Not the most inspiring weather.

The fog rolled in yesterday evening, too bad it didn't stay.

The fog rolled in yesterday evening, too bad it didn’t stay.

The weather is so boring right now that the hunters gave up and drove home again🙂 They let the hunting dog out just as we came home from our morning walk and so far I’ve heard nothing. These hunters aren’t the most persistent of people🙂 I know hunters that would stay out all day just in case the dog actually would find a moose or deer to follow. These come late and give up easily if the weather is like it is today, windy and rainy.

DSC_0035 (800x530)

DSC_0041 (800x530)

DSC_0042 (800x530)

But it was just windy when we went out for our walk and for a second or so we almost saw the sun shine through the thick clouds. I had hoped for a foggy morning since it rolled in over the fields yesterday evening. The temperature fell down to 0C (32F) before I went to bed so if the warm wind hadn’t started to blow this morning would have looked fantastic, fog and frost beats most things when being out on a walk.

DSC_0046 (800x530)

DSC_0048 (800x530)

DSC_0049 (800x529)

Since the weather is like it is and there’s nothing good on tv until around 1pm (the new season of Downton Abbey started yesterday but I watched the Starwars mania on channel six instead so I’ll see the rerun later today) I started doing the laundry instead. My washing machine is broken since long and I just don’t get my thumbs out of my a.. (Swedish saying) to buy a new one, so I do it by hand🙂 but now it’s done and it’s all drying at the moment. Well the things I hang outside won’t dry much in this rain but I just see that as an extra rinsing🙂 I’ll bring it in as soon as I get some space in my bathroom and some will hang close to the stove.

DSC_0051 (800x530)

DSC_0055 (800x532)

DSC_0057 (800x530)

I’ve filled the bird feeders and I noticed I need a new one because the birds have hacked down a wall in one of them so the seeds just fall out as soon as the feeder starts to swing in the wind🙂 I saw some really nice last time I was at the super market so I’ll buy one next time I’ll go there. I could of course do one myself but You all know that when I decide to do something it usually is a five-year project🙂 No one can blame me for rushing through things🙂🙂

DSC_0059 (800x530)

DSC_0063 (800x529)

DSC_0067 (800x530)

So now I’ll make a pot of tea and after that I think I’ll take a nap. The weather isn’t inspiring me to do much else🙂

No one's lived here for over two years now and the place is slowly falling appart. I know they're going to sell it but now I think it's too late. It would probably cost just as much to repåaire it as to build a new house.

No one’s lived here for over two years now and the place is slowly falling appart. I know they’re going to sell it but now I think it’s too late. It would probably cost just as much to repåaire it as to build a new house.

They loved statues there anyway, not my taste to be honest.

They loved statues there anyway, not my taste to be honest.

DSC_0072 (800x531)

Have a great day!

Bertil sure loves his dogs :-)

Bertil sure loves his dogs🙂

14 thoughts on “Not the most inspiring weather.

  1. Hi Christer,
    It’s an American saying, too.🙂

    Nowadays it’s not necessary for most hunters to have to hunt for food. It’s supposed to be an enjoyable sport. Slogging around the forest in the cold and rain is not enjoyable. Only the dog is having fun with that. I don’t blame the hunters for giving up and going back to the clubhouse for a bevvie by the fire.
    Besides, if they give up that easily, it’s better for the wildlife and people that want to walk around in the forest and just watch the wildlife.

    As the statues sit out in the weather unattended for long periods of time they acquire a lovely patina that makes them more attractive. I think the lions aren’t quite “done” yet. They look a little too clean.

    Nice shot of the skein of geese. A large skein of maybe 40 flew over my house yesterday. They were heading south. Of course, my camera was back inside because why would I take it with me just to let the dog out to pee? I never learn.🙂

    It’s really different weather today from yesterday. Yesterday was sunny and warm. Today is grey and cold and damp. The temperature was in the upper 60’s F yesterday. Today it’s only getting to the low 40’s F. It’s November and I should not expect upper 60’s F here but I’m spoiled.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      🙂 I guess even if any place don’t have that saying everyone still knows what it means🙂

      They all went home though but I guess they stopped by the caravan as they use as a hunting lodge to complain about the weather🙂 But I’m glad to be able to say that these at least always eat what they shoot. Perhaps not a beaver if that would happen, I’ve heard they taste awful🙂 As You say, it’s much better for me so I can walk out there without having to worry about being the target🙂🙂

      No those lions need many more years to gat that patina, I think someone comes here every now and again and clean them, I guess they don’t want it to look too deserted. I thought most geese already had moved south but I could hear lots of them and Trumpet swans by the lake in the bog yesterday evening. It’s still so warm that they can find enough food here I guess.

      We tend to get a few years with awfully cold winters and after that we can have up to ten years with mild ones and I do hope this is one of those years🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • We have some Canada geese that stay around all year. There is always some open water somewhere especially along the coast. In years when there is light snow cover, they can feed on dried grass practically anywhere. I’ve seen them in the median strips of highways.
        I saw a Great Blue Heron flying overhead near my house just a few days ago. They take a risk hanging around late into the year but lately the lake has stayed open most of the winter and there are plenty of fish in it.

      • More and more birds do like that here too but then one of those really cold winters comes along and then they all die. I think that our Canada geese moves to the Netherlands mostly. I know some herons stay here too but mostly in parks where they keep the water open for ducks, otherwise they wouldn’t stand a chance.

        Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Well at least the deersand moose are safe for yet some time🙂 I’m not even sure if they get upset when they can’t find anything to shoot. I know of more dedicated hunters in the rest of this country though, most of them are up early and stay all day long no matter what weather they’re having. These guys are more comfortable I guess🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. well, it is good to see that bertil likes something! we are going down to 24 tonight. right now i have all my doors and windows open and it is 45 degrees. they will not be open tomorrow!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes he loves his dogs but no other dogs, he’s known for attacking dogs that he doesn’t know🙂

      It’s been warmer here then, we reached 50 when the rain stopped to fall. I’m glad we won’t have 24 here tomottow morning🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    You know I am a fan of fog, not to drive in but to see. I love the morning fog over the water. It almost seems mystical.

    I have wooden flowers, a metal goose, a bird made of pipes and a bowling pin in my yard in the summer. I figure they look sort of fun from the deck. I also have lights in my yard all year. They brighten the night.

    We had two days of rain but the days were wonderfully warm. Today is not. It is a day to be inside cozy and warm1

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I must admit that I have a garden gnome in my garden🙂🙂🙂 I got it from friends one birthday and they know I can’t stand them🙂🙂 This one however is now a friend of min and is always given the best place for the season🙂

      I love fog when I’m home and can walk around in it🙂 Especially out by the bog and the bog can be mysterious even on sunny days🙂

      No rain today but lots of sunshine for my dogs to enjoy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I have a couple of statues way down on the bottom of my yard. An angel that belonged to my mother and a dog statue and a cat one……they are all in my pet cemetery.
    (I do NOT like fog…but if it scares away hunters it can’t be all that bad!🙂 )

    • I do have my garden gnome but that’s it🙂

      I love fog, as long as I can stay at home. The world becomes so much more mysterious, especially out on the bog🙂

      Hunters don’t like fog🙂 It’s hard to shoot anything when You can’t see it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

