Perhaps I’ll buy myself some seeds?

DSC_0001 (800x530)

I have very little to say today, the day was long and dreary and we were all in the same mood so that didn’t help much🙂 But I’ll be working in the neighbor factory tomorrow so that’ll be a change anyway. I hope the weather is fairly nice so I can walk to get there and back again. 

Growing in my garden right now.

Growing in my garden right now.

DSC_0008 (800x531)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

I did find lots of  Red oak (I think anyway) acorns when I went to the big hospital in Skövde the other week so I’ve wrapped them in moist paper towels and placed them in a plastic bag and tossed them in to the fridge. The other I found close to work are sown in soil and placed outside during winter. I hope at least some germinate so I finally get an American oak with pointy lobed leafs in my garden🙂 Perhaps that will make our shy squirrels come here too but I doubt it.

DSC_0012 (800x531)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

DSC_0016 (800x530)

I, like most people, have periods when I just can’t stand my job. I’m in such a period right now and I guess November helps getting in to that mood🙂 I had three-month periods when I worked at Volvo and the last time I felt like that I bought myself a garden center, that was not the best of ideas but the funniest🙂 I didn’t have a boring day during the time I had it but I really can’t afford doing something like that for at least four more years because then I’ve paid of the last from that mistake🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0017 (530x800)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0020 (800x530)

So after this I think I’ll check some seed sites to see if they have anything interesting I can buy. Much the same as when I had my garden center but oh so much cheaper in the long run🙂 It’s time for that pot of tea again and a big bowl with yoghurt, pineapple, persimmon, apple, cinnamon and ginger.

DSC_0021 (800x530)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (530x800)

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Perhaps I’ll buy myself some seeds?

  1. Hi Christer,
    The light is very lovely under the trees in those last few photos.
    Are those flowers violas or pansies or something else entirely?

    February used to be my month for doing crazy things. I bought a piano one February. Couldn’t play the darn thing but I bought it anyway. I took up horseback riding in February. Who does that? I did not buy my horse in February, though. I waited until September. Yes, February was the month of interesting and life changing decisions.
    When I moved my horse to a barn that had no indoor ring, I discovered that February was actually quite a lovely month. It had just enough daylight left at the end of the days that I could get a few minutes of riding.
    November became my discouraging month after that. The long dark tunnel into winter. Bleah.

    It was sunny and cold today but the sun was nice. It did get up to 50ºF momentarily. I had to hang around the house for the morning because an electrician was coming to fix the broken outlet and the broken kitchen light. The outlet was fairly straight forward to fix but took a while.
    The kitchen light wouldn’t work because a mouse made a nest up in there and fried himself.
    It’s the time of the year for some mouse removal products, I guess.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I thought so too but one never knows how photos turns out, sometimes it can look fantastic in my mind but then the photos look like crap, it’s rarely the other way round though🙂
      Yes they are violas and they grow in the lawn so I’ve never seen them before.

      February can be a pain too, especially since it usually is our coldest month too. I can only see problems by buying a piano in Februray🙂 Slippery raods and slippery stairs when trying to get it inside the house🙂🙂 and I can only see problems with horseback riding, no matter when it happens🙂🙂 But February is usually forgiven since I can notice the return of the daylight🙂

