I have lots and lots of lightchains now :-)

The MRI went by so fast that I had plenty of time left yesterday (I took the day off from work). So all photographs are from yesterday.

The MRI went by so fast that I had plenty of time left yesterday (I took the day off from work). So all photographs are from yesterday.

Yesterday I went to the big hospital in Skövde to go through an MRI. They want to see if those high ion levels have given me any problems which I understand they can do and bad ones as well. All in all it was a rather nice experience but I guess that if one is claustrophobic this must be the closest on can come to hell while being alive🙂 One is pushed in to the machine and it is a bit tight and it’s not a good thing to be too broad-shouldered and I have to say I must be because my shoulders were placed tightly towards the wall of this thing🙂

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

I thought these mushrooms were False Chantrelles at first but now I'm not so sure. False Chantrelles look much like the real ones but doesn't taste a thing, not toxic though thankfully because lots of people picks them :-)

I thought these mushrooms were False Chanterelles at first but now I’m not so sure. False Chanterelles look much like the real ones but doesn’t taste a thing, not toxic though thankfully because lots of people picks them🙂

The machine maces quite a lot of noise so I had earplugs and over them I had ear cups where I could hear calm songs as the radio channel is called. I have to admit that I fell sleep a big part of the time🙂 A fun thing is that the magnetic waves creates a heat that in the beginning is quite nice but in the end it felt like I was in a sauna🙂

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

I went to my favorite super market that is located in Skövde, yes one can have favorite super markets🙂 They have everything and I was just going to buy some cheese, ham, dog treats and milk. But I walked straight in to the light department and came to think about my light chains I’ll put up before December first. The odd thing with the ones I have is that the first chain burns on and off but the second one connected to the first one always burns?!

DSC_0026 (530x800)

The wild hogs seems to love this place. I wonder what it is they search after.

The wild hogs seems to love this place. I wonder what it is they search after. More and more ground is checked by them now.

I've never seen the water level this high before.

I’ve never seen the water level this high before.

So I thought I would buy another from the same brand but of course the ones they had couldn’t be connected to another chain, very odd! So I bought the super markets own brand (which turns out to be the same I already have but I think these can’t be connected to the ones I already have. Must check that this weekend. So now I have 19 meters (much the same in yards) with new light chains and just as much of the old one🙂🙂🙂 Plus I have that hideous one that is supposed to look as it is covered with spruce twigs🙂🙂 So now I’ll try to connect the hideous one with the one of the old ones that works all the time so I finally have light chains along the entire garage and not as it has been so far, half of it🙂

DSC_0032 (800x530)

DSC_0033 (800x530)

DSC_0034 (800x530)

It’s time to make that pot of tea again and tonight I’ll have some Småländsk cheesecake with french jam. Well the recipe is french but I think it’s made here in Sweden. No sugar added instead they have put in concentrated fruit juice which to be honest is much the same as sugar with a flavor🙂

DSC_0042 (800x530)

DSC_0045 (800x530)

DSC_0046 (800x531)

Nova scrapes away some skin on her nose and around the eyes every time she digs her way in to the garage :-) If this continues she will be totally bald soon :-)

Nova scrapes away some skin on her nose and around the eyes every time she digs her way in to the garage🙂 If this continues she will be totally bald soon🙂

Have a great day!

It's the season to allow Nova to be off leash too sometimes now.

It’s the season to allow Nova to be off leash too sometimes now.

16 thoughts on “I have lots and lots of lightchains now :-)

  1. Glad the storm wasn’t an event where you are. Here in the US we call them strings of lights and your problem with some on and some off and some onandoff all at the same time is one we all face. Who will ever understand the mystery of the lights. Now we have the LED lights which supposedly never burn out. but they burn very brightly and I don’t quite like them as much as I liked the softer lights that were less reliable. I continue to love your blog and find your postings a peaceful place to go in this crazy world.

    • Hi thehedgehogquilter!

