Absolutely calm.

DSC_0013 (800x530)

The latest predictions says the storm won’t hit that hard here, it will be gale as worst. But then I got a text message from my insurance company that said we’ll get the worst strength hitting us tonight🙂🙂🙂 At the moment however it’s absolutely calm out there. I can see how the clouds fly fast above me but the trees don’t move at all and it’s absolutely quiet. Sort of eerie if the worst predictions will come true.

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

We rarely lose power here though so I bought three dvd’s that I can watch if I like to. But then again, I love to listen to the sound of a good storm. There’s a fire in the stove and I have a cup of tea by my side so even if the power would go I won’t be freezing and I can always cook dinner when I want to. That stove is the best thing in this little cottage of mine.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

I wish I could say that it was fog we saw in the back, it was rain and we got caught in it too :-)

I wish I could say that it was fog we saw in the back, it was rain and we got caught in it too🙂

DSC_0002 (800x529)

I drove to the hospital today not knowing what they were going to do but it turned out they just wanted to discuss the test results. They can’t find anything wrong with me🙂 Yes there are some lymph nodes that are swollen but he said that it’s barely they can see it so there was no use in picking out any. There was also an extremely rare tumor that could make my stomach behave like this but since I’ve had this for over twenty years they really should have found it with all those examinations I’ve been through. So the doctor think I have something called colon irritable, that means my intestines is easily irritated and will most likely continue to be that for the rest of my life. Now I’ll try something that will calm down my stomach that is called Lunelax for at least a month.

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (529x800)

There were very few cars on the road on my way home, everyone is prepared for the worst and probably left work early to be at home when it started. It’s better to be safe than sorry. The bread I baked turned out very good but I can’t say I felt any taste of the apple. Perhaps I should use two apples the next time. But I had it in the oven for almost two hours🙂 The oven was barely warm at all when I put the bread in it and it took some time until it reached the right temperature. I did think it would destroy the bread but I’m glad I was wrong🙂

DSC_0038 (800x529)

DSC_0057 (530x800)

DSC_0059 (800x530)

I can see my hedge outside the kitchen window is starting to move in the wind. I guess this is the storm beginning now.

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Absolutely calm.

  1. Jaså, du hade inte så blåsigt när du skrev det här inlägget. Men jag antar att stormen är över ert område nu…..:-(
    Här blåser och regnar det som bara 17, så gubben min tog min prommis. Han vågar inte släppa ut mig på vägen, men eftersom vi har så höga träd runt om oss så vågar man inte gå i skogen ikväll. Det skulle vara att utmana ödet!😦😦
    Förmodligen kommer vi inte heller att kunna titta på TV, vi har ju parabol som reagerar illa på regn och blåst, så jag får ägna mig åt datorn resten av kvällen. Men det ska väl gå…..*fniss*

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det är faktiskt fortfarande riktigt lugnt här. Den är visst försenad litegranna och den kommer inte alls att vara så stark här. Mestadels blir det kuling även i byarna.

      Ja att traska omkring i skogen när det blåser kraftigt är ju lite oklokt🙂 Inga problem med tv här, men å andra siden är det inget vettigt att se idag ändå🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. I’m glad the tests revealed nothing serious, that must be a weight off your mind, nothing better than a good storm, as long as no damage, your stove will serve you well, we miss our wood stove so much, It heated our home and cooked our food for 27 years, I miss it very much,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I haven’t thought that much about it to be honest but it is nice to know it isn’t anything serious.

      I love the sound of a good storm but the damages isn’t nice at all.

      My stove is just perfect🙂 I know I can live through anything as long as I have that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! so, do you not have to go back to the hospital? i hope the storm does not hit bad enough to cause damage. i love a good storm. we are getting so warm here again. we will be in the 70’s for a couple days which does not make me happy at all. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Not for this thing anyway. But I’ll go to the big hospital in Skövde tomorrow tp go through an MRI. They want to make sure those ion levels haven’t destroyed anything inm my body. They don’t think anything is wrong but want to be completely sure.

