A road rarely walked upon.

Sometimes all one need is a window to get a nice photo opportunity.

Sometimes all one need is a window to get a nice photo opportunity.

It’s just a few degrees above 0C (32F) and a drizzle makes the world bitterly cold and raw and it reaches all the way in to my bones. I’ve just started the fire in the stove so it will take some time before the heat spreads I’m afraid. My tea will be ready soon so >I’m putting my hope to the tea to spread some warmth in my body. The season to be jolly hasn’t started yet so I feel quite free to be a bit grumpy about the climate I live in until it arrives🙂

Can't say for sure that this is a bu´ck but hasn't it two bumps on the head?

Can’t say for sure that this is a buck but hasn’t it two bumps on the head?

This is Grå (Grey). She's more grey on her nose than any other deer.

This is Grå (Grey). She’s more light grey on her nose than any other deer.

DSC_0045

I have a new couple of deers visiting my garden now, they tend to come early to get some food. I think they are low in rank because they tend to run away as soon as the old ones comes. It looks like one is a very young buck, there are two bumps on his head and the doe is very grey on her nose.  I’ll call the doe  Grå (Grey), that’s sort of natural🙂 but I haven’t come up with a name for what I think is the buck yet. I think I’ll better wait so I can see if it actually is a buck🙂

DSC_0046

They have restored the road after driving heavy machinery on it last winter when they thinned out the forest.

They have restored the road after driving heavy machinery on it last winter when they thinned out the forest.

But even if the road looks solid enough it isn't. I wouldn't have been able to walk in some places if the ground hadn't still been frozen.

But even if the road looks solid enough it isn’t. I wouldn’t have been able to walk in some places if the ground hadn’t still been frozen.

We walked down to the creek today but instead of walking downstream (it is a bit difficult to pass where I feel through  before🙂 ) we walked upstream instead. I’ve done that before but not especially far since I believed the road led to the Forbidden Forest. But it turns out it goes beside that part so we walked to the end of the road today. We would have continued if it wasn’t for the fact that it already had started to turn dark. If one continues to follow the creek one will almost come all the way to the lake in the bog. I’m pretty sure that the lake has at least one or two of our mythical beings as occupants.

DSC_0055

Suddenly the road split up in to two but I decided to follow the one leading to the bog lake.

Suddenly the road split up in to two but I decided to follow the one leading to the bog lake.

This part of the forest has been left alone for quite some time. The ant stacks were rather high here, this one is at least 1,2 meters hig (much the same in yards).

This part of the forest has been left alone for quite some time. The ant stacks were rather high here, this one is at least 1,2 meters high (much the same in yards).

It’s SciFi night on channel six tonight. Defiance has finally reach the end of the season, something I don’t feel sorry about. To be honest, if they want to do a western why don’t they? Instead they will now show a Startreck movie for seven Fridays in a row. They start with the really bad one the first called Startreck the motion picture. It’s actually really bad but in a charming sort of way🙂 After that they’ll show Dune but I guess I’ll be too tired to see it, I’m a morning person so I’ll be tired already by 10 pm🙂

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

I'll show You more photyos of todays walk later next week.

I’ll show You more photos of todays walk later next week. It looks like this old bridge is used often, no moss at all. This is a place where all those mythological beings comes alive🙂

Have a great day!

DSC_0021

18 thoughts on “A road rarely walked upon.

    • Hi Joyce!

      He was unusually relaxed today, didn’t complain even once🙂

      It’s an averige hight stack, I’ve seen some that wasy over yards high🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer,
    It’s always good to find the road less travelled.🙂 Unless it goes to the Forbidden Forest, of course.

    If that deer is a buck, it must be from this year’s crop. It doesn’t have much neck muscle and the bumps are not all that evident. Time will tell. As usual.

    Do they not tamp the road surface down when they repair it? I assume they would want to get equipment in there without it getting bogged down or falling into a sinkhole. Maybe they wait until spring when the ground has thawed and settled itself.

    It’s sunny and cold here. The high for the day is just at freezing point. There’s a breeze so it feels colder. Rocky and I have been out twice; once for the morning routine and for me to fill the feeders and once for a longish walk around the block. It was not too bad. I didn’t feel cold until I was almost back home. We sat on the front steps in the sunshine for a bit and it was warm there because it’s protected from the breeze.

    Dune was an okay movie, if a bit weird-looking. Nowhere near as good as the book though.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is and it was a nice road to walk too since it was fairly good repaired. I think they have had the hope that the gropund will freeze early and that the ground frost will fix it🙂 I think it’s the land owner himself that did the work.

      The temperature is dropping here but I hope it will turn towards warmer early tomorrow since the dogs and I will go out on a small trip tomorrow. They will salt the bigger roads but I want to take the smaller ones because it’s much funnire to drive on them.

      I haven’t read the book so I think I most likely would like Dune the movie. Never read the book before the movie, that’s a rukle >I always try to follow. That’s why I haven’t bought the Hunger game trilogy yet🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I never expect the movie to be anything like the book so I’m not disappointed when it isn’t. Often the movie goes very far afield. Jaws is a good example. The book was about interpersonal relationships and the rivalry between two men who wanted the same woman. The movie was about the shark eating people.
        Dune is a great book. Dune is a good movie but, it I recall correctly, it might be hard to follow if you haven’t read the book.
        If you do read Dune, don’t bother with any of the sequels because they are truly awful.

