They are so curious.

DSC_0001 (800x530)

My neighbor told me we had rain with some snow mixed in to it this morning, I drove to work five minutes earlier than he did and I had only rain. I don’t mind missing the snow at all🙂 The rest of the day has been sunny and rather cold. I worked in the neighbor factory again today and I have to admit that I wlked a bit slowly so I could enjoy the weather as much as possibly.

DSC_0002 (800x530)

No hunter in the hunting tower.

No hunter in the hunting tower.

I did see something down the road and when I do I always hope it's a fox.

I did see something down the road and when I do I always hope it’s a fox.

I drove to the supermarket as usual on my way home from work and one could think that since I’m there when everybody else is working I should be alone. How wrong one would be🙂 It seems all retired people, all home because they are sick and all unemployed were there today and it seesm all of them thought I could just walk through them when I wanted to get somewhere. They stood in groups chatting with each other so it was just impossible to pass them. I did what I always do, I said that if they wanted to still have undamaged tendons they had to move because I wouldn’t stop🙂 Itb usually helps🙂

DSC_0009 (800x531)

But it isn’t bad to see a deer either.

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x531)

It looks as if “our” hunters have shot their moose because none of them were out in the forest when I came home. So we walked down to the creek and followed it. I forgot that we had to pass the Castles land on our way and naturally I walked straight in to a hunter🙂 Well he wasn’t allowed to shoor´t towards me so I wasn’t worried about that but I still tried to walk as quietly as possible. Sune however had another idea, why not start howling when discovering another human out there🙂🙂🙂 The hunter just smiled even if I’m pretty sure he wanted to shoot us🙂

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

I wonder why they have to let the cattle walk as they please between pastures. It makes my walks so much more complicated.

I wonder why they have to let the cattle walk as they please between pastures. It makes my walks so much more complicated.

The castle owner have bought almost all fields around the village and now he has put up gates so the cattle can walk around much as they please. If I had walked alone it wouldn’t be a problem but I have four dogs with me and cows with calves can actually kill dogs and their owners if they feel we are dangerous. It isn’t gates to be honest, just electrified ropes that cuts of the roads. Unfortunately both Orvar and Nove decided they should try to run beneath them even if they both were leashed. Nova doesn’t like me at the moment because I told he a couple of things after that in a very hostile voice.

Especially when they blocked an entire road like this. I stand beside one of these gates and can't go to the other side if cows with calves are close.

Especially when they blocked an entire road like this. I stand beside one of these gates and can’t go to the other side if cows with calves are close. But I am allowed towalk there as I please as long as I close the gates when I’ve passed them.

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

We managed to pass them and shortly after that Sune learned how painful it is to put the nose to one of those electrified fences. I could hear the flash hit him and naturally he started to howl again. That hunter must hate us by now because we hadn’t come far from him when it happened. Now we’re home again and I hope both Nova and Sune learned something today, but I doubt it🙂🙂

At the same time as cattle usually don't like dogs they also can be very curious about them.  Suddenly they all came running to the fence to watch me and my slightly panicking dogs :-)

At the same time as cattle usually don’t like dogs they also can be very curious about them. Suddenly they all came running to the fence to watch me and my slightly panicking dogs🙂

and IU mean all of them in a high speed :-)

and IU mean all of them in a high speed🙂

DSC_0029 (800x530)

DSC_0030 (800x530)

DSC_0031 (800x530)

We were all very happy when we could pass the old stable :-)

We were all very happy when we could pass the old stable🙂

It’s time for that pot of tea again and something to eat as well, I haven’t had anything since breakfast early this morning. After that I’ll just relax for the rest of the day🙂

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “They are so curious.

  1. oh no…the poor pups. i can just imagine how teddy would handle that! she would probably try to fight the fence. finally we are having wonderful fall weather. i am a barefoot person. i am always walking around without shoes or socks but the weather is so cold now, it might be slipper time!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I hope, now that it has happened, that they now think all fences are like that. Would perhaps keep them from jumping over my own fence, but I doubt that🙂

      When Nova get stung by a wasp she does what ever she can to kill it but when getting stung by a fence she just shouts out loud and walk very far away from it. Not a good idea to fight an elecxtric fence🙂

      I love to walk berafoot but I think I might loose my toes if I did that outdoors now🙂 We’ll have frost again tonight, all over the country they say.