      Below 32 and foggy when I came close to work (clear night sky here where I live though) so I wasn’t surprised that the roads were covered in black ice. I can’t say I was bored while driving the last ten kilometers to work🙂 Two of my kitchen lights needs to be replaced. One hasn’t worked for years and I just could make the change myself easily but I rareöly used it when it did work. The other one is above the sink and works only because I could tape it together long ago🙂 No mice are guilty though, they love other places instead like the only closet I have🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Ja du, visst är det nått extra trist med november!?😦 Och detta trots att gubben min fyller år den 14, men det gör en ju bara mer medveten om att det snart är “riktigt” vinter.😦😦 Det är nämligen så att varje år så kommer snön precis till hans födelsedag så man vet vad som väntar…..
    Förr så gjorde vi ju alltid nått kul när han fyllde, för tretton år sen t.ex. så åkte vi hit till Gotland och bodde tre dagar och för tre är sen tog vi båten till Oskarshamn och bodde på lyxhotell – med Penny – och så åkte vi till Kalmar och shoppade. :- ) Mycket trevligt, men gubben är svår att övertala om att åka hemifrån – och i år fyller han ju inte jämt!
    Inatt har vi haft frost första gången för säsongen, men det är strålande sol ute. Alltså ska vi ut och räfsa sista sidan på tomten lite senare. Det är bakom garaget och där finns det MASSOR av nerblåsta kvistar efter stormen och ännu mer av lärkbarr. Vi lämnade den här delen av trädgårdsräfsningen tills lärken fällde sina barr och det har den gjort nu, så nu är vi tvungna…..😦😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det finns ingen ursäkt för den månaden att existera🙂

      Jag förstår gubben din så väl🙂 Ibland trivs man så bra där man bor att behovet att åka iväg liksom bara dör ut🙂 Sådan är jag numera🙂

      Jag låter mina hundar ta kvistarna och barr har jag inga men jag hade troligen låtit dem ligga kvar, förr eller senare bryts de ned också🙂 Jorden mår antagligen bra av att låta dem brytas ned och det är min ursäkt för det mesta som faller ned i min trädgård🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      Soon You’ll be able to see similar views too🙂

      I’ll do my big order from Gardens North later this year so I was just looking around the Swedish seed firms yesterday, I saw a few interesting ones but didn’t order anything, yet that is🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, I remember it well. The not liking where I worked! Getting old is not fun but when I think that I will never, ever have to go to a job I don’t like, that I can just putter around my home and yard and garden and decorate my little home to my hearts content..it’s not a bad trade off. The only problem is that time is going by at a break neck speed. By the time you are retired..I will be long dead. Yikes! But it’s what happens to every single person. Enjoy all of it as much as you can..it is over all too quickly. You will look back one day and remember all you were able to do now..and can’t do anymore. 🙂
    I always smile when I read what you write on Joyce’s blog. Just reading about her cooking is enough to make one hungry even after you have just eaten! 🙂
    Your forrest looks like something I always imagined in my Fairy Tales stories when I was a child. Deep dark woods..heavy with moss and fern…gorgeous!!

    • Hi Mona!

      I normally like that place very much but then those periods come🙂

      I’m looking forward to retirement a lot but I’ll have to wait at least 18 years until that happens, unless i actually win the lottery 🙂 and ou may very well become one of those that grows really old. I’ve read that especially people in California tend to become way over 100 years old. I can already look back and think of the things I used to do🙂🙂 rheumatism has a tendency to fast forward things like that🙂🙂🙂

      It’s dangerous to go to Joyce before having eaten something🙂

      There are some parts in the forest that looks just like they should in a fairy tale and the bog has even more on the islands in it. I have seen strange things out there so I wouldn’t be the least surprised if I saw a troll one day🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Oh! I’m just catching up on your posts. LOL! we are feeling sort of the same. I don’t hate my job as much as I have hated other jobs that I have had. It’s just the boredom of doing the same thing over and over again and no excitement and adventure. But….I m such a hermit that there’s not much of a chance for things to change. And…
    I used to have a lot of excitement etc. when I was young and was very bored with that too. I guess there’s just no making me happy. Well….I am thinking of a way and it might involve a horse. LOL! But that’s just a dream. (for now)
    Hope you have a better week.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes we are🙂 But I don’t hate my job either, I’m just so bored by the routines.

      perhaps we had too much exitement when we were younger🙂 I don’t mind that it isn’t especially exiting at all any longer but it would be fun to use the brain every now and again at work too🙂

      Well I know You can’t move to the countryside because I think You are the one I know most afraid of snakes🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