      • I agree but I still can be very disappointed, especially if they change or not even mention crusial things in the story line. I haven’t read Jaws either but that was an interesting twist :-)I think I’ll look for Dune next time I go online to buy books, everyone seems to think it’s a really dgood book! and I will stay away from the sequels🙂
        Christer.

  2. I wouldn’t follow that river to the bog, I would think all manner of bad would come from the bog, I wonder why the deer here have bigger ears than your deer, different species, I suppose,

    • Hi Laurie!

      But that’s the interesting part, one never knows what will turn up🙂🙂

      Yes different species, I don’t think anyone put out Roe feers on Your cxontinent.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Guillaume!

      I usually have lots of deers around during winter so they are easy to take photos of🙂 My cats are always around and doesn’t seem to dislike me pointing the camera towards them either🙂

      Have a great day!

  3. Jag bara älskar att du sätter namn på “dina” rådjur!🙂 Dom blir så härligt personliga då!!🙂🙂
    Här har det varit drama med Santos som fick en allergichock i onsdags natt med kräkningar, diarré, igensvullna ögon, klåda och bulor på kroppen. Förmodligen av ett torkat grisöra…så nu är den typen av smakbitar borttagna för tid och evighet. Vill aldrig uppleva en så hemsk natt igen!😦
    Det konstiga men väldigt bra var att han åt och drack – som tur var – direkt efter kräkningarna. Efter en sömnlös natt sov han nästan hela dagen och natten i ett streck, men nu är han helt återställd igen!🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Namn måste de allt ha🙂

      Men stackars Santos! Men du är du säker på att det var ett torkat grisöra och inte ett rökt? De torkade brukar aldrig ge några problem medans de rökta är ett helsike på alla sätt! Vet inte vad de gör mer än röker dem men många hundar blir direkt sjuka av dem, mina också. MEN de som bara torkats går alltid vbra att ge. Tyvärr är de mycket svårare att hitta i affärerna. De där tuggbenen i oxhud är också något man skall hålla borta från hundarna hur mycket de än gillar dem, många har behandlats kemiskt så mycket att de är fulla av gifter.

      Skönt att han fick upp allt så att han kunde äta direkt efteråt🙂

      Ha det gott och trevlig första advent!
      Christer.

  4. Thanks for that great picture of Bertil!!! I love it! I like the one of Teodor too! The pictures of the forest are so spooky looking. I would imagine if you were out too late and it got dark, you would find it nearly impossible to see anything at all unless there was a lot of moonlight. Not a place I would like to be. I get too easily spooked.
    I have too wild an imagination. I was spooked all of my childhood. Not sure why that was. If someone frightened me as a child or what..but dark places really do frighten me…even in my own home. Every room in our home has a nightlight in it. There is a flashlight near my bed at night. Always has been and always will be.

    • Hi Mona!

      I know You all like him and he always follow so he’s an easy target🙂

      Even though this part of the forest isn’t that old either it is mostly untouched and that’s how I like the forest to look🙂 and You’re right about it being pitch black if there isn’t a moon to light up the sky in the night🙂 The only thing I fear out there is to walk in to a moose in the dark🙂🙂🙂 or perhaps a wild hog🙂

      Being afraid of the dark is the easiest fear to understand really, of course it’s frightening when one can’t see anything that might make a sound close to us. It just might be the wind or a mouse but since we can’t see it it it scary. But out here where no one can find where one lives even with a good map there’s very littöe to be afraid of🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    Today was Star Trek all day on the syfy channel. Right now it’s The Undiscovered Country. I like most of the movies except for the first, even the ones of The Next Generation.

    It is cold today was will be cold again tonight. I closed the back door because of the breeze from the dog door so Gracie is ringing her bells to go outside. She doesn’t stay outside too long.

    I used to take my other dogs to the woods, but I can’t take Gracie. My other dogs were fine off leash, but Gracie is a runner and doesn’t like other dogs and hands right at them. She has to be glad for the backyard.

    Stay warm and have a great night.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The first one is so bad in oh so many ways🙂 I laughed out loud several time when the over acting was too big🙂🙂🙂 I’ve only see Wrath of Kahn besides the first one and it’s much better but a bit sklow to be honest, So I’m really looking forward to se the others they’ll show on channel six. Well I’ve seen the two latest of course but they won’t show those this time around.

      It does help to live in a place where very few other dogs walks around🙂 But my problem here is that my doigs loves to meet other dogs but their owners don’t allow that. Very strange to be honest. But we’re alon out there 99% of the time so that isn’t any bigger problem🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Be careful of that Bog!
    I haven’t seen “my” deer” for a very long time😦
    Teodor looks a little bit chubby in that photo!
    I’m finally catching up on blog reading…this has been an exhausting week.
    Mainly because of it being Thanksgiving and the kennel is full, actually overflowing!
    We even had boarders in the surgery runs!
    and other stuff going on too…too tired to go into now,
    I’ll blog about it later.
    anyway, stay warm!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m always careful when being on that bog so I tend only to walk long distances on it when it’s frozen.

      She’s most likely there but now nights are long and that’s when they move around.

      Teodor isn’t chubbyt, he’s fat🙂 That cat stops at any place where he can find food, mostly at the farm next door🙂

      Don’t forget to take breaks no matter how much You have to do!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

