I have my Yule card now.

My photographs today is a mix from the weekend.

My photographs today is a mix from the weekend.

It’s been a loong day today, I haven’t worked more than usual, it has just felt like that.  It’s pitch black when I drive homewards and I have always liked to drive in darkness but my little Mazda is so low that most cars blind me when I meet them, that I don’t like. But I was lucky that very few cars were on the road at the same time as me today.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

It’s best when I’m totally alone and can see the lights from homes far from the road, I always wonder what stories they have and most must have long stories since they usually are at least 100 years old and some even older. We are still a bit scrimp with Christmas lights here and so far only the striptease bar had put up their lights, unlike most here they had colored lightbulbs in their light chain. Can’t help but thinking it does look inviting🙂

DSC_0018 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

DSC_0031 (800x531)

It’s a strange thing that we have a striptease bar here at all in the middle of nowhere but just beside the highway but the owner said he had to open up here too since so many of his customers came from this area. I’ve never seen a single car at the parking lot, since everyone knows everybody here they never park there, they stop at a resting spot further down the road or in the forest nearby🙂🙂 :-) 

DSC_0046 (800x530)

DSC_0050 (800x530)

DSC_0038 (800x530)

I always keep an eye just beside the roads I’m driving on since it’s the eyes of the animals that can be seen the best in the darkness. They are like reflectors and can be seen from far away. There are surprisingly many small animals beside the roads too, today I saw lots of tiny sparkling eyes in the grass, most of them are probably mice and moles figuring out how to pass the roads without being killed but some are from weasels and foxes and lots of cats which seems to be suicidal since they tend to jump out in front of the car just in time to get hit.

DSC_0033 (800x530)

DSC_0035 (800x530)

DSC_0037 (800x530)

The fire is burning in the stove even if it is rather warm outside. Soon I’ll make myself a pot of tea and I’ll have a big bowl with yoghurt, apple and banana slices. I was hoping that I would have my books I ordered last week by now but it seems I’ll have to wait some time more. I so would like to tell You about those Swedish/Scandinavian werewolves🙂 By the way! I think I’ve found my Yule card now🙂

DSC_0048 (800x530)

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “I have my Yule card now.

  1. Hi Christer! You have your Yule card all picked out?? I need to do that and soon. I am waiting to see snow..and so far no one has posted any. I thought perhaps you would have some by now.
    So…is Bertil in the card? The doggies? ….AND Bertil? :):)
    There used to be many strip clubs here in our little city but no more. They all have dried up over the years. I think the men must have gotten bored with them. I suppose there may be some but none that I’ve seen. At one time there were so many that children could not even walk along the road on their way home from school without passing a couple of them. NOT good and the community did something about it. Been so long ago that I have forgotten.
    I had to giggle when you said they park their cars in the woods. Isn’t that the first place a wife would check? LOL I would!
    Beautiful day here today and I was up at 6:30 and out for a walk. You have inspired me, even if there are only houses to look at.
    Enjoy your day!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes I think this photo is it🙂 I’ll give it one more week just in case and then I’ll order them🙂

      Joyce has snow now so You better hurry to see her post before it melts away🙂

      No cat nor dog is on that card🙂 No christmas either to be honest🙂

      This strip club was so unexpected even the big news on tv talked about it🙂🙂🙂 I can’t see the fun in a strip club but I’ve heard that it has plenty of customers🙂 Of course everyone knows who’s going there🙂 They aren’t allowed to serve alcohol so there’s never any risk of meeting drunk drivers anyway.

      I like looking at houses and to see how they have changed during the years gone by. I mostly like the ones built in the beginning of the early 1900’s but there are some really nice ones that was built just a few years ago, in retro style of course🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Sune and Nova look just like professional hunting dogs out on a field trial.🙂

    The orange fungi is interesting. It looks like someone smashed orange sections on the tree. But I really love the photo with the mushrooms all in a line. The leaves on the ground and the mushrooms themselves seem to be glowing slightly.

    The locals hiding their cars in the forest instead of parking in the lot at the strip joint is funny.😀

    I so want to use the photo of Rocky peeing on the snow-covered lawn mower for my Christmas card but I fear that most of my friends and family would not be amused. I will have to find something else but I tend not to take Christmas card type photos. It will be interesting to see what you chose.

    It snowed here! Sideways snow. It didn’t stay.
    Now it’s just cold, windy, damp and dark. I have all the full spectrum lights on in the living room just to offset the gloom. November. Don’t gotta love it.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Looks can desieve🙂 They are both quite useless when it comes to hunting🙂🙂🙂

      I do like that orange one, it grows on a dead lilac tree in the dog yard and I’ve only seen one that orange before. Those in a line did sort of shine there in the darkness, strange since they have very little colors to be honest.

