Today they broke through :-)

DSCF2003 (800x585)

I came home much earlier than I thought I would and now my car has new brake discs and brake pads on the front wheels. The old discs were a bit too rusty but I can’t say I noticed them braking especially bad to be honest. I guess I wouldn’t have noticed until I had to panic brake really. But they did look bad and one was slightly skewed to be honest. 

This area is called the Vastgota Plains (I've also seen the name Westrogothic Plains). It's flat for miles and miles and miles and I live at the edge of that area.

This area is called the Vastgota Plains (I’ve also seen the name Westrogothic Plains). It’s flat for miles and miles and miles and I live at the edge of that area. All photos today are taken with my little Point and shoot camera.

DSCF2005 (800x601)

This is a perfect place for wind power plants. I'm glad I don't live close to one because the noisy can be enervating. But I do like how they look.

This is a perfect place for wind power plants. I’m glad I don’t live close to one because the noisy can be enervating. But I do like how they look.

I had planned to take a walk while they were changed but we started talking instead so no photos from there but I did take some photos while driving on my way home instead. Most of them got too blurry but some are reasonable good. I didn’t take any photos if there were any other cars on the road and I did stop when taking some so I didn’t risk anyone elses life but my own if anything would have happened.

DSCF2010 (800x600)

DSCF2013 (800x600)

It's an old lumber mill we see here.

It’s an old lumber mill we see here.

I thought I would try to explain some about how it works in the Swedish health care. I’m not an expert in any way but I think I can explain some in the right way. Over here doctors are untouchable. We can’t sue a doctor for malpractice for instance. If they do anything wrong experts look at what they have done and then the doctor gets a slap on his fingers with a “That’s not a good thing to do! comment from the experts. It needs a huge mistake, a couple of times before they even come close to risking to lose their license.

DSCF2016 (800x600)

Back home again. Too bad that most photos I took on the way home got so blurry. This is the old barn ruin.

Back home again. Too bad that most photos I took on the way home got so blurry. This is the old barn ruin.

DSCF2020 (800x600)

However, if the experts finds that the doctor has done something wrong we do get paid from an insurance all hospitals and doctors have. Compared to what You in the USA can get it’s an insult but at least we get something. It usually helps a lot if one can get the newspapers to be interested in the case🙂 We do get all info we need if we are going through surgery but never sign a paper at all. The doctor just says we’ll get that surgery and that we are put in line. I think the law says it must be done within 3 months and for me that has always been the case. If the hospital closest to the patient can’t do that the patient then can choose any other hospital in te country that has the time to do it.

DSCF2023 (800x600)

DSCF2024 (600x800)

DSCF2026 (800x600)

The health care is rather cheap here though, we never pay more than 1100 Swedish kronor ( $ 136 US) a year for medical help and never more than 2200 swedish kronor ($ 328 US) for prescribed medicine. Both my hip surgeries (with implants costing more than my cottage🙂 ) didn’t cost me that much. It was even cheaper the first time so I don’t think I reached even $ 250 US in total for those. 

DSCF2028 (600x800)

DSCF2029 (800x600)

DSCF2031 (800x600)

We never get much here if we do sue anyone to be honest. It needs to be rather serious to even be considered a trial at the Court. Like You know about that woman who sued McDonald’s because she burnt herself on their coffee in the USA. She only wanted the company to pay hor for the doctors visit she had to do and got several millions in the end. Something similar happened over here and the only thing she got was a gift certificate for a hamburger and she didn’t get it until the newspapers wrote about it. That would never even have reached the Court at all. If something reaches the Court and one lose the case one also has to pay for the costs for the opponent. So most people doesn’t bring things to Court since it can cost everything one has and more. This is not good at all!!!

This is how the ground looks after wild hogs have  been there.

This is how the ground looks after wild hogs have been there.

DSCF2034 (800x600)

I think the cattle had broken through the electric fences today :-) These wires were so stretched that even if they were attached to the other side they still lay flat on the ground. This is how they look after I had tried to stretch them. I saw cow dung and tracks all over the area, almost all the way home :-)

I think the cattle had broken through the electric fences today🙂 These wires were so stretched that even if they were attached to the other side they still lay flat on the ground. This is how they look after I had tried to stretch them. I saw cow dung and tracks all over the area, almost all the way home🙂

It’s time for that pot of tea again and I need to get that fire burning in the stove. I’ve tried to keep it alive for quite some time now but it just dies out :-) 

DSCF2035 (800x600)

DSCF2037 (800x600)

DSCF2038 (800x592)

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Today they broke through :-)

  1. hi christer! i guess you just have to hope you don’t need doctors too much!it sounds sort of scary though it sure is cheap. do doctors make large salaries? is it the same way with dentists too? i wish our legal system was a bit more like your. people sue at the drop of a hat in this country. everyone seems like they want to sue for every little thing. but then, the crooked lawyers encourage them to do so. we had a bit of snow today..yahoo! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      And if I do lets hope I only get the good ones🙂🙂 Thankfully it seems that malpractice is rare but it happens and if one isn’t strong enough to fight for what’s right they won’t help a bit to get what’s right.