      Have a great autumn day🙂

      Christer.

  2. I think you and the dogs must be like television to the cows! You probably made their day a more exciting one, I hope the hunter didn’t find anything to shoot, he most likely isn’t hunting becasue he is hungry, just for sport most likely, I HATE electric fence, such a nasty invention,

    • Hi Laurie!

      You’re probably right🙂 It was certainly very exiting for my dogs, they really don’t like cows close🙂

      I heard their hunting dog bark some but it didn’t sound as if it followed something particular. These hunters didn’t hunt because they needed it, by the look on their cars they are pretty rich.

      But in a way the electric fences are better than barbed wires. It might sting badly but at least it doesn’t give open wounds.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    My experience with cows is limited to those that are raised for meat. They lived outside all the time with just a run-in shed for shelter if they chose. They were out there with the coyotes and whatever else was wandering around. They were not friendly. Whenever I went down there they would all look up and watch me with expressions that showed fairly clearly that if I was not carrying food, I should just leave.
    The young bulls didn’t really care about electric fencing, either. If they wanted out, they just bulled their way through it. If electric fencing was the only thing between me and bunch of curious cows that were running over to see me, I would be very nervous.🙂

    I would not be quiet in the woods, if it was hunting season. I would be as loud as I possibly could. Deer and moose don’t sing and talk to their dogs. Sad to have to be loud in the woods but having bird shot bounce off my riding helmet taught me.

    It’s sunny and warm here. I’m wearing short sleeves and no shoes. Nice.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      My experience is much the same🙂 These are also living outside all year long with some run in sheds for protection and as long as we stay outside the fence they are curious but if we should go in and they have calves around we would most probably be dead. Once I walked on a road between the bulls pasture and the cows pasture and that was a bit creepy. They all stood by the fence and watched us and Especially El Diabolo looked like he was prepared to go through the fence🙂
      Two year ago we had a young highland bull that jumped the fence as soon as they put him in🙂 He never really cared about us walking past him and sometimes we were so close that I could have touched him if I had dared, but I didn’t dare at all🙂

      We were thankfully walking on a field when we met that hunter, he was looking in to the forest on the other side because the field we were walking on is owned by the big land owner here. Our hunters had already gone home so I got a bit surprised to see this man🙂 He had probably seen me for a long time.

      Around 37 here today and it’s already frost outside.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Kor är inte kul att träffa på när man är ute på hundprommisar.😦 Det har hänt ett par gånger att dom “jagat” oss för att glo på vår hund. Som tur är har vi ju alltid bara en hund och en liten sådan, så Rolle har fått rycka in som bärare.🙂 Själv har jag fått agera kofösare med en pinne, vilket jag inte gillar så mycket.😦😦 Så förra helgen kollade vi noga med bonden om korna var på fälten vid Uggarderoj eller inte. Men som tur var hade dom flyttats till ett annat ställe. Vi vet ju inte heller hur Santos reagerar. Han kanske blir rädd och springer bort.😦
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det är alltid lite trixigt om korna har kalvar, om de är tillräckligt nära kan de anfalla. Nu var de ju långt bort men när hundar bestämmer sig för en sak och man börjar trassla in sig i eltrådar är det alltid lite besvärligt🙂🙂 Hade det bara varit jag skulle det varit enklare, då kan jag gå väldigt nära utan att de bryr sig.

      Här har de bundit ihop flera fält så det är alltid svårt att veta var korna går, dessutom är en del skogsbeklädd och då ser man ju än mindre. Mina hundar är rädda för kor, tack och lov, så de brukar springa bort från dem om de kan🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Oh! all this worries me. please be careful!
    I have a sad story. In a neighboring farming town, a man drove to pick up his kids from school. He was saying that the total trip of back and forth only takes about 7 minutes. On his way back he heard a gunshot. Apparently his two dogs were running the neighbors fence and scaring his horse. So the neighbor shot his one dog and when the other ran he went after it with his truck and run him over. I can not believe the heartless of some people. It breaks my heart and I would think it would be hard not to hurt that neighbor.😦
    So be careful! There are a lot of crazies out there!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’ll be as careful as I can🙂

