Some mornings!

DSC_0003 (800x530)

I woke up at 4:15 this morning and I really needed to go to the bathroom, so I let the dogs out at the same time. I thought that since they already had been out I could sleep a bit longer and changed the alarm time on the alarm clock. It felt like I only had slept for a few seconds but we all know how fast the time goes when one falls asleep again.

DSC_0002 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

I got up and gave us all something to eat and suddenly I realised I had very little time left. I put my dogs in the dog yard and Nova seemed a bit off this morning but she didn’t look sick so I drove to work. Black ice on the roads and sometimes the fog covered the road as well. Lots of cars on the road but everyone drove really careful. That was a bit odd, not only that everyone drove careful but that there were lots of cars driving around.

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

So I drove in to the parking lot at work and started to wonder what I had missed because there was only one car there! I have to say that I did feel a bit confused but then another car parked and the driver looked at me and said: What the hell are You doing here now, it’s not even 6:30. I don’t start working until 7:30🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0020 (800x530)

I started to work anyway and since I did that I could go home one hour early too🙂 I could have stayed until I normally stop working but I didn’t feel like working overtime even if I always can use that hour any other day to be honest🙂

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

Yesterday something happened that made me very happy. Most of You know that Nova had a tough first year in her life and that most of the bad things happened in a cellar, so when ever I have walked down there Nova has walked away from the kitchen (that’s where I go down to the cellar). Yesterday however she followed me down instead🙂 She seemed to think it was quite exiting down there and followed every track mice have made down there🙂

DSC_0030 (800x530)

DSC_0031 (800x530)

DSC_0033 (800x530)

It’s time for that pot of tea again and something to eat as well. I doubt I’ll stay up late tonight though, I am a bit tired after this morning🙂

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Some mornings!

  1. maybe it was a delayed reaction to DST? that is such good news about nova! we have snow on the way. it is getting dark and windy and they said we might have school delays tomorrow! i am baking bread and i just finished making gingerbread cookies.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I read this a bit too fast and read std🙂🙂 But no I don’t think it has to do with DST since we had that a week or two before You. This was most likely just a day when things didn’t start the right way🙂

      No snow on its way here, only more rain but the winds are getting stronger again. I’ll bake some bread next weekend and I haven’t made gingerbreads for ages now. If the rcipe says 100 gingerbreads it usually means 500🙂 I like them thin and I think the recipe mean slightly thicker ones🙂 But bought ones never taste as good as the home baked ones. I can imagine how good Your kitchen smells right now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. beautiful photos! Such a wonderful revelation with Nova, that I think is due to the wonderful life she has had with you, she trusts you , I’m so glad you found each other, a blessing on both parts,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You🙂

      Yes I got so happy when I turned around and saw her right behiond me down there🙂
      I was lucky enough to know the chairman of the rescue center, she thought Nova would fit great with me and the dogs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Yay, Nova! Yay, Christer! for helping Nova to feel safe again.🙂

    Did you change the alarm or the clock? Or do you have one of those houses like my mother’s where none of the clocks had the correct time? All her clocks were 30 minutes fast on purpose so she wouldn’t be late. I tried that myself but I was always compensating and thinking I still had half an hour before I had to actually think about leaving the house.🙂

    Is the second photo of barberry? It looks like it. Or weird rose hips maybe.

    Today was lovely. Sunny and windy and a little bit cool but still nice enough to be outside without several layers on. I took the opportunity to plant some spring bulbs in odd places that didn’t involve too much actual work.🙂 I put in crocuses, jonquils and some purple things that aren’t hyacinths. Grape hyacinth? Looks like grape hyacinth? I forget already.
    I will be surprised a) if they come up and b) if they don’t get eaten by spawns.

    Time for me to figure out something for lunch.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      🙂 I got so surprised when I saw her walking behind me in the cellar🙂

      I managed to change the alrms one hour the wrong way🙂 all my cloicks actually show the same and right time🙂 I would do just like You, Would be useless to put the clock a half hour early🙂

      Rose hips, they are the ones the birds avoid until there’s nothing else to eat. I can’t understand why because there are no poisonous rose hips, perhaps they taste really bad?

      Cold here again but they say we won’t get frost tonight thankfully. The best bulbs to plant are daffodils (and jonquils), they are slightly toxic so most animals avoid them. The rest is just delicious for them🙂 I like grape hyacinths but they tend to be short lived here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer..what did I miss. I do know Nova had some problems..but I don’t recall anything about the cellar…so I definitely missed something. (I always do if I don’t get over here:) So..what happened? It’s so handy to hop over here from Joyce’s blog.🙂
    Getting somewhere early is a whole lot better than arriving an hour late and wondering what you missed??? LOL 🙂
    Have a great day! DRIVE carefully my friend!!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      They did all kinds of nasty things down in that cellar, beting, starving, torturing her and her siblings. At least one of her brothers still can’t walk in to a dark house, they must start all lamps before he can enter. So for her walking down in to my cellar with me is a really big thing🙂

      Well, yesterday I think I would have prefered to come an hour late🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • NO! I had no idea! The thought makes me want to cry! WHAT is wrong with humans that they have to be so cruel to the helpless!! I feel ill just thinking of it! People can be so terrible…and then there are people like you who give so much to their animals. I’m glad you have her!! Makes me smile!🙂

      • Hi Mona!

        They were drug addicts and I guess their pain were easier to carry if everything close suffered too. After that she came to an eldery couple that couldn’t keep her because their grand children got allergic. But they did have time enough to spoil her rotten to be honest🙂🙂🙂 Now she’s like most dogs with her ups and downs🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

    • Hi Merle Turner and welcome to my blog🙂

      It’s usually rather rainy here, lots of cattle walking around in the fields and lots of cranes as well. Our sdummers are usually rather cool too so the summer we just had was quite unusual, Sunny, hot and very dry.

      I’m always never late for work but not this early either🙂

      Have a great day and welocome back🙂
      Christer.

  5. Well, it sounds like quite a day! Was Nova okay when you got home? You said she was a little off in the morning. How wonderful that she was confident enough to follow you into the basement, to discover that with you there, it was not scary. It’s always great when our furry companions can surmount a worry.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      She was fine and I think she was the only one reacting about me leaving so early, she likes to sleep a buít longer than the others🙂

      It sure felt good seing her down there with me since I know what happened to her and her siblings down in other cellars.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi myroseindecember. I can’t understand that either but I guess it feels better in those persons if all around them feels bad too. studies have also shown that those torturing animals are the ones becoming seriel killers so one can only hope the police keep an eye or two on known animal abusers!

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  6. Christer,
    You didn’t mention if Nova seemed okay when you got home-you said said she looked a bit off in the morning.

    I think Nova has finally come home!

    I hate icy roads especially black ice, but luckily I am seldom out when the ice is still in the roads. I used to leave for work at 6:15 and it was still icy and dark that early. Now the ice has melted when I go out.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      She was just fine, I think she was the only one reacting about me leaving that early🙂 She knows that she should have at least one more hour to sleep before I leave🙂
      I hope she feels like that🙂

      It is nasty to drive around on it, especially now when we ll have sort of forgotten how slippery it is, it’s so much easier to handle when we’ve had winter for some months :-=

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

