I’ve ordered some books.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

They say we had heavy thunder all around this county yesterday and I missed it🙂 I didn’t miss the rain though and yes we still need more but I’m tired of it now. I want those amazing sunny and warm autumn days we so rarely see here. But at least it isn’t raining today, cloudy yes but no rain and if I understand things right it won’t rain again until tomorrow.

The sun should have been up when we went out on our walk this morning butbthe clouds were so thick it still looked like it was night time.

The sun should have been up when we went out on our walk this morning butbthe clouds were so thick it still looked like it was night time.

We went down to the creek because I wanted to see how high the water level is now.

We went down to the creek because I wanted to see how high the water level is now.

Old roads long forgotten leads in to either the forest or the bog. Before they thinned out the forest here this road sort of screamed out that meetings with trolls and gnomes were highly possible :-)

Old roads long forgotten leads in to either the forest or the bog. Before they thinned out the forest here this road sort of screamed out that meetings with trolls and gnomes were highly possible🙂

I’m out of good books now, well that might be a bit of a lie because I have lots of books I haven’t read yet but they are mostly crime novels and I’m not in the mood for that at the moment. So I went to an online book store yesterday and ordered three books, one I’ve read about and two in the spur of the moment. The one I wanted is a book about Swedish Folklore, about all those mythical beings we have out there. I’ve read som from it and got a bit surprised about the werewolves. 

DSC_0016 (800x530)

The water level is even higher than before now.

The water level is even higher than before now. This little ditch is usually never filled at all.

DSC_0018 (800x530)

Now days our old beliefs usually get mixed up with mostly the American ones, like Santa. Our Santa is called the Yule Gnome and he has no reindeer even if most kids here now believes that. Our Yule Gnome had a carriage pulled by either one or two goats or a horse and that is something people of today don’t know. But then again most of our old beliefs comes from mostly Germany so they aren’t ours from the beginning either🙂 I’ll tell You more about what we used to believe (or perhaps most of us actually still do?) when I’ve read the book and closer to Yule when most of those beings is said to be out there wandering the countryside. But I sure was surprised about what I read about werewolves!

DSC_0022 (800x530)

It won't be long until it's totally covered.

It won’t be long until it’s totally covered.

DSC_0026 (800x530)

I also bought a book called A street cat called Bob and Amazing Gracie. I understand Gracie is quite famous in the USA, she’s a deaf Great Dane and she and her owners have been guests at the Oprah Winfrey show. But I’ll tell You more about those books as soon as I’ve read them. They will arrive late next week it said if they get that first book because it could still only be ordered.

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0030 (800x530)

They have finally removed those electric fences :-) It's impossible to walk there anyway since the cattle have destroyed the road. Now it's mud instead.

They have finally removed those electric fences🙂 It’s impossible to walk there anyway since the cattle have destroyed the road. Now it’s mud instead.

I’m baking a bread right now. I never follow any recipes but do it by the hip as we say over here🙂 Today I used half the amount of water that I normally do and replaced the other half with quark instead. The bread usually turns out so much better if one does that, more tasty and juicy. Sometimes I do the same but with cottage cheese instead of quark and then it’s more like I’ve added cheese which I also do sometimes🙂 Like always I had some rosemary in it but today I also added lots of oregano. I hope it tastes as good as it smells🙂

DSC_0037 (800x531)

DSC_0038 (800x531)

DSC_0039 (800x529)

As soon as I’ve placed it in my fire heated stove I’ll make a pot of tea, there’s nothing as tasty as the first warm slice of a newly baked bread with some strong cheese on it🙂

DSC_0047 (800x530)

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “I’ve ordered some books.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Inquiring minds really want to know about the Swedish werewolves because it’s a lot closer to the season of w
    Werewolves than it is to the season Yule Gnomes.🙂
    Actually, in the past twenty years or so the Yule Gnome has been showing up a lot over here. With his cart and his goats and/or his horse. He joins the queue of other Yuletide images like Coca Cola-drinking polar bears and reindeer and elves. Even the traditionally dressed Father Christmas shows up. Gandalf the White looks a lot like Father Christmas.🙂

    Do you think Bertil will be even more peeved when the wooden bridge goes underwater?

    I am the same with books. I have plenty of books that I have not read yet but they never seem to be what I want to read when I’ve “run out of books”.
    Good thing I have a Kindle and can have instant book gratification.
    Not good for my wallet though.