      No farmer would dare shooting another person’s dogs. He would get so much problem by animal welfare people that he never would be able to continue his job. It’s also very illegal to do so over here. The farmer would lose his weapons license (and that’s really hard to get back again) and the dog owner would get fined for not keeping controll of his dogs. Thank god everyone here knows my dogs and knows they won’t do any harm to anything because they tend to take walks by themselves🙂

      The crazies has too much to lose to do something like that over here thankfully🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I used to board my horse in a town that has a law which allows landowners to shoot any dog that trespasses on their property. It was a farming town. The law was an old one from the days when everyone’s dog ran loose and some dogs were chasing or killing livestock. It’s still on the books even though nowadays any dog you see on your property is most likely to be a coyote or fox.
        Rules like yours would probably never get put in place here especially in rural areas.

      • Towns can’t make laws on their own here, regulations yes but not laws. The strongest they can do is like not allowing dogs to ever walk unleashed and things like that.

        I remember when we had two dogs running around here chasing cattle. They looked much like Orvar and Hector by the way and the land and cattle owner came to check if it was my dogs. Since it wasn’t🙂 I told him to shoot those dogs and he just looked terrified at me🙂 I was joking but he took it seriously. DI can’t do that he said, not dogs. Dogs seems to have a special standard here even when they are breaking the law🙂 They would never hesitate to shoot a fox, mink, marten or even a cat killing chickens but a dog needs to be rabid before they even would consider shooting it🙂

        Christer.

  6. Being raised in the country, (lots of cattle and cattle guards) I don’t understand the need for electrical fences. There used to be cattle guards at all of the gates. I know there are SOME electric fences up on some the ranches here but very few..at least as far as I know. Fences..I know they are necessary..but..electrical? Poor Sune! The cattle guards I was used to were trenches dug into the earth between the fence posts with bars going across them. WIDE bars..the cattle saw it as unpassable and didn’t try to cross. The cows probably heard the pain in Sune’s voice and were concerned. I’ve seen cattle be very protective of an injured cow or one giving birth. Interesting creatures.
    Bertil was out there with you?
    Getting cold there? It’s in the 80’s here..AGAIN!🙂 I sort of expected this though since Summer had such a late start.
    Take care..
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Electric fences are better than barbed wire ones and it can also scare a wolf or lynx, at least for a while🙂 These fences are too low to keep wolves and lynx’s out but wild hogs avoid them too. They can easily make it higher if wolves would move in to our neighborhood though.

      Yes cattle are interesting, we usually take them for slightly daft🙂 but they are anything but.

      Yes Bertil always follows us🙂

      Frost since yesterday around 8pm but it looks by the thermometer it’s getting warmer again even if the sun hasn’t risen yet.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Actually, you are right. Barbed wire is wicked and frightened cattle have gotten tangled in it and injured. It’s only enough to deter an animal..and keep cattle safe. Just the thought of Sune getting zapped…I imagine there are warning signs up. I know the electrical fences here have warning signs.

      • We are many that vgot zapped by electrical fences🙂 hurts for a while and then we stay away from them🙂🙂 I don’t know how many trousers I’ve torn on barbed wire fences🙂🙂

        Yes they all have, if the land owner follows the law that is.

        Christer.

  7. Christer,
    Poor Suny! I think Gracie would have learned quickly and would, instead, leap the fence. She is quite athletic even as muscular as she has become. She’d have to be on a leash as she’d go after any deer she saw.

    The turkeys have been by and walking on the street a lot lately. I hope they hide as hunting season starts soon though I really doubt there are too many turkey hunters around. The Cape used to have quite a large number of deer and a large number of hunters but all the growth of homes has mostly put an end to both.

    These were lovely pictures today!

    • Hi Kat!

      He didn’t learn anything though🙂 He’s too short to be able to jump over, Nova could but would most likely try to jump between the wires and the old boys are just too old🙂

      Over here the deers thrive in the cities, there are more deer there than out here. Even the occasional moose wanders around the city at nights and sometimes during the days too. In a way I’m glad we4 don’t have turkeys here, they have a nasty temper🙂 But still it would be cool to see them walk down the road🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