      I only have the LED lights but I like that light, I think the old ones have a glass around them that makes the light less bright. Don’t know about the new ones though. It’s so annoying when they behave like that🙂 I was about to pick them down last winter when they suddenly started to shine, just to stop again a few days later🙂 I’ll never understand these mysteries🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Do you have a new dog? I am glad you did okay with the MRI. The last time I was in the hospital, the doctor wanted to do an MRI and I could not stand being so enclosed. I had had one before and it was not so bad but I guess the older I get, the less I like tight, enclosed places. Some of the hospitals in my area have open MRI machines but not the hospital where I was admitted – strange since it is a major trauma center. Do you think you have enough lightchains now? (Funny). How are you enjoying the new camera? I got a Sony that is a step up from a point and shoot and I cannot believe how complicated it is. I am about ready to take it back and get a better entry level one. It is harder to learn than my Canon film SLR. I really want a Canon D-SLR and am saving for that. That cheesecake sounds wonderful. Can you pass some through the computer please? I love cheesecake but wish it were not so calorie laden. I wonder if you would send me your mailing address, privately? I would like to send a little token from my area for Christmas to thank you for all the enjoyment I get from your blog and your photos.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      Sune is the latest one to join my pack🙂 But he came over a year ago🙂

      I didn’t mind it at all but then again I went in feet first so my head was never inside the machine. But I have always loved small spaces so I guess that helps.

      I might need more light chains🙂🙂 in case I want to cover the entire apple tree with them🙂

      I really like my camera, actually I like them all very much. I have two Nikon D70 and D5100 and a Fujifilm point and shoot. I was surprised over how good the point and shoot is.

      To bad that the Sony is so complicated! Sometimes they want to cram in so much things and gadgets in them that they forget that the important thing is to make them easy to use. I prefer Nikon before Canon but that’s only because I like how the Nikon feels when holding it better than I liked to hold the Canon🙂 All cameras in the same price range is equally good to be honest so I went for the feeling🙂🙂

      There’s nothing like cheese cake🙂

      I’ll mail You just after this but I won’t publish the post where You’ve written Your e-mail address.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. from a distance your dogs look like our black bears, I’m glad the MRI went well, it is close quarters for sure, I had one last year, I kept my eyes shut, I was fine, i have heard of people having anxiety attacks though, the cheese cake sounds lovely,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I often call Orvar my big bear🙂 We only have the Brown bear over here.

      I liked it rather much and I slept very well during most of it🙂

      It’s never wrong to have some cheese cake🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Light strings can be a vexation. At least they don’t make the ones where the entire string goes out if one bulb burns out. I remember my father having to remove each bulb on a dead string one by one and replace it with a good one until he found the dead one. Once that one was replaced with the good bulb, the whole string would work again.
    I prefer the strings where the bulbs twinkle randomly from each other. They are hard to find. Most of them have the bulbs twinkle in rhythm with each other. Very boring.

    I love my Sony A57 and don’t find it very complicated. I like my Panasonic Lumix point and shoot, too.

    Good news about the MRI results.
    I’ve only been in an MRI thing once for my knee. It was funny though. They let me keep my regular cloths on because it was only a knee. I was lying there being pulled farther and farther in and I was thinking my hips were not going to fit through the opening and if I went any farther in, I was going to get stuck. There was a warm feeling in my left hip but I thought it was part of the process. Later on, I put my hand in my left pocket and discovered two coins. The energy from the MRI had caused them to heat up and that was the warmth that I felt. Good thing it didn’t suck me in all the way as I might have burst into flames.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It would have been cool to find that kind of string for outdoors use. The one I had for my tiny spruce works that way, too bad I don’t have any tiny spruce this winter. I’m thinking of buying myself a rather big cypress this year. I’ll plant it in the garden next spring but I doubt it will make it through a winter here.

