Preparing for a storm.

It was Longhorn and two does that came for a visit yesterday afternoon.

It was Longhorn and two does that came for a visit yesterday afternoon. The photos are a bit blurry since I had to shoot through the windows.

We had quite nice weather here when we started our morning walk, a weak wind and mostly sunshine. The birds were singing the way they do during late autumn and winter, mostly chirping. But that soon changed and clouds started to cover the sky and before we came home again a few showers had hit us.  It was sweater weather but I’m glad I took my jacket instead because of those showers otherwise I would have been soaked.

DSCF2012 (800x600)

I'm pretty sure this is Lotta but she refused to stand in a way so I could see her white spots on her chest :-)

I’m pretty sure this is Lotta but she refused to stand in a way so I could see her white spots on her chest🙂

Blackbirds loves apples too and I have around twenty of them here in the morning.

Blackbirds loves apples too and I have around twenty of them here in the morning.

The wind seems to slowly increase now and it will do so until Tuesday when it seems we’ll have a full-blown storm here. The steady wind will stay at gale force but the gusts will be nasty, around 27m/s (60,4 miles/ hour). I’m not sure if I’ll drive to work on Tuesday if the gusts are that hard. The predictions have been wrong before🙂🙂 so it can be much worse or a bit better. It’s usually the much worse scenario that occurs I’m afraid.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (530x800)

Geraniums.

Geraniums.

The two last times we had big storms here southern Sweden was paralyzed for a week and some places didn’t have electricity again for over four weeks. I was lucky both those times because the wind was slowed down by the forest and by my neighbor’s cottage that is placed on higher ground than mine is. I’m hoping the wind will come from the same direction this time too, I like to hear the wind roar out there but I don’t like the feeling when the entire cottage is hit by those strong gusts.

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x531)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

So after tha walk I started to remove anything that might fly away when the wind hits. All small planting pots that I always have outside in my patio is now placed in the old potting shed (well it’s actually an old outdoors toilet from the beginning🙂 so there’s not a lot of space to be honest. I’ve removed my ladders that always are out there because one never knows when it’s time to go up on the roof or a tree or something. I’ve placed the empty water barrels, some of the garden chairs and a few other things in the garage but I still have things to move away but the weather turned nasty again so I’ll do that tomorrow instead.

DSC_0014 (800x531)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x528)

It’s time for a pot of tea and today I’ll have some ginger breads as well :-) 

Lots of Rowan berries this year. They are growing on either an old tomb or an old house. They aren't sure since it's destroyed by plowing. What ever it is it's old, over two thousand years old. I have to save photographs for the coming week so this is what You get today :-)

Lots of Rowan berries this year. They are growing on either an old tomb or an old house. They aren’t sure since it’s destroyed by plowing. What ever it is it’s old, over two thousand years old. I have to save photographs for the coming week so this is what You get today🙂

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Preparing for a storm.

  1. wow christer! batten down your hatches, eh? it sounds like it could be a nasty storm. brendan and i are heading north this morning to another pumpkinfest and we are sure to drive into snow. i can’t wait. i hope you don’t lose your power. tuesday is still a bit away so maybe the forecast will still change? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it looks that way but they aren’t sure what way the storm actually will take yet. This could be just as bad as those we had 2005-06. Still, our storms are nothing compared to the bad ones You can have🙂 I think the two 2005 an 06 reached level one at Your scale. I have my stove so I’m not that wounreable if we lose the power here. That stove is the best thing with my entire home🙂

      Have fun at the pumpkinfeat!
      Christer.

  2. Oh I hope they are wrong about that storm! but it’s wise to get everything inside. Very scary.
    You have so many apples at one time!
    It seemed that my apples fell a little bit each day and rotted quickly.
    Love the deer photo.
    They’ve decided to have bow-hunting within the city limits. I kinda understand how they have to thin the herd but the thought of them shooting MY deer makes me SO sick. I guess they are going to be at the golf course and any place with several acres. (Lots of ravines around here) and any place that home owners approve. Personally I would like to sit out on my picnic table and shoot back but I can’t do that.😦 still I’m not liking this.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Me too, I love a good storm as long as it isn’t too good🙂🙂 I think however my cottage is protected once again by my neighbor’s one because the wind will most likely come from south west/ west. These apples ripe very late so they hang on there until a storm brings them down, that would be on Tuesday then🙂 I just came in from picking a bag of apples from the tree right now. I could have taken those on the ground because they are fine too but then the deers woulöd have none to eat.

      Hunting with bow and arrow is strictly forbidden here, the risk of “only” injuring the animals is just too big. They do need to thin them out since we usually have killed all the predators that ate them long ago. It’s better to die fast than slowly because of malnurition and diseases.

      Well, a bow and arrow is quiet, who would know🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Sandy!

      Yes I will, they say it will start on Monday but the wind blows hard already now.
      I’m glad You like it here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I think we had a light frost last night. The basil got frost kissed and is looking brown and mushy. The tomatoes don’t look that bad but they are probably done for as well. The oregano is still going strong as is the orange scented mint. If I don’t manage to kill that, it will ruin my streak of failure with mint.🙂

    The weather is quite cool today and the sun is trying to shine through thin watery-looking clouds. The wind is blowing the leaves all around and it’s blown over my Halloween decorations, too.
    I’ve raked leaves twice in the last three days and there are still more to come down. I wonder if the bagging attachment on the cordless lawn mower would suck up the leaves, chop them a bit and bag them. That would be cool.

    You certainly have lots of apples this year. It must have been good weather for fruit even if it was very dry. The deer do seem to like those apples a lot.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Perhaps You’ve met Your superior when it comes to this mint🙂🙂🙂 Oregano can look good for many frost nights but basil looks sad even before frost many times, here it looks sad as soon as I touch it🙂

      I always leave the leafs on the ground, I’m too lazy to rake them and I only have the small leafs that decompose during winter. My neighbors that have maples aren’t that lucky🙂 Many here use the lawnmower with the collector to get rid of the leafs so unless the leafs are big like maples or horse chestnut it would work fine.

      This was truly a good apple year! I’ve never gotten that many apples before and still this is only half the tree compared to what I had last year🙂 and I did get lots of other berries as well, strange since we had very few pollinators here this year. I guess those we had worked really hard🙂 The deers loves those apples, especially if they have started to ferment🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Drunk on apple alcohol is just what deer need to be right around hunting season. Good thing many of the hunters might have had a tipple or two before going out to shoot.🙂
        I’ve read stories about our robins that get drunk on fermented rose hips and can’t fly straight when they do.

      • It helps them to be less worried, perhaps even take up the fight🙂🙂

        Waxwings often get drunk when eating fermented rowan berries, we can quite often see them lying dead on the ground just because they’ve gotten too drunk. That was the way I saw them for the first time in life. I hope they at least died happy🙂

        Christer.

  4. Also hope the storm is not as severe as you posted, Christer. We have finally started having some nice cooler weather here and no wind. Still no fall colors to compare with some of the beautiful scenes in your post.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      The last time I looked at the predictions it still was much the same. Now I can’t reach that site, a server problem it says.

      Almost no colors left here, it’s a shame they can’t stay for a longer time because they rally brighten up these gloomy and grey days.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

