too close to the cottage but that will also be long after I’m gone, trees don’t grow that fast up here in the north.

DSC_0016 (800x531)

Look at those eyes.

Look at those eyes.

DSC_0019 (800x532)

I’ve bought two pumpkins this week and I’ll buy one more tomorrow if they have any at the supermarket. I’m not sure if I’ll have them as they are or make lanterns of them. If I do lanterns can I then use any of what I carve out from their insides? I’ve never eaten pumpkins before and it would be fun to try some. I’ll take a photo of them when I have all three🙂

DSC_0021 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

Once again it’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. I guess there’s nothing good on tv so I think I’ll find me something to read instead.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “I’m long gone and dead by then :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful flaming tree behind the dark pines. That’s my favorite shot.
    Evil-tempered Bertil with the flaming eyes is also kind of neat.🙂

    Yes you can eat what you pull out of the pumpkin as long as it’s not an old pumpkin. They can be kind of stringy like an old squash. You can save the seeds and roast them, too.

    It’s funny but I am always looking for the round lobed oaks. I have lots of pointy-leafed oaks but I want a chinquapin.
    American Red oak has very pointy lobes with very deep spaces between them. They remind a little of fancy paper cutting.🙂

    Black Walnuts get very tall and they spread out very wide as well. They like to be the only tree in that space. My old walnut probably shades as much ground as my entire house sits on.

    The sun is finally out. It was very murky this morning but now it’s bright. I spent the morning sorting clothes to give to charity and doing dishes. Bleah.

    Enjoy the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I like that photo too but it looked much cooler in reality. I guess I got it too bright. Bertils eye just shows his personality🙂🙂

      I don’t think those pumpkins are old, I knocked on them and they sound like a big winter squash when it’s just ripe. I hope they sound the same, after all they are almost the same thing🙂 I’ll save some seeds and sow them next year and I’ll rost some too. Should I pour salt on them too perhaps?

      I guess we want what we don’t have🙂 We only have two different species of oak here and both look just the same🙂 Now I need to check chinquapin on the net🙂 The leafs are very pointy on these trees but less on those by the hospital. Two different species perhaps? If they live in Skövde they must be hardy🙂

      Our short summers makes sure for a slow growth on trees here, it takes around 70 years for a spruce to get so big that they can cut it down. And since a black walnut lives on the edge of what it can take here (if it survives🙂 ) it might not even get especially big at all. Redwood they’ve planted in the most southern parts of Sweden by the coast rarely becomes especially big. I know of a fifty year old redwood that only is 15 yards high🙂

      I wouldn’t be surprised if it actually snows tomorrow🙂 But I hope the predictions are right, cold and sunny.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Here’s a recipe for roasting pumpkin seeds.
    http://ohsheglows.com/2012/09/17/how-to-roast-perfect-pumpkin-seeds-easy-crunchy-addictive/
    I would put salt on them but I love salt. You can put other spices on them, too.

    Your leaves don’t sound like chinquapin. Chinquapin doesn’t have lobes. It’s lanceolate and serrate. Looks a bit like Spanish Chestnut, maybe?
    It’s possible that the trees are two different species. There’s northern red oak, black oak and northern pin oak. They all have pointy lobes.

    No snow here. It’s 70ºF. It’s going to be warmer tomorrow and then we go back into the cooler stuff.

    • I’ll check that link when it’s time to roast some🙂 I love salt and salty candy so I’ll do that too🙂

      No the leafs on ours doesn’t look the least like those on the Chinquapin. Like You say, those look much like Chestnut leafs. I guess Spanish Chestnut is the same as what we call just Chestnut, they are edible and can only live in the most southern parts of Sweden.

      I brought a leaf with me home today and I’ll photograh it later today. No matter what species it is I like those leafs🙂

      No snow here either but my neighbor said the rain we had this morning was mixed with snow. I drove away five minutes earlier than him and only had rain🙂

      Christer.

  3. hi christer! you can eat the pumpkins but if they are not pie pumpkins, they won’t have much flavor. you can bake them then mash them and add butter and spices or add butter and brown sugar and cinnamon if you want something sweet. but for sure, wash the seeds and roast them sprinkled with some oil and salt. i will be roasting some soon! it is pouring here right now. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I doubt these are pie pumpkins, they look just like the ones You show in Your blog. I’ll try what You describe when I’v started to carv them out🙂

      I’ll roast seeds too, I’m pretty sure I’ve bought roasted pumpkin seeds before and from what I remember I liked it a lot🙂

      Rain when I drove to work but after thet the sun has been shining all day🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I am happy you have pumpkins. Wish you had the small pie pumpkins, but I am sure you will enjoy the baked pumpkin. The seeds also are very good roasted.
    I love that flaming tree, it is amazing. Good luck with your acorn search and sowing!
    Bertil appears a little demonic in that photo!

    • Hi Robin!

      I’m glad I have pumpkins at all🙂 Not a big thing over here, at least not yet. But they were fairly cheap so perhaps more and more will start buying them now.

      I like how those leafs almost turns to golden, too bad it just lasted a few minutes.

      His true nature🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Practical Parsimony and welcome to my blog🙂

      Thankfully there are lots of recipes on the internet because pumpkins aren’t especially common over here. I guess most of us would use it much lie a winter squash (In a casserole or stew) because they are after all closely related.

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

