For what use is November?

DSC_0004 (800x529)

November, a month that should be forbidden🙂 It’s dark when I go to work and it’s dark when I go home again. No holidays to look forward to either. November is just a pain in the a.. to be honest🙂 The best thing would be to just jump from October to December directly because from the first of advent, that is pretty big here the holidays come close. It looks like we can take two weeks of from work this year too around Christmas and New year🙂 So far the factory owner hasn’t said no anyway🙂

DSC_0002 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

I think I’ll put up my light chains already this weekend so I at least have something to look at when it’s dark outside, I’ll also be able to see all deers so much better when they visits my garden during the dark hours. Now I mostly hear them jumping  over the fences when I let my dogs out at night. 

The forest is packed with False Chantrelles.

The forest is packed with False Chantrelles.

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

Well I do have my books to look forward too as well. Especially the one about Swedish folklore. It’ll be so much easier to write about that when I can find all facts at one place. The internet is great but it can take forever to find the right info if one doesn’t use the right words when searching for anything really. It takes just one word and the results can be totally different.

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0016 (800x530)

I tried to take photos of Jupiter with my point and shoot camera but it doesn’t work. It can’t focus on anything when they don’t shine bright, the moon is no problem but stars and planets far away is to weak in their brightness. I can’t turn of the autofocus on it either. I tried to do it with my big camera again but You can see the result in the top photo🙂🙂 Cool though even if It’s impossible to figure out what it is🙂

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0020 (800x530)

It’s time for that pot of tea again. Today I’ll see if I can find any photo to use on my Yule cards this year. I know what I really want but I doubt I’ll find anything like it before it’s too late, so I’ll pick out one now and have it ready just in case.

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

Have a great day!

I tried to get a photo of Ursa Minor and I think I missed every single star in that constellation  in this and all the other photos :-)

I tried to get a photo of Ursa Minor and I think I missed every single star in that constellation in this and all the other photos🙂

12 thoughts on “For what use is November?

  1. Hi Christer,
    I assume the light squiggle at the top is Jupiter. Interesting colors. My point and shoot has a view screen so I can kind of get an idea how the light squiggle might look. Once I press the shutter, though, the view screen goes dark. I have to try to replicate the camera movement that gave me an interesting squiggle. I don’t get the the rainbow colors, though. How did you do that?

    That last mushroom looks like a fried egg, sunny side up.🙂

    Perhaps we should borrow each other’s holidays. You can have American Thanksgiving in November and we can have whatever it is you have in August, if you have something in August. We have no August holiday. That must go back to the time when we all had to work in the fields. August is a good haying month. That is also why Americans have the summer off. All the kids had to work the farm. In fact, I think there are some places in Maine where the kids have school vacation because it’s potato harvest time.

    Sunny and cool here today. I finished the laundry, raked leaves, and filled the bird feeders. In a fit of horticulture, I bought some spring bulbs. I have no idea where I’m going to put them. Maybe in the lawn.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes that’s Jupiter🙂 Well, at least I think it is, it was placed at the right place anyway🙂 My point and shoot works the same but it just couldn’t focus on anything when the stars/ planets don’t shine brighter. I know that if the camera moves when shooting a star it shows the color of the star and I think this spectrum shows what kind of atmosphere the planet has. If I remember things right from school long ago the spectrum shows what kind of chemical elements dominates the atmosphere. So I guess that by moving the camera while taking a photo the light bbreaks up in to that kind of spectrum. Could be wrong though🙂🙂

      It really does🙂

      No holidays in August here either but kids just had autumnholiday last week, no holiday for grownups though. The last one we have before Christmas is Midsummer. They used to have that kind of vacation here too back in the days. Too few make hay now days I’m afraid🙂 and machines harvest all potatoes too🙂

      yes the lawn is perfect for bulbs and it looks rather nice when they show up in spring. The problem is that their leafs need to grow until they wither down by themselves becaus that’s the way they gather energy enough to flower next spring. There’s always exeptions, some flower no matter what one does to them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. any one of your photos would make a beautiful card, they are beautiful. i laughed when you said that about November, what about the people who are born in this month, lol!!They have reason to celebrate!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      They could take any other month to celebrate🙂 It’s much nicer to celebrate in spring🙂🙂

      I haven’t found any photo yet I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes any food holiday is great🙂 My family isn’t the tight kind so I wouöld most probably not meet any of them though but the food I would have🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Sorry, Christer, but I will have to disagree about November and not just because we celebrate Thanksgiving here. It’s really the time of year that seems most like fall to me. Here on the VA eastern shore, many of the leaves do not turn colors or even fall off the trees until about mid-November so it does become quite colorful then. And, the Christmas holiday decorations have already started here as many retailers had displays up before Halloween. And this week, I saw Christmas lights on a home when we were visiting my mother in our home state of New Jersey!
    I was not surprised when you wrote that the point and shoot camera could not focus on Jupiter as mine has similar problems and it really is infuriating at times.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Your November is so much better than ours, You still have leafs on the trees and all ours have let them go by now. The weather never seems to be able to decide what to do or worse, it snows all the time🙂🙂🙂

      All stores have Christmas lights and decorations now but most won’t start decoratring until December first if they have any at all.

      The point and shoot is made so it will be as easy as possible to use so the autofocus is always on and can’t be turned of. Too bad because it would be great to use it when taking photos of the planets we can see.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i love novemebr. i think the mountains are beautiful what the leaves are off the trees. this time of the year goes by so fast that i savor each day. i can’t wait to see your lights when they are up! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I agree, the trees look very beautiful without the leafs too but since it get dark so early I really can’t see them until the weekend anyway🙂

      Time does fly! It’s hard to understand it’s already November, too bad that November slows it all down🙂

      I’mm looking forward to that too🙂🙂 I have a plan but I have no idea how I’ll make it work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi, Christer: Sorry that November is such a dreary month for you! American Thanksgiving does brighten things up a bit here. I’m really looking forward to learning more about Swedish folklore in your blog. I’m also looking forward to seeing what photo you select for your Yule card; you have so many amazing ones to choose from. Have a good day!

    • Hi worldsosweet!

      We have nothing from Midsummer until Christmas here. Well we celebrate Saint Lucia on December 13th but it isn’t any holiday. It’s a bit odd that a Lutrheran country celebrates a Cathlolic saint but we do🙂

      I’m so looking forward to that book🙂 I already know a lot but there’s plenty more to learn🙂

      Still haven’t found a card but I’ll keep on looking.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