      The storm missed us totally🙂 The predictions was so wrong that it’s almost funny🙂 We won’t get any winter cold weather for quite some time they say and that makes me happy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    So good to hear that you don’t have anything that requires surgical interventions. Irritable Bowel Syndrome isn’t all that pleasant either but at least it doesn’t involve sedation and a scalpel unless it gets really bad.

    Nice shot of rain drops in the ditch. The colors of the plants around the ditch are very lovely.
    Was all of that fog really rain?

    There was a skim of ice on the birdbath water this morning. The basil and the tomatoes are well and truly dead. I took the green tomatoes off but I think they got a bit frozen overnight. They were a little soft in places. Ah, well, I don’t know what I would do with 6 small green tomatoes.
    The oregano and the mint carry on. If that mint survives, it is going to ruin my reputation as Death of Mint.🙂

    Enjoy the evening. Hope the wind was not too bad.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m glad too that I don’t need surgery, the more they open up the body the bigger the risk is that I’ll get some kind of nasty infection. I’ve lived with this for so long that it’s natural for me but it is tiresome.

      It was only rain in that photo. From now on I’ll show photos from the previous weekend since it’s dark when I go to work and dark when I come home again. The other photos showed fog🙂

      I guess those green tomatoes are destroyed but as You say, can’t do much with six small ones🙂 We won’t get any frost for quitre some time they predict and I’m hoping thet are right this time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I hope the storm doesn’t hit as hard as they are telling you. Keep warm and be careful. I was wondering what you found out at the doctors. Even though I take Nexium two times a day and don’t eat gluten my stomach is still irritated. I think it is just that way for some of us. I hope the new meds help . Good luck.

    • Hi Debby!

      It missed us totally🙂 The Danish, norwegian and Finnish weather forecasts showed we wouldn’t get hit but ours did and how wrong they were🙂🙂 I’m glad though, it created chaos where it did hit.

      Yes it is the way it is for some of us. It just doesn’t matter what we eat, we won’t get better anyway. But at least know I know there’s nothing more wrong with me🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I love a good storm too, as long as it is not too damaging.
    So it sounds like what they call in the US, IBS, irritable bowel syndrome. Pretty common, still it can be painful, troublesome. Good luck with meds to treat it.

    • Hi Robin!

      It’s too bad they usually create chaos where ever they go because I do love the sound from them.

      Yes that’s what I have but it was many years since I felt any pain though. Tiresome anyway but at least now I know there isn’t anything else wrong with me, they have checked my entire body by now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I may have missed a post..so am anxious to see if I missed anything and hoping there are photo’s of the storm outside.🙂 It rained today and tonight too..and I am SO pleased. Like you, I love a good storm..and there are never enough of them here in California..at least not in the South. I loved Oregon..it was cold, snow every year.
    At least here I can see in on the Mountain tops and it’s beautiful. You sound all cozy and so are we! This is MY time of year..for sure!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Sorry no photos from the storm because it missed us totally🙂

      The rain has been pouring down since yesterday and I guess it will continue to do so for a few days. We still need it so I won’t complain.
      I think I would love snowstorms too if I didn’t have to go out and showel it all away afterwards🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. So glad to hear the good news from the test results, Christer. Waiting is usually the hardest part and nice to know all is OK. I have read about the destruction caused by the storms in Europe and hope it will spare you any damage. This is the year anniversary of Hurricane Sandy here in the states, so the timing is oddly ironic. We are having very mild temperatures and no rain or wind for the foreseeable future.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’ve lived with this for so long so I’ve gotten used to it now🙂 But it is nice to know they can’t find anything bad in there.

      The strom missed us totally but created chaos where it did hit. I’m glad it missed us because it was a nasty one this time. I remember sandy very well, that one was truly nasty! Our storms are nothing comapred to that one.

      Warm and rainy over here and it will stay that way for some time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Glad the storm didn’t hit you like planned. But why does the insurance company text you? wow, that doesn’t happen here!
    So it’s IBS. sorry😦
    …. but glad it wasn’t something much worse.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m too🙂

      I guess they want to be sure the damages gets as small as possible. So by texting us they might remind us of something we must do before the stprm hits. Good thing though even if it wasn’t necessary this time.

      Well it could be worse, now at least I know what it is and I know that there’s nothing else I have to worry about since they have looked through my entire stomach by now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

