Why are computer changes never easy?

My new bird feeder.

My new bird feeder.

It was time to change to my new laptop even though I still hate Windows 8. The old one was just behaving more and more erratic now, sometimes it just opened up completely black but showing the internet Connection icon clearly but it is hard to surf the internet if I can’t open up it at all🙂 sometimes it just refused to shut down or if it did something Went wrong and I had to restart it in  safe mode or what ever it’s called. So I thought to myself that today is the day I’ll make the change.

DSC_0002 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

The big problem is that I have all my photographs in the old computer so I still need to use the old one to put them in to the blog, shut the old one down and open up the new one so I can write the text🙂 I also have no photo editing program in the new one but I found a good one on the net a few days ago that I’ll download to this one. I just want to be able to reduce the size of my photographs and perhaps sharpen them up some too because I rarely do anything else to them. I still don’t fully understand this program but give me a few Days and I Think it’ll work fine.

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

Not a happy cat. He thought we were going to follow the creek again this morning.

Not a happy cat. He thought we were going to follow the creek again this morning.

The big problem however was that I wanted to bring my old anti-virus program with me and couldn’t find the license number. So I called my internet Company and got it via the text message on my internet Connection within seconds but they told me I had to uninstall it on my old computer via their website Before I downloaded it on the new one. So I did that and when I downloaded it on the new one I got a message that I already had this on my other computer but I could switch to the new one if I liked to! So why did I need to uninstall it at all on the old one ??? Anyway, that was not the big problem.

We did walk towards the creek though.

We did walk towards the creek though.

DSC_0016 (800x530)

Because I just wanted to make sure that the old tree log still stood where I had placed it.

Because I just wanted to make sure that the old tree log still stood where I had placed it.

The big problem came when I was downloading the anti-virus protection because McAfee was already in the new one. Should be no problem at all really, just uninstall it and continue🙂 For some reason McAfee didn’t want to be uninstalled at all, it should have worked without me having to interfere at all but that didn’t work so I had to do it manually. I tried ten times and the only thing that happened was that I got a message saying the Connection to McAfee’s website broke down?! Why should I go there at all? My internet Company was as much help as a dead rat, they can only help if there’s  something wrong with the Connection and I think if the connection breaks down while doing something it should be their concern but oh no🙂

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x529)

DSC_0039 (800x530)

So I just shut down and restarted the computer and tried again and then the computer told me that something Went wrong the last time and that I didn’t have McAfee any longer, would I like to remove the name on the uninstall program?🙂 Computers! They can be so fun and sometimes I just hate them🙂 Now I’ll try to find that photo editing program again so I can download it to this laptop. I still have a few photographs in my camera that needs to be taken care of. But first I’ll start a fire in the stove, make a pot of tea and something to eat. Must remember to send that photo I have that is going to be my Yule card before it is too late. It’s in my old computer I’m afraid.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Why are computer changes never easy?

  1. Hi Christer,
    Did Bertil want to see a repeat performance of the sinkhole spectacular?🙂

    I sympathize with computer issues. My first desktop computer was particularly pissy about new things being done to it. I tried to add a printer to it. All seemed well until I tried to print something and got a message that the computer was not communicating with the printer. I uninstalled and reinstalled. Same message. Uninstall and reinstall again. Same message. Turned off the computer in disgust and did not touch it again for a week. When I turned it on at that time there was a message that I had a new device and would I like to install it? I figured it was a lost cause since I had done it many times but I clicked Yes and waited without hope. Installation completed, I hit Print and the dang thing printed. So I learned that this computer had to contemplate its navel for a week or so before it would actually add something new.

    Can you copy your photo library to an external drive and move it over?
    I have sometimes used Picasa to edit. It’s stored on the computer so it works with your library. It’s gotten a little Internet-Community oriented since it became part of Google+ (or one of that crowd) but it still has some use.
    Ribbit is good for resizing and basic editing as well as interesting effects and text. Avian on Flickr also has some useful things. I use Ribbit most because it’s easier to resize stuff. All of these sites are free.

    I got my Christmas cards in the mail yesterday so you can see I did not think about them very long.🙂 They are cute but not particularly Christmasy. And that’s just fine.

    Enjoy the day and good luck with data migration.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      No I believe he actually did what he could to keep me away from that Place🙂 He didn’t quiet down until we turned and walked away from that Place🙂

      I can’t stand computers that have a will of their own🙂 They should just start and do as they are told, the day when the computers are actually smart that’s the day I stop using them🙂 This one has worked as it should most of the time but that Windows 8 is just a pain in the a.. and I still think that the one creating it should be whipped in public!

      I think I’ll buy a photo editing program but until then I’ll check Ribbit because it sounds like something I would like. I don’t need any more advanced program since I don’t like playing with my photos. I can’t understand why they don’t have Windows editing program any longer?!