      Yes doctors are very well payed and dentists too. But dentists aren’t untouchable, still there’s no use suing them. If they have a way too bad job the thing one can hope for is that the police acts and then one might get something.

      I think it’s good that we don’t can sue for what ever reason but it’s just too difficult here, something they all relay on when doing things wrong. But our lawyers are just as crooked as Yours🙂

      I’m glad You got some snow, I’m still a bit surprised that we haven’t, but pleased that it’s so🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Thanks for explaining about your health care system…so different from the US.
    I can’t believe how the ground looks from after the wild hogs!!
    Cold and windy here, rainy, a bit of wet snow. Typical end of October weather.

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes it is very different but I think our doctors are too protected! It should be easier to nail them if they continue to malpractice. It’s even hard to remove their license!! But it is cheap🙂

      That’s still nothing🙂 You should see how a garden looks after theyb have dug up each end every bulb during a raid🙂 Many garden owners are putting up electric fences now days, sometimes it helps sometimes not.

      Strangely enough now snow here yet and I like it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I think its much the same here in Canada, you can’t sue a doctor here, you sign a waiver, they are protected, they have to mess up severely to be kicked out of practise, In Canada there is very little to gain by law sue, I fell from quite a hieght while working on a remote island in Lake Huron for a wealthy American family, I was badly injured and had to be taken by boat quite a distance to hospital and subsequently lost my vision from a brain injury, they were so afraid I would sue them, but we didn’t, there is little to gain by doing that in this country, it is very much different in the U.S. Your health care is still cheaper than ours though and everything is free here except prescriptions, we pay for those unless we have private insurance, no one pays here to see a doctor or for treatment or surgery, its alll covered under our Province.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Canada is so much more European than the USA is. It’s almost impossible to do anything towards a doctor here too, they can usually keep their license no matter what they do. Thankfully malpractice is rare here but it happens and when it does it’s usually vary bad as well.

      It doesn’t matter what it’s about, it’s just no use to sue here either. Even if one wins one only get a pat on the shoulder as best.

      We usually complain about how much we pay for a visit to the doctors and still it is rather cheap compared to the rest of the world. We pay our health care with our taxes.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Gillade verkligen bilden på det silvergrå gräset i förgrunden🙂 – TROTS att det är så höstligt!😦 Sen trodde jag ett ögonblick att att det stod “after wild dogs” och inte hogs…..*fniss*
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Samma här, men när det gäller gräs tycker jag nog de är bäst på hösten när s
      de silvrat till sig.

      Jo du, vilda hundar kan allt gräve de🙂🙂🙂 Jag tror faktiskt att min gamla Viran hade fixat att göra allt det själv på en timme, den hunden hade energi för fem🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. I don’t have health insurance and now I need to sign up but I’m waiting a bit until they get the computer stuff fixed.
    I’m kinda scared to find out how much it will be since I have such a tight budget. I can’t afford cable so I’m worried about affording healthcare. I never go to the doctor unless there is something wrong. I only went the last couple of years because I didn’t feel right. I could never afford preventative care. Yep, I’m worried.
    As far as the suing the doctors deal, I never even think about that. Who wants to sue after the damage has been done? I mean, sure there could be some cash but I’d rather just be healthy and poor.

    • Hi Cindi!

      It’s so much easier when they take it from our taxes because we never have to think about how much it costs us each month. I’ll never pay that much as I’ve costed the system🙂🙂 But if I remember right, shouldn’t people that can’t afford a health insurance get it cheaper? The state would pay the rest if I have the right info.

      I only go when I feel sick too and they really don’t like it when people go there for preventative care🙂

      I guess the money one would get if winning would go for rehabilitation and different aids to get a better life when the damage is done. I doubt one would live like a royal if something bad has happened🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Oh, I agree. what I meant was when people get money and there’s nothing to be done to make their quality of life better….I’m having a hard time explaining what I’m trying to say. I just mean of course no one wants to sue after the damage is done because no amount of money would make it better.

        I hope you are right about people who can’t afford health insurance. I guess time will tell! I mean I can’t even afford cable! (Not that I want it but….)

      • Ok, I get it🙂
        I’m pretty sure I’m raight about that, I think the state would help with the insurance in one way or the other and an insurance comapny can’t stop anyone from getting an insurance and they can’t toss anyone out just because they are expensive for the company. I’ll check in to it more later.
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