    It’s sunny and warm again today. The Boston Red Sox have their victory Duck Boat Parade this morning. They ride in the Duck boats around the city and then into the Charles River so warm and calm is a good thing.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Well I thought since December is the month where most of these beings are out wandering the grounds even werewolves sort of are Christmas bound🙂 But I won’t say anything more about them until I’ve read that book, so You’ll have to wait a week or so🙂

      Fun that our gnome is shown on the other side of the ocean too but I have to admit that I’ve never seen a Coca Cola drinking polar bear🙂 Must find that on the net after this🙂 And yes, he does look much like Gandalf🙂🙂🙂

      Bertil loves to walk over that wooden bridge so I guess that he at least won’t be happy when the water rises above it🙂

      Yes, some books just don’t fit the mood. I have a French crime novel called The Mystery at Père Lachaise but I’m just not in the mood for that.

      I wish I could have seen the Sox victory Duck Boat Parade! Good thing the weather is good then🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. You mention the werewolves twice, about the surprise you had, and then, you don’t tell us anything. Believe me, werewolves are hardly Yule-related. Please impart information. Thank you!
    I like the way you experiment with bread, I am too nervous to do that, as it most likely would fail.
    Enjoy the weekend.

    • Hi Robin!

      You’ll have to see it as a teaser🙂 I won’t say anything more until I’ve read all about them🙂🙂
      Well since most of these beings are out in December and most dangerous around that time too (with the exeption of Midsummers night of course) I think even werewolves can be seen as Yule related🙂🙂🙂 After all, our biggest Yule symbols are goats and pigs so why not a werewolf too🙂

      I half failed with this bread, it tastes delicious but I had too little flour in it so it’s very flat but very wide🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Now you have my curiosity sparked. I can hardly wait to hear about the werewolves! Hope the books are good. I have not heard of Amazing Gracie but will definitely look into it. Have you read the Lee Child Jack Reacher books? Definitely not my kind of book, usually, but I have really enjoyed them, also the mysteries by Tess Gerritsen, less graphic than Patricia Cornwell, more real than Robin Cook. You have me thinking about baking bread and the wonderful aroma it creates but I cannot find a good recipe for a whole grain bread. What is quark? I know of it only as a Physics term.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      I’m pretty sure I’ll love the one with our folk lore and I’ve always liked stories about the interaction between animals and dogs. Doris Lessing has written a few books about her cats for instance and they are great!

      I haven’t read anything from either Reacher or Gerritsen I’m afraid. I don’t think I’ve read anything from Cornwell or Cook either even if I do recognize the name Cook.

      The bread tastes delicious but I had too little flour in it so it’s very flat but very wide🙂🙂

      I’m not talking about the elementary particle🙂 Quark is a dairy product made from heating up sour milk. I love the falvored as a snack and the unflavored one in food. Cottage cheese is much the same but made from milk. Very different but still the same so to speak🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Nothing is better than the smell of fresh bread baking. There used to be a bakery in the town square and when they baked bread, the whole square smelled so wonderful.

    We have your rain. It has rained on and off for two days and been very windy.

    Boston has sun. I’m watching what is called the rolling rally. The Red Sox are riding duck boats in a parade to celebrate their championship. (They are called duck boats because they also go in the water.) It is amazing.

    Enjoy your bread and tea!

    • Hi Kat!

      When I lived in Gothenburg I passed several bakeries on my way to work and I loved to bike through those places🙂 One place was specialized on Almond cake and that was as close to heaven I could come🙂🙂

      So that’s where the rai went🙂 It will be back tomorrow though and I hope it can wait until we have had our morning walk.

      I wish I could have seen the Sox victory parade and the duck boats🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi lolasanrose and welcome to my blog🙂

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Most people that visit me here comes via Octoberfarm🙂

      My day was pretty nice🙂
      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i like adding fat to bread, it makes it so much better! what kind of cheese do you use? i love strong tasting cheeses. we went to amish country today and went to a cheese store and bought so many cheeses. we eat all kinds of cheese in this house! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes fat does bring out all those tastes so good! Quark does the same so it’s no use to buy the low fat one🙂

      Today I have one called Berlin. I always get the feeling it actually has another name but changed it to Berlin when they sort of failed with it, not the taste because it tastes realy good,but with the texture. It breaks so easily that in the end I just place tiny bits all over the sandwich🙂 This is a cheese home too, there’s not a day here without using cheese in one or the other way🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I’m screaming right now.
    at myself actually.
    I meant to send you a surprise Xmas gift last year and then time slipped away.😦
    yep it was “Amazing Gracie” you will love the book and you probably won’t cry like I did but it’s great.
    sorry that I didn’t get it sent.😦

    • Hi Cindi!
      🙂🙂🙂
      It wasn’t meant to be🙂
      Yes I think I’ll like the book a lot and I rarely cry when reading books🙂 Movies is a totally different thing though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • well, the fact that it’s about a deaf white great dane didn’t help.
        That just hit to close to home as they say!
        I cried so hard that my throat hurt but it’s because I was thinking of my Blue.

Leave a Reply

