The first snow.

DSC_0118 (800x530)

I’ll start todays post with telling You all that I got a spam with the name of my blog in it and it’s g-mail too. It looks as if it is from some shoe commercial site  don’t open it up if You would get a mail from me with my blog name as sender. My mail addresses, two, have totally different names and nothing that will even remotely look like my blog name! And I always give my mail a headline that Makes sure You know from whom it is.

DSC_0123 (800x530)

DSC_0124 (800x530)

DSC_0125 (800x530)

The first snow fell today, well last night really and it was a slippery road to work most of the time. But it has also rained some so most of it is gone. It will however sink below 0C (32F) for the rest of the week so I might be able to show You a few photos with snow already tomorrow. I got my photo editing program in my mailbox yesterday and it’s way to advanced for my needs and if I only can understand it I think I’ll be able to use it without getting slightly insane every time🙂 It’s Adobe Photoshop Elements 11. I tried it on some photos yesterday and I can say this much that the editing part is easy to understand, it’s the how do I get my photos to the program part that is slightly annoying. I will never forgive Windows for not having the editing program I had in Windows 7 in this garbage 8 too.

DSC_0102 (800x530)

DSC_0109 (800x530)

DSC_0111 (800x530)

I got that book with Nordic folklore beings the other day and I think I better tell You some about the werewolves now🙂 The Scandinavian werewolves usually look much like a wolf but with a sort of brown-yellowish color, it seems they never looked the way we see them in movies though sort of human with lots of fur. There were several ways to become a werewolf, the most common of course was that a witch or being cast a cursed the person /almost always a man) and then that person had to run with the wolves for seven years until the curse vanished. There were ways to cure the cursed person like killing them with a silver bullet, or that someone close to him called him by his right name. The werewolf could also get cured by eating a fetus that he as a wolf has torn out of a pregnant woman.

DSC_0128 (530x800)

 

DSC_0129 (800x530)

DSC_0131 (800x530)

But it was actually possible to become a werewolf by ones choice by putting a spell over one self. They usually did that when they wanted to take an awful revenge on someone but also when times were hard, it was easier to get food by running around like a wolf. Pregnant women feared the pain of childbirth and used magic to ease the pain as much as possible, a third way of making werewolves (if it was a boy, Mara (I’ll tell You more about her later) if it was a girl) was to crawl through the fetal membrane from a foal. The childbirth was then easy but since the child was born with the help of magic it also got cursed. But we didn’t only have werewolves here, sometimes they became bears instead.

DSC_0115 (530x800)

DSC_0030 (800x530)

DSC_0116 (800x530)

Life was so much more complicated back in the days, weren’t they🙂 I’ll tell You more about our beings as time goes by. Now it’s time for a cup of cocoa and a couple of sandwiches with wort flavored bread🙂

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “The first snow.

  1. complicated!!! Wow, thats putting mildly!!! That is some scary stuff, no bed time story material there, I would be up all night if I read that !!!!!Interesting though, for sure!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Today we only have to worry about murderers, rapists and thieves🙂🙂🙂

      No bedtime stories unless one wants to tell horrorstories like when going on a camping trip🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I’m enjoying your beautiful photos for quite some time, even on your old blog, but I didn’t comment yet. Unfair, I know. It’s a matter of time.
    I also take a lot of photos and I use
    – for quick editing and mass editing:
    http://www.xnview.com/en/xnview
    – for single pictures and specific editing:
    http://www.gimp.org
    Both programs are for free, available for Windows and recommendable. You may already know them.
    I’m not familiar with Win8. I switched to Linux when I couldn’t find drivers for my old Win98 anymore and bought a PC with Win7. Big mistake. Happy with Linux now for years.
    Birgit,
    (the soccer-music-Iggy-Birgit you know from Kat’s coffee blog😉 )

    • Hi Birgit and welcome to my blog🙂

      I understood who You were right away🙂 but it isn’t unfair not to comment🙂 I can see on the statistics that someone has visited here so I know people come here. I’ll check those editing programs later tonight, I’ve just spent an hour or more hating the new one I just bought🙂🙂🙂

      I tried to find some place to down load Linux when I bought the old computer but didn’t find any site I felt I could trust. I would like to try it some day. Windows ( is just a pain to put it mildely🙂

      Have a grat day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  3. what is wort flavored bread? those are some scary stories and rather complicated too. i can’t wait to see your snow! how much did you get? a big storm is headed straight towards us on saturday and i can’t wait!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Wort or Vört as we say is a mix of cloves, cinnamon, ginger and cardamom and for many of us there must be raisins in the bread too. We only have it around Yule here. I love it with just a strong cheese or with Yule ham and cheese.

      We got 2 inches with snow but almost all melted away here, south and east of us still have lots of it left though. They said it would stay cold here for at least a week but so far we’ve been above 32 even during nights.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Thanks for the warning about the spam, Christer. I received an email from another blogger that looked like spam, so did not open it. Some of those photo editing programs can be complicated. I find myself using the free Picasa for most simple fixes, even though I have an older version of Photoshop on my desktop PC.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It’s too bad they can do a thing like that!

      I must say that I did understand most of how this editing program works but I still came to the point of almost hating it today🙂🙂🙂 I can’t understand why they stopped with Windows editing program, it was so easy to use and I really don’t need such a advanced program as I bought.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Werebears? Care Bears that went to the Dark Side?🙂

    The first snow fell here a week or so ago. It didn’t stick to anything but it did snow sideways.

    I haven’t looked at my G-mail account in a long time. I suppose I should check it out. There will be just be a lot of messages from my “friends” at G-mail telling me how to do spiffy stuff with my G-mail account.

    It still looks very green in your part of the world, probably because of all the conifers that you have. It’s all brown around here with some evergreens here and there. Today was very cold but sunny. Tomorrow is supposed to rain. Snow next week sometime. Maybe.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They called them Manbears though :-)and yes they have turned to the even darker side🙂 I mean werewolves must be on the dark side of the force already from the beginning🙂

      I have a G-mail account in my mobile phone but I never use it. Too bad that they can create a mail address with my blogs name!!

      It will look green until we either get lots of snow or the rime starts again, then everything will look black and white🙂
      Sun tomorrow they say but I’ll believe it when I see it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I hate Spam and how they are so sneaky.
    Jeez, they need to get a life.
    anyway, sorry that you are having problems.😦
    Those stories are awful! especially the eating the fetus part!
    Sounds like a horrible horror movie.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I really don’t like that they are using a name that is connected to someone else in a very obvious way like a blog name! But as long as everyone knows it isn’t me so they don’t open it up just in case it contains viruses I’m glad.
      🙂 Well I guess that if one is a werewolf one does what it takes to get away from that curse🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

