The sound of horror :-)

DSC_0003 (800x530)

Yesterday when I came home from work I heard this terrifying scream from what I thought was Sune. I could hear the anxiety in his voice already before I went out of my car. I don’t know why but I got the feeling that he wasn’t hurt or in any danger but still I walked around my garage to the dog yard to see what had happened. I couldn’t see him but hear him very well, beneath the garage🙂

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x533)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

So I went in there through the wood shed that has a door to the dog yard as well and while doing that I could look in to the garage through an old window I have there. I wasn’t too surprised when I saw both him and Nova running around like crazy in there🙂 It turns out that he could get in there without any problems, he just couldn’t go back again🙂🙂🙂 because I have placed an old and rather big lilac trunk close to the wall to make it a bit harder for Nova to dig her way in there🙂

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

DSC_0022 (800x529)

They were both in the garage when I came home today too but this time he had realised that I wouldn’t leave him there to starve to death🙂 My garage however isn’t the best place for two energetic dogs to spend their day so I need to find a way to stop Nova from digging her way in there. Still it’s better she digs that way than any other so that she might get out to take walks of her own while I’m at work🙂

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0030 (800x530)

We’ve had very mixed weather here today, mostly heavy showers interrupted by a few seconds of sunshine and then just cloudy for a while. We were lucky to have almost sunshine when I came home from work but we didn’t go out until I had showered Hector, Orvar and Sune with the garden hose, they were quite dirty while being outside during the showers, I just can’t understand why they don’t go inside in this weather.

DSC_0032 (800x531)

DSC_0033 (800x531)

DSC_0034 (800x530)

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat, I’m not sure if I should make some tasty sandwiches or have a bowl with yoghurt, mixed fruit (I’ve bought a pine-apple, tamarillos, persimmons and fresh ginger. It’s amazing how different fresh ginger is compared to the dried one. I’ll naturally have a sliced apple in it too and cinnamon🙂

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0032 (800x530)

DSC_0035 (800x533)

Have a great day!

DSC_0049 (800x530)

10 thoughts on “The sound of horror :-)

  1. hi christer! i wonder why he wants in the garage so badly? our storms moved through and now it is sunny and very windy. i had tons of leaves in the gardens this morning but my yard guys came and blew them away. more are falling now. i can’t believe it is november. the summer just drags by and fall flies away too soon. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wonder too🙂 But I think she hunts mice and voles in there, it looks like she’d doing that because it’s a mess in there now🙂 Sune just follows her I guess but he is rather good in hunting them too.

      Most leafs are already on the ground now and since most of them are small I just let them stay where they are. Worms will have a feast on them this autumn and winter.

      October passed so fast! Unfortunately November rarely does though. November is the most boring month of the year, we have no holidays or anything to look forward to here. December is much funnier with all hollidays🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I have come home to that sound too. It is truly scary. My boy had gotten himself on my (very high) bed and could not get done. I was afraid he was half hanging out the screen window, the sound was so bad. Since he had used the chair next to the bed as his springboard to get on the bed, I don’t know why he could not do the reverse action to get off, but he could or would not. Mom came home and saved the day.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      It’s easy to fear the worst but Sune sounded so loud so I thought it was a bit too dramatic🙂

      I think Your dog realised how high up he was, something that’s hard to see from the floor🙂 I guess dogs are like us, if panic comes the brain shuts down🙂 That chair was nothing he remembered when it was time to go down again and he saw how high up he was. But he could have gotten stuck in worse places, I think my dogs would have kept om sleeping until I pushed them down🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. That would have scared me so much, to hear that because I always fear the worst.
    Could you line in it on the inside with concrete pavers and then on the inside of the garage and also the outside of the dog yard area, line that with concrete cinder blocks?
    That is what works for my dogs!
    Good Luck!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I thought he got stuck as worst since there actually is nothing there that can injure him but then again doga can manage to injure themselves where it is impossible🙂

      I think it might be better to dig down a net, the kind one finds in fences. I must dig down rather deep so they give up before they reach the edge of it. Concrete blocks are just too easy to dig around🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I love that photo of Sune with his ears standing straight up like a hare!
    Silly dogs have to be were they are not allowed….that is just the way it is!
    Very windy here, leaves flying wildly around. But 66 degrees!!! Very mild and very strange!

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes he does look like a hare🙂

      By the look of my garage now days it seems they have lots of fun in there🙂🙂 and I must admit that there are much less signs of mice too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    The only time I heard that shrieking noise from Rocky was when I first got him. He had gotten himself stuck in something and, without thinking, I reached down and grabbed him by the scruff of the neck to haul him out.
    I had learned to do that with my terrier because when I needed to grab her, I generally only had a scruff or a tail or a leg to grab her by. In true terrier fashion, she didn’t give a damn but the screaming that came out of little Rocky when I did that was so loud and startled me so much that I almost dropped him.

    Good luck keeping Nova out of the garage. She seems determined to be in there. Sune, too. Mesh dug down a couple of feet might do it. Or you could try laying chain link fencing on the ground alongside the garage wall. Dogs don’t generally like to walk on that or dig along the edges of it.

    The weather was warm, wet and windy today. It’s almost 11PM and the temperature is 61ºF. It’s supposed to be almost as warm tomorrow but then it will be down in the 40’s for the high temperature on Sunday. Crazy weather.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve heard that sound before too in much the same way that You heard Rocky, It was old Erna getting stuck too when she was a puppy. I thought I had injured her butit seems she just got very scared because she had obviously net heard me before I grabbed her🙂

      Well Nova is half terrier so I think I need more than good luck in this case🙂🙂🙂 She can be the best, most obedient dog in the world but as soon as she get something in to her head she is slightly impossible🙂🙂🙂 She really wants to get in there so she digs no matter what, hares must be killed and so on🙂🙂

      Warm and rainy here and we’re all hoping for a winter much like the one we had last year. It would be normal if we got a mild winter now too, we normally have one or two cold ones and then several mild ones come after that, I’m hoping we’ll get at least ten mild ones before it gets really cold again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

