The calm before.

Only one deer here yesterday afternoon, at least as long as there was daylight.

Only one deer here yesterday afternoon, at least as long as there was daylight.

We’ve had a really nice day here so far, sunshine and rather calm here on the ground. But I can hear the winds blowing hard in the tree tops and still we’re far away from what kind of winds we might get. The predictions varies quite a lot and in some they say it will blow hard already tonight and in some it will wait until tomorrow night. But it seems to come anyway but they still have lots of time to change their predictions, after all it’s several hours left and how often do they actually get it right anyway🙂🙂🙂

 

But there were three here early in the morning instead. This is neither Rune nor Longhorn so I guess I need to find a name for this newcommer too.

But there were three here early in the morning instead. This is neither Rune nor Longhorn so I guess I need to find a name for this newcommer too.

DSC_0053 (800x530)

It looks like the Bog Ladies were busy during the night.

It looks like the Bog Ladies were busy during the night.

 

I’ve picked away most things that might be willing to fly away with the winds and I’ve tied together all the other things left out there. Well, I have one sledgehammer that still is out there but I doubt that it even will tremble in the wind🙂 I vacuumed my cottage and made the laundry and I’m just baking a bread so I’ve been rather busy today. Well the vacuuming, laundry and bread baking has nothing to do with the storm but I mentioned it so You all understand that I’m not always a lazy sloth🙂🙂

 

DSC_0056 (800x530)

DSC_0058 (800x530)

The Forbidden Forest was unusually un inviting this morning.

The Forbidden Forest was unusually un inviting this morning.

 

I was just about to start with the bread when I looked at all apples I brought in yesterday and wondered if I could have apples in the bread too. So I ground down one apple and tossed it in to the dough. I was wondering if oregano would fit with the apple but chose rosemary instead. It won’t be ready for hours yet so I won’t be able to tell You what it was like today.

 

DSC_0065 (530x800)

DSC_0067 (800x530)

DSC_0068 (800x530)

 

We changed back to normal time today and my mother called and was a bit confused because the church bells was ringing when they shouldn’t. She lives just beside it and is singing in the choir so she called to ask the time🙂 Well it turns out the bells actually was ringing at the right time, they do one hour before service which she had forgotten early in the morning🙂 I also congratulated her on her birthday and I’m not so sure she liked to be reminded she now was even older as she said🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0070 (800x530)

DSC_0072 (800x530)

DSC_0076 (530x800)

 

It’s time to knead the bread again and I’ll wait with the tea so I can have a slice of freshly baked bread with a nice cup of tea🙂

 

DSC_0089 (800x530)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “The calm before.

  1. I hope your Mum has a wonderful birthday, sounds like your weather is much like ours, we have 50 to 60 kilometer an hour winds today, its cold but clear at the moment, all the leaves have left the trees.Do you knead your bead, let it rise then knead it again then let it rise again? I know some recipes call for this, the apple sounds like a lovely addition, it would be nice with cheese!

    • Hi Laurie!

      e have never been big birthday celebraters so I doubt she’ll do anything special today. She actually didn’t remember it was today she became older🙂

      It’s calm here so far but they say the storm will arrive earlier and will be much worse than they had expected. But it looks as if the worst will be much further south. The steady wind won’t be that hard but the gusts can reach up to 40 m/s by the ocean.

      Yes, that’s the way I do it. Almost all bread recipes are like that over here.

      I have a good tasty cheese that I will have on those first slices🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. it sounds sort of scary waiting for the storm to arrive. is snow coming too? we had really high winds yesterday which made driving in the mountains a bit challenging at times. is your bread a yeast bread? i don’t think i have ever added apple to a yeast bread before. i will be anxious to hear how it turns out. our time doesn’t change until next week. i think the word is out on your cottage in the deer community for sure!

    • Hi Joyce!