      I’m thinking of buying an external hard drive so I can save those photographs I rarely like enough to save🙂 Perhaps I actually would make paper copies of them and put them in an album? I rarely look at any of my photographs otherwise.

      I’ll send my photograph tomorrow, I doubt I’ll find any better one until tomorrow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • If you don’t keep that many, you could probably fit them on a flash drive.

        I don’t make photo paper copies of my favorites. I sort them into albums on Flickr, import them to Snapfish and make photo books. It’s fairly easy to do. The program will import the whole album into the book template and I arrange them however I like. I can add text as well so future generations will know who the hell everyone is.🙂
        The cost is not bad and the quality of the books and paper is good.

        Doesn’t Windows have something called Photo Gallery?

      • The books over here are rather expensive yet but I did dowload that program to my old computer but never used it🙂

        It has a photo gallery but it’s impossible to do anything with the photos. I just can’t understand why they stopped the editing program?!

        Christer.

  2. wow, it all sounds a bit complicated, we have Norton anti virus , I meant to say on my blog post that this past spring and summer there were 182 bears removed from the city limits by live trap, I don’t think people realize what a problem it is, I just wish it could be controlled by people properly trained, there are a lot of idiots with guns around this area! and then there are the people who come here to hunt them and eat them, one must be very hungry and desperate for food to eat bear meat!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I would have had the same problem no matter what anti-virus program I’ve had. It was the McAfee program that was the big problem🙂

      Good thing it was trap huntiung so they at least wasn’t killed. The one wanting a hunting license here must pass a difficult theory test and after that a shooting test, if they don’t pass on both they won’t get any license and without a liucense they can’t buy a weapon.

      I’ve never thought of bears as food to be honest, I don’t Think I’ve ever thought of any predator to becom food really.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! bertil sure looks mad! he is such a character! i love the birdhouse. it is so cute. i bet the birds don’t wait until 9:00 am to eat though! joyce

    • HI Joyce!

      He wasn’t happy at all🙂

      It is a nice bird feeder but all birds were a bit suspicious towards it almost all day🙂 It was still full of seeds when the sun Went down🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I don’t care for Windows 8 at all and took back a Toshiba I had gotten because of the way 8 looks on the desktop, and got this HP Envy. It’s okay. I miss my desktop but can no longer sit at it for long periods of time. Re photo editing – there is a program you do not have to download at all, as it works in your browser. It is really very easy and does the basic things very well. It’s pixlr.com. You want the Express version once you get to the website. You do have to save twice, but I am happy with it. Good luck. Sorry you had such a bad day.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      I fully understand why You took it back but since this is what sooner or later will be on all computers with windows I thought I just keep it.

      I want to be able to go tghrough my photos without being online, that’s why I want to download an editing program. I did check pixlr and it works fine but I want to shut down the inbternet whilr doing the editing.

      Well, some Days just are like that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Det här med att byta dator är alltid problematiskt – hur enkelt det än sägs vara!😦
    Jag använder Avast antivirus som är gratis och som jag blev rekommenderad av min “datorhjälpare” som också fixade resten. Sen använder jag picmonkey.com som bildredigeringsprogram – också gratis – trots att jag har ett betydligt mer avancerat program också. Båda dom här fungerar perfekt och jag har haft dom i flera år.🙂🙂
    Bertil ser verkligen grinig ut, kul när djur visar sin vilja!🙂 Och fågelmatningsholken var jättesöt, måste nog skaffa mig en likadan!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det är aldrig enkelt! Alltid är det något som krånglar och alltid är det något man inte hittar igen efter flytten🙂

      Jag hade Avast förut och var väldigt nöjd med det, men så följde det med Fsecure när jag en gång köpte en ny dator så därför fortsätter jag med det. Hade det inte varit för att det ingår i abonnemanget skulle jag fortsatt med Avast.

      Skall kolla upp picmonkey.com! Fast jag har precis beställt ett program som jag inte minns namnet på just nu, någon enklare variant av Photoshop. Bör komma någon gång nästa vecka.

      Fåglarna hatar det nya fågelbordet🙂🙂🙂 så vad du än gör köp inte ett liknande detta🙂 Men jag såg att jag kan reparera det gamla och så kan jag hänga upp det i ett annat träd eller utanför köksfönstret kanske.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. well, if I offer computer advice, it would be like the blind leading the blind.
    No, actually you know a lot more than me but didn’t your camera come with a photo-editing CD?
    Or what about Windows whatever. I mean, when I got my laptop with Windows 7 it was just there.
    good luck!😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes it did come with a photo editinbg program that is one of the most complicated I’ve ever seen🙂 It makes no sence what so ever🙂

      Windows whatever doesn’t come with Windows 8!! I didn’t need anything more complicated than that and then they don’t have it any longer! One more thing that makes me dislike 8!!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