      It is🙂 Still, everyone knows who goes there anyway so why not park in the parking lot🙂🙂

      That would be a truly great photo to use🙂🙂 I used to have photographs that had absolutely nothing to do with Christmas and they were really popular. People actually got angry when I stopped sending them🙂 One of my favorites was the inside of a streetcar, another a really blurry photo from a hotel room in Paris🙂 If I will use this photoi I will go back to that tradition again🙂 You know there will be one in Your mail around Christmas, I have Your address here somewhere🙂

      Rathger warm here and I love it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I spent the morning picking photos for Christmas cards.
        I narrowed my selection down to 21 photos. (Not bad from a choice of over 6000.🙂 I am cross-eyed.)
        Then I threw out 10.
        Then I picked two.
        After I started designing the card, I threw one of those out and picked another one.
        One has snow.
        Neither is Christmassy or even Yule-ish.
        We shall see.🙂

      • Hi Caryn!

        I don’t like those drawn cards with children and animals with huge eyes🙂 I don’t mind beautiful cards but not those that screams cute🙂🙂🙂 I still have the card I got from You on my linnen cupboard🙂 I’ll give this weekend a chance to get another one that I have decided on but after that I’ll order them🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  3. You are certainly ahead of me, Christer, as I have not begun to think of the holidays even though all stores seem to be ready, which is actually quite upsetting to me. We are now getting very cold temps yet we never really had fall weather and leaves remain on the trees in our yard. Driving home when it’s dark was never something I enjoyed when I was still working.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I am usually early when looking after Yule cards, especially since some will travel across the ocean and I’ve been unlucky a couple of times, the cards never reached their destination when I did send them a bit late.

      The stores started with the Yule things two weeks ago and that’s quite normal now days.

      Cold nights but warm days over here, they have already warned us that we’ll have black ice on the roads tomorow morning.

      I’ve always liked it but more before when I had a higher car🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Bra att du skrev om julkort! 🙂 Jag hade helt glömt bort det, så nu måste jag genast försöka hitta nått bra eller ännu hellre – ta ett nytt!!🙂🙂
    Det där med parkering vid en strippbar mitt ute i “nowhere” gjorde att jag osökt kom att tänka på nått liknande här. Bara en halvmil härifrån i en landsvägskorsning som “alla” körde förbi på väg till och från Hemse, så öppnades en presentaffär. Alltså, trodde jag mitt fån!😦
    Min väninnas tonårsdöttrar tog sig genast dit för att kolla vad dom sålde. Då visade sig det att butiken endast innehöll sexleksaker!😦
    Men eftersom folk inte vågade parkera utanför, så dröjde det inte mer än ett halvår innan den fick slå igen. Det fanns ingen skog i närheten som dom kunde gömma sina bilar i!!😦😦 *FNISS*

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har ett som jag gillar riktigt mycket i år🙂 Men jag ger nästa helg en chans också innan jag definitivt bestämmer mig.

      Tja, det kan ju bli presenter av de sakerna också🙂🙂🙂 Jag tror inte det finns någon sådan butik här uppe alls, möjligtvis I Skövde som är såpass stort. Jag tror skogar är väldigt viktiga om man vill driva en butik som den ute på landsbygden🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. I just got back from visiting Joyce and her beautiful snow. I rushed over here to tell you that you best come up with some snow real quick…she is ahead of you! Then I remembered that you THINK you can do quite well without it..but..YOU CAN’T!!! :):):) Thanks for posting a pic of Bertil. LOVE him!!

    • Hi Mona!

      Oh I so can!🙂 But I had been there before You actually🙂🙂

      Life would be just perfect if I never saw snow again for the rest of my life, I don’t mind the cold though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I have not even begun to think about a photo Christmas card and really need to apply myself. About a year ago I referred a good friend to your blog and we both enjoy it so very much. Last night she said she would love to see your face if a whole busload of American blog-followers showed up at your door. I think you would be shocked! You paint such a lovely picture of Sweden with your words and photos. I doubt I will ever see your country but feel like I am getting to know a little of it from your wonderful blog.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      Yes I would most likely be quite surprised🙂🙂🙂 First ofd all I wouldn’t know where to place You all, my cottage is tiny🙂 But I guess I could talk to the castle owner to see if he has some spare rooms🙂🙂🙂

      Sweden has its backsides too I’m afraid but many don’t like to read about politics so I’m a bit quiet about that🙂

      Most of Sweden actually looks like it does here, I’ve read that this is the most urbanized country in the world. Almost half the population lives in and around the three big city areas and this country is around the same size as California but with only nine million inhabitants.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