      It sort of is but the storm will hit much harder at the most southern parts of Sweden. It can still change direction some so we can just sit and wait🙂 I will drive some in the mountains here too tomorrow so I’m hoping the winds will come from the right direction🙂

      Yes it’s yeast bread I’m baking. I hardly never use baking powder unless it’s scones I’m making. It’ll be fun to see if it tastes any differnt🙂

      Yes the word is out there now🙂 I wonder how many that will come this winter. There were fourteen as most at the same time here last winter.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Ja, man kanske skulle ha tittat över vad som finns kvar ute!😦
    Fast vi har ju tagit bort alla trädgårdsmöbler för länge sen och dom flesta krukorna. För övrigt har vi ingenting ute, så jag tror vi kommer klara oss bra. Fast jag fasar för den stora jättelärken som står precis på andra sidan staketet på baksidan. Ligger vinden på från det hållet så lär den komma ner en vacker – eller man kanske ska säga ruskig – dag.😦 😦 Kronan där uppe är enormt stor och den har inte börjat fälla barren ännu, så det blir ett otäckt vindfång. Om inte annat så lär barren förmodligen komma ner och lägga sig som en decimeterhög kaka över gräsmattan, inte heller kul!😦😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har några tunga krukor där ute och de får stå kvar för det skall bra mycket vind till för att de skall lyfta🙂

      Så länge det bara är barren som faller skall man vara glad🙂 Vinden skall ju komma från väst sydväst/ väst så min tomt och stuga bör ligga i lä mesta tiden, men vindbyar lär nog ruska om stugan då och då. Än så länge är allt lugnt här i alla fall.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. I love how the fog seems to be hovering, and then creeping closer. The Bog Ladies are very good at what they do. I too would like to know how your apple bread turned out. You are going to have more deer than you will know what to do with!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      Fog is always great🙂 Too bad it must be really thick to show at all in ethe forest though, when it does it’s really creepy too🙂

      I didn’t feel anything from the apple when I ate the bread while it still was warm. I’ll see if there’s any difference now when I’ll have some for breakfast.

      I’m afraid I will🙂 But then again, they are cute🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I read your post early this morning, went off to take care of some things and just got back.
    I think you should call that new buck Spike. He has tiny spike antlers. He looks youngish.

    The next to the last photo is lovely with the blocks of tinted sky reflected in the water. I like it.

    Apple, rosemary bread. Hmm. I’m not sure. It would probably make a great bacon sandwich.🙂 I hope it was delicious.

    Speaking of Apple, there was an update on my computer. I have no idea what they did but Safari is slightly weird now. I get odd popups while I’m typing because I rest my hands on the keyboard as I type. It keeps hopping my cursor around and bringing up dictionary entries for random words.
    I’m not even going to bother with Mavericks until I stop hearing things about 20 hour downloads and partial downloads with frozen grey screens. No. Not gonna do it.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      You were out for quite some time then🙂

      Spike is a good name but it wouldn’t mean anything in Swedish🙂🙂 I could spell it Spik because that means nail in Swedish or Spiken, the nail.

      I was thinking of Your photos of reflexions in water when I took that one.

      I couldn’t feel anything from the apple in the bread while it still was warm but I’ll see if there’s any difference now when I’ll have some for breakfast in a minute.

      I really don’t like updates🙂 There’s always some kind of problem or unwanted thingy that pops up afterwards and it’s usually impossible to change it back to how it once was. I would also refuse Maverick if it means 20 hours and frozen screen🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    When a hurricane is predicted, water and batteries fly off the shelves. I understand batteries, but the water amazes me. I think it has to do with the days of wells which were pumped by electricity, but few homes have wells now. Most, like mine, have town water. The same provisions hold true for a snow storm, but I always like to buy some fun stuff like popcorn as I just hunker down and watch old movies. It is only when the snow is heavy and wet are we in danger of losing power. If you remember, we did last year and my house got down to 37˚ before the electricity came back on.

    We are still enjoying the warmer days and cold nights. Last night was 38˚ by the time I went to bed.

    Apples and rosemary sound like a perfect pairing!

    Have a great day!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m with You, fun stuff is needed during all kind of storms🙂 We rarely lose power here so I bought a couple of dvd’s I can watch tonight. I’ve already watched Pich Black with Vin Diesel. Liked it a lot!

      After the last big storm here even town water were stopped for a short while where the storm hit as worst. But not for such long time that anybody needed to buy any water. I guess Your right though, it’s since the days when most people had wells of their own.

      Yes I remember how bad it got last winter for You, so I’m very glad I have my old fire heated stove🙂 I can lose power for ever without risking to be cold here🙂

      I’m waiting for that storm to arrive but it seems it won’t hit that hard here after all.

      I can’t say I felt any apple in that bread so I guess I’ll need at least two appled next time I try it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hahahahaha! I never thought you were a lazy sloth.
    I just thought you were lucky not to have that person screaming in your head to keep going and doing more!😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I think it’s both actually🙂 Especially when I have vacation🙂 If it’s no fun I can do it later instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