      My mothers parents had one of those strings where all bulbs went out if one broke🙂 My grandfather went ce´razy every Christmas🙂 My mother however mad sure to get the kind where only the broken one went out, I think it must have been one of the earlist of that kind to be sold and probably rather expensive but she just coudn’t bare the thought of going through that routine every year🙂🙂🙂

      I have no results yet from the MRI, they said it would come within a week. I wonder what they will do if I show signs of problems in there, I really don’t want to go through another hip surgery again. Not that it was especially difficult after but still, it wasn’t so funny after all🙂

      You were lucky🙂 You could have gotten two scars looking like coins🙂🙂 I think it was warm enough without any coins🙂 Strange that they don’t get any warning because those coins must have disturbed the machine at least some. I was allowed to wear my underwear and socks and got a kind of t-shirt from them to wear. The same kind I had during colonoscopy but the right size this time🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Oh, I misread and thought you had already gotten the results. Well, I hope they are well within the acceptable levels of risk and they won’t have to do anything to you except monitor.

        I was only having my knee scanned so I didn’t have to go too far in to get my knee in the center of the tube. I’m assuming the side effect of the superconducting magnets was strong enough to excite the atoms in the coins. They got quite warm but not actually hot enough to ignite my jean pocket.
        I guess it’s a lot like being in the microwave.🙂

      • I was thinking just that, this is how it must feel to be in a micro wave🙂🙂🙂

        I hope You’re right, I really don’t feel for another surgery for quite some time, in fact I would be happy if I didn’t have to come close to any hospital at all🙂

        Christer.

  5. when do you get the results of the mri? glad it is over with! can’t wait to see how you decorate with your lights. i was working on your xmas present today. i am packing it differently this year hoping that it arrives better than in the past! just as tick or treating started this evening, the heavens opened and the rain poured. i had made over 120 treat bags and we ran out before trick and treating was over. tons and tons of kids!

    • Hi Joyce!

      They said the results should be ready within a week, so I guess I’ll get a letter next week or so.

      I guess mt light chain decoration will be just as sad like before🙂 I do have a plan but I will most likely not be able to get it right🙂🙂

      Was there a baby boom a few years ago? because I’ve read in many places that there have been lots more kids trick or treating this and last year. I like traditioons like that🙂 but isn’t it typical that the rain will start fallinbg on a day like that!

      I’m soo loking forward to that package🙂🙂 Lets hope our postal services are more careful this year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Joyce asked my question. I’ve had one but I don’t recall any heat. I didn’t like being enclosed like that so they let my daughter stay in the room with me (my daughter that passed away in February) ..and I could see her in the little mirror they had inside the tube. It was comforting to me. I am glad it’s over with for you. I know you will be alright..:)
    They just have to check things out. No Halloween in Sweden? 🙂
    Your woods are really spooky looking..
    Wild hogs? Can’t they be dangerous? I have heard they are.
    There was a big piece in the paper today about wild hog here where I live. Seems they have taken over the riverbed near by and now made their way into public places and have done some serious and expensive damage. Not sure how as the paper didn’t say.
    Take care and have a nice weekend, Christer. Those dogs are gorgeous, by the way!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I guess I’ll get a letter next week some time.

      It was so warm and very nice in the beginning but later a bit too warm, except for my feet, they were cold the entire time🙂 I like small spaces and have always done so so I slept a big part of it🙂

      Well Halloween is getting bigger here too but still it’s a tiny holiday comapred to the more traditional. But I guess it only will take a few more years until most people have fun that day, if they only can agree on one day🙂

      Yes wild hogs can be dangerous but they have a very good hearing so it’s hard to even get a glimpse of them. But come between a sow and her piglets or disturb a bore and all hell will brake loose🙂 Those famgs can chew through metal🙂 But they can also accept humans and walk around in smaller towns during the day, it seems as if they understand they can’t be shot there. Lots of gardens have been destroyed by them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. 5 and 6 my fav photos today.
    Nova looks like a baby in that photo. so cute!
    I would freak out and be unable to breathe in that thing!
    omg! my worst nightmare. glad you were able to stand it though.
    when will you get the results back?

    • Hi Cindi!

      Number five is mine too🙂

      I rather liked it🙂 I’ll get the results next week I think, they said within a week and then I guess it’ll take some time until a letter comes to me via mail.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

