Meh is the word :-)

This is what the weather was mostly during the day of the big storm :-)

This is what the weather was mostly during the day of the big storm🙂

So here we all were prepared for the worst storm in years. Our biggest and oldest weather forecast business predicted it to hit hard towards this area. Strangely enough none of the other big ones, the Norwegian, Danish or Finnish predicted anything like that at all. Most of the day was quite pleasant, some rain showers every now and again but mostly calm and rather sunny. 

DSC_0002 (800x531)

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

We all thought the storm just was a bit delayed and I sat and waited until nine pm before I gave up and went to bed. I did wake up in the middle of the night though and could hear the wind in the trees. Ok it’s here was the only thing I was thinking before I fell asleep again. When I opened the door in the morning to let my dogs out I had expected some wind but no, nothing.

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

So I sent a text message to a work friend that lives on the plains but it didn’t blow especially hard there either so I had no choice but to go to work🙂 It turns out it had missed us totally, not even the gusts were especially hard and to be honest, the winds on my way home were much harder than they were this morning🙂

Now You may wonder, Why on earth a photo like this?

Now You may wonder, Why on earth a photo like this? Because there’s a bird in there we rarely see anytime but during winter.

It's a male Bullfinch. One of my favorite birds.

It’s a male Bullfinch. One of my favorite birds.

Bertil isn't a bird hunter so he didn't care. Teodor however is a bit too good bird hunter.

Bertil isn’t a bird hunter so he didn’t care. Teodor however is a bit too good bird hunter.

I’m not complaining though, the storm created chaos where it did hit and lots of people have no electricity now. I don’t think anyone died here in Sweden though but I know some did in southern Britain and in Denmark. I can only hope we learned our lesson the last time we had a big storm when 17 people lost their lives but to be honest I think we only were lucky this time. People always go out into storms and usually in places where they can be hit by flying objects or falling trees.

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

So the storm was a Meh but the rain showers we’ve gotten so far aren’t🙂 It has been pouring down most of the day and I guess that’s a good thing since many wells still are dried out. It’s time for something to eat and a pot of tea.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Meh is the word :-)

    • Hi Robin!

      It is strange and some even got angry because the predictions were wrong🙂 I don’t think anyone wanted the storm to arrive, instead I think lots of people took a day or two off from work because of this and then it never happened. Two days they could have used when they really needed it. But I think it was better that they warned us before even if it never arrived.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. better for the weather report to wrong in this instance, saved you some damage maybe, I have never heard of this bifrd before but its a lovely color, I did hear on the news about the deaths from the storm, so sad, the Tim Horton’s coffee art is amazing. In our small town there are five Tim Horton coffee shops, I think they put something addictive in the coffee, to keep people coming back, their pastries and baked goods are really yummy though, super fresh everyday, coffee is good as well, my husband is quite addited to it, not me though, I like to brew my own,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes it was better to do that, all hell would have broken out if it had been the other way round.

      We love our Bullfinches🙂 It’s often printed on our Christmas cards. Back in the days they used to have them in cages because they can learn to sign much like Canary birds. That’s forbidden nowdays thankfully.

      I’ve never heard of Tim Horton’s coffee before, not even Starbucks are big here. I think we have three or four s´Starbucks in the entire country but I’m not surprised because that coffee is insanely expensive🙂 We still don’t have many chains like that here, mostly they own one or two cafe’s as most. My favorite caf’e is placed in my old home town and theiur coffee is delicious🙂 It’s a good thing it’s so far away because I would like to go there every day and I wouldn’t only buy a coffee I’m afraid🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. why can’t they get these things right? maybe it is good you didn’t get it but i hate it when they are wrong which they seem to be most of the time.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I always get the feeling their predictions were better before they got all these giant computers🙂 It sure hasn’t help getting them anyway🙂

      I think it was a good thing we missed this one but still I agree.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Well, that’s looks like just the sort of storm one would wish to have. All hype and no wind (except for the hot air variety).🙂

    There must be something about red birds in winter. We put cardinals on our Christmas cards over here. They are bright red all over. You would think that would make them easy to see but not so. Usually I hear one before I see it. It’s amazing how well bright red blends into shades of grey and brown wood.

    Today was cold and mostly cloudy. I guess it will get warmer as the week goes on. That will be good for the trick or treaters on Halloween. I always hated going trick or treating with a heavy coat over my costume. How can one be a scary witch when the robes are hidden by an overcoat.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess the newspapers loved this one, they must have sold loads more with newspapers these few days🙂

      Red is the big Christmas color all over the world it seems so I guess it fits well with a red bird🙂 It shows so well together with white snow too🙂 But before the snow they are impossible to see. I only saw this one since five or six flew straight into those busjes when I looked at it🙂

      Today is rather warm and nice. I could feel the wind blowing while driving to the hospital, The first thing I do when going in there is to meet a work friend🙂🙂🙂

      No use in having a good costume if it is covered by a jacket🙂 We were dressed so thickly when we went out dressed up as witches (yes boys too since we never had heard about wizards being burnt back then, now days Harry Potter has changed that totally) during easter that no extra cover was needed🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Well…so..I think I should be happy that there was no terrible storm. I wasn’t thinking a “killer” storm, just some winds and lots of rain..even snow? I am glad it miss you if it was that bad! It was lovely here today with passing clouds and a breeze every now and then. It stayed cool enough for PH to stay indoors to do his Saduko game. We sold our New England home a couple of days ago..all 62 acres and the home…and I am sad about it. We just could not take care of it from 3000 miles away and his brother is 83 now..so we had no choice. All those lovely wooded acres right on the ocean…the woods I thought I would one day get to wander through. I guess I was dreaming!🙂 So..I will continue to enjoy your lovely woods and little cottage! I loved dreaming of a little cottage there and to sit on the steps like you do..and take walks in the woods! Not in this lifetime, but I can still dream. 🙂

    Bertil has bigger fish to fry than birds!🙂
    Enjoy all that nice rain and beautiful weather.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      No snow and I am happy it missed us. Thousands of homes are still without power after this one where it hit as worst.

      To bad You had to sell it but I do understand! I sure hope the one that bought it will enjoy it to the fullest and not cut down too many trees. I do hope I can stay here to the bitter end or until I feel myself I need to move to a little town or small city. I doubt that will happen though, feel that I need to move to a town or city I mean🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    It’s the same here with people going out in hurricanes to feel the wind. I always think them a bit crazy though I have gone out in the eye when all is calm. I am glad the storm missed you.

    We will have warm weather this week, up to the 60’s by tomorrow. I just hope we get a bit of the sun you had.

    Sorry about your having to work. I know the feeling. When I was a little kid, the first snowflakes made me wish for a snow day. I was always disappointed when there was school.

    Have a wonderful day!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I must confess that I’ve been out there too but that was when I lived by the ocean. I never went close to the waves and nothing could hit me in the head since there was only water where the storm came from🙂

      This week has been rather good though, two days at hospitals for MRI and test results, one day at the neighbor factory so I actually thought it was Tuesday today🙂

      Warm and rainy here for quite some time more and it’s better than cold and icy roads🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

