They know when it’s time :-)

DSC_0001_redigerad-1

It has been sunny all day here and a few degrees below 0C (32F). It felt much warmer while we were out on our morning walk than it did on the walk we just came home from since the wind started to blow and it is bitterly cold even if it is weak. We went down to the little lake and to my big vexation I saw that the castle owner soon will cut of the road to the lake and church ruin too! He knows he can’t do that legally so he will put up those rope gates again so anyone can go through the pasture to the ruin and lake if they dare walking surrounded by up to 100 curious cows and their calves. Thankfully they move around the cattle quite a lot so every now and again it will be possible to walk there.

DSC_0014_redigerad-1

DSC_0020_redigerad-1

DSC_0021_redigerad-1

I did the laundry as soon as we came home and since the fire has been burning since we woke up I also baked a bread and it turned out rather nicely even if I perhaps should have left it in the oven for a few more minutes to be honest. But it is difficult to keep the temperature right all the time when the heat source is fire from wood🙂 I was worried that the crust would become almost black if I had left it in there any longer🙂 I think I might be coming down with something because despite the heat in the kitchen I still feel rather cold inside.

DSC_0022_redigerad-1

DSC_0024_redigerad-1

DSC_0034_redigerad-1

The hunters went out rather late as usual but today their dog actually did find a deer to follow, we could see it from a short distance when we were heading homewards. I can’t say that it looked like the deer was especially stressed because the dog only followed his nose and the deer got that pretty early. So it ran in circles making the tracks hard to follow and stood and watched the dog only ten meters (much the same in yards) away from it🙂 The dog was so occupied following the tracks that it never saw the deer at all🙂 I later on saw them driving down with a cart towards the forest.

The old cottage on the way to the lake.

The old cottage on the way to the lake.

I would like to be there an entire day to see if animals has taken it over.

I would like to be there an entire day to see if animals has taken it over.

The forest is much older here than it is where I live in the village.

The forest is much older here than it is where I live in the village.

I’ve just been out pouring out some deer food in my garden and I don’t think it took more than five minutes until I had three deers eating there🙂 It’s time to make something to eat for myself, my dogs and cats too now and I’ll have cocoa once again it is after all winter now🙂 By the way, they didn’t bring home anything they had shot in that cart, they brought home a Christmas tree🙂

DSC_0041_redigerad-1

DSC_0045_redigerad-1

And suddenly the sun started to rise.

And suddenly the sun started to rise.

Have a great day!

My Christmas lights this year :-) It actually reminds me of an animal, tiny one that can take almost anything I just can't remember the name on it.

My Christmas lights this year🙂 It actually reminds me of an animal, tiny one that can take almost anything I just can’t remember the name on it.

10 thoughts on “They know when it’s time :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    Well, I can make your light creation into a big nosed shark or a bird with a blobby tail. If you want a microscopic animal, I would say it was a tardigrade (or water bear).

    The deer and dog story is funny. I watched a mouse do that to my Jack Russell Terrier. She followed the track with her nose while the mouse just sat and waited for a propitious moment to dart behind her and disappear under a stone wall. Silly dogs.🙂

    I love the photo of the old forest with the sun lighting up the trees in the background. The one with the sun coming up is cool, too.

    It’s wicked cold here today. 24ºF with a bad wind chill, too. I checked the temperature at 2AM today and it was warmer. It’s cold in the house and I’m not coming down with anything.
    I should go out and fill the bird feeders but I don’t want to. So I won’t.🙂

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes the water bear! I knew it was something with bear🙂 It could also be a jellyfish🙂

      I was a bit surprised when I saw that the deer just stoodthere watching the dog run around like crazy🙂 I guess deers are much smarter than I thought, I knew hares do like that. They can even jump back in their own tracks making the dogs very confused🙂

      I really liked thgat sunrise!

      It would have been so nice here if it wasn’t for that wind, it’s so nasty cold it eats its way through the clothes.

      I’ll take it easy the rest of the day🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      It looks much better than previoius years🙂 But I had the idea of shaping the chains to look like a spruce, Yoiu know they way we draw them. But I coukldn’t reach high enough and the branches weren’t cooperating either🙂

      I smiled when I met them and saw that spruce in the cart🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad too because the dog ran after the deers that comes here. I’m glkad I have smart deers in myn neighborhood🙂

      The other side of the cottage looks even worse, which I sort of like🙂 But there are so much glass and debris there that I don’t dare walking to that side to get a good photo.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Sorry about that Castle owner!😦
    glad to read about your smart deers!🙂
    Where are those lights hanging? It looks like the bubble around the words in a cartoon!
    LOL! too funny.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes it is nice to know that they are smart🙂 Those lights are hanging in one of my apple trees🙂 I agree, it does look like one of those bubbles🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Your pictures perfectly depict the cold. I can almost feel it through the computer screen. We have a cold spell here too, and it is even colder than you are. Last night it was 24˚ when I was driving home from my friends’ house. Today it was 27˚ at 9 AM.

    I’m glad it was a Christmas tree the hunters were carting home. I loved the deer and the dog story. Gracie too would have been flummoxed though she is quite good at finding and catching animals in my backyard who somehow find their way over or under the fence.

    My mother used to make us cocoa, and it wad delicious. She’d put Marshmallow Fluff on the top and it would melt and spread over the whole top of the cocoa. I loved that.

    Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Sorry but last night it went down to here🙂 I can accept it as long as we don’t have snow🙂

      I smiled when I saw it was a spruce and not a deer🙂

      Nova only follows her eyes, Sune both the eyes and nose and the old ones just don’t care🙂 But the young ones only hunt voles and mice (well Nova does her best with hares too but they are just too smart and fast for her🙂 ).

      Marshmallows were somethimng I onlky had seen on tv when I grew up, I guess we must have had them here too but it never reached my or my friends homes🙂 Marshmallow Fluff was somethimng I didn’t know about at all until last year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

