The season to be jolly starts now :-)

DSC_0010

Sorry about no post yesterday but I was visiting a friend all day and when I came home I talked in the phone for a few hours🙂 I really didn’t feel like writing anything minutes before I usually go to bed🙂 But the photos I show today is from a walk we had before I drove homewards again. Unlike today that is sunny, windy and warm yesterday was cold, cloudy and almost windless.

DSC_0018

I really like chairs like this, they are standing at my friends home.

I really like chairs like this, they are standing at my friends home.

DSC_0019

We’re one doe less today, I heard the shot while we were out walking this morning. A neighbor told m,e it was an old doe that got shot and it’s most likely one of those that visit my garden every day. They arrive here mostly after dark so it might take me some time to figure out which one it is. I haven’t seen Longhorn or one-eyed Rune in a long time but I hope they just have changed routine and comes later in the day than usual.

I wish I had that view here at home. I do like the mountain but I love water :-)

I wish I had that view here at home. I do like the mountain but I love water🙂

This is old farming land from almost since people moved to this place tyhat later on became Sweden.

This is old farming land from almost since people moved to this place tyhat later on became Sweden.

All the photos from here on is from the walk we had just before I was going home again.

All the photos from here on is from the walk we had just before I was going home again.

It’s first of Advent and now the Christmas season starts here in Sweden. First of advent is now days the day most Swedes goes to church, it used to be on Christmas days morning, around 7 am and that is still a day lots of people goes. Otherwise Swedes aren’t a church going people. Today lots of people light the first candle in their advent candle stick. It has four candles and it’s one  candle per advent Sunday but of course most people light up the previous candles every week too, nit just the actual candle for that particular advent. In about two weeks lots Swedish home will start burning down since many forget to put out the candles before leaving their homes.

DSC_0028

This is troll forests.

This is troll forests.

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

We also put up the electric Advent candlestick on our window sills and most of us also have the Advent star shining in the windows as well. Finally we all feel that the turning towards brighter times is near. This is also the month when according to most folklore the mythical beings move around, they tend to be outside more now when it’s dark most of the day. But more about that later this month.

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

It’s getting dark outside now and the temperature is slowly dropping, it’s time to start a fire in the stove and to light up those electric candlesticks and the advent star.

There's a farm just to the left of this photo that I didn't take any photo of because an elderly couple was cruelly murdered there two years ago. Two menb thought they had lots of money in a safe they had. They didn't.

There’s a farm just to the left of this photo that I didn’t take any photo of because an elderly couple was cruelly murdered there two years ago. Two men thought they had lots of money in a safe they owned. They didn’t.

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

Have a great day!

This morning.

This morning.

16 thoughts on “The season to be jolly starts now :-)

  1. Hi Christer! Your pictures are simly amazing! Love the trolls forest. The picture of the mountain with the lake in front of it is lovely – water is my favorite too! Have a great day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      Too bad we didn’t have time enough to walk on any of the old roads leding in to the forest, it was already getting dark when we went out at 3:pm.

      I grew up by the ocean and it’s the only thing I miss here where I live now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I felt a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes as I read about the old Doe.
    I’m sorry.
    I know that is the way things are but….still.😦

    I love that chair.
    Very nice photos. Looks to be a lovely place to be.
    I hope you had a good day!

    • Hi Cindi!

      But I think it’s a better way to go than all animals in farm factories. They are stressed all life and stressed when they are killed. These at least have had a life in freedom.

      Those chairs are really nice but I doubt they cabn be bought any longer, I think one must make them oneself🙂 They day was very good🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Sorgligt att jägarna skjutit en av dina besökare, men med tanke på att det “kryllar” av rådjur kanske det är bra – även om jag inte kan förstå hur man kan jaga!😦
    Också väldans sorgligt att höra om det äldre paret som blev rånmördade. Fick dom tag på den/dom som mördade dom?😦😦
    Precis som dig gillar jag att titta på berg och idag har vi återigen roat oss med en höjdprommis, den här gången på Baraberget. En mytisk plats med fornlämning på toppen…..🙂
    Men inte bara det, jag ÄLSKAR verkligen vatten. I alla dess former. Alltså Inte bara i naturen. så nu blir det en liten pool hemma också för att jag ska kunna bada precis när jag vill!🙂🙂
    Den är precis under framställning, det är en i fiberglas, så grävningen ska väl kanske börja innan jul. Om vi har tur! Men vi har blivit lovade att den ska vara badfärdig till april!!🙂🙂🙂
    TREVLIG ADVENT
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Fast djuret hade i alla fall fått leva ett bra liv och hann inte känna något, stor skillnad mot vad de flesta djur vi äter får en chans till. Våran rådjursstam börjar ju äntligen växa här så det behövs kanske glesas ut igen.

      Jovisst gillar jag min utsikt mot berget här, men det slår inte en utsikt över vatten. En pol har jag aldrig längtat efter men väl en damm. Men den bet ju en sork hål på i vintras🙂 Skall göra om den och göra den säkrare för sorkangrepp framöver. Jag är övertygad om att du kommer att njuta för fullt i dammen🙂

      Trevlig advent!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, we have had lots of sunny weather here and it has even warmed up for the 1st of Dec. Happy start of the Yule season to you too. It seems like it has once again come up so quickly, but not so much for retailers of course. It was sad to read about the doe being shot, but that is what hunting is all about and if people do it because they need to or give food to those who need it, then I could understand it. Of course, many people say hunting is to “thin” out overpopulation in some areas because if there are too many deer they would starve. It is a dilemma as to which is the best way. Also, Grenville appreciated your good wishes for his recovery.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Time just flies, even November🙂

      I think that anything is better than starving to death but that’s no risk here. They have really no natural enemies here so if they become too many they need to do something about it. The fox takes some small ones every year thoúgh and tghe lynx too. The hunters here do eat what they shoot. I don’t know of any hunter that wouldn’t do that here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I was scrolling down and reading and looking at pictures and suddenly came upon the red cottage with the smoke pouring out the top and a glow that looked like flames coming through the side. I thought OMG! here’s a cottage that is burning from Advent candles and he didn’t even caption it!
    I see now that I am mistaken.🙂🙂🙂

    Sorry to read about the doe. I hope it was not Lotte, Longhorn or One-eyed Rune though if it was an old one it would probably not be Longhorn or Rune. They were younger.

    Your friend lives in a very beautiful part of the country.
    That is definitely Troll Forest. It looks like they are having a troll picnic in there and have all gone down for a post meal nap. Good thing you didn’t disturb them.🙂

    It’s damp, cold, grey and rainy here today. Most of the lights downstairs are turned on. Half of them are full spectrum lights so it kind of looks like daylight in here. But not really.
    I have to go out and I don’t want to because it’s the kind of dank cold that gets in the bones and doesn’t leave without a hot water bottle or a good fire. I don’t own either of those things. I will have to be content with hugging a warm mug of tea and maybe turning the blow dryer on myself for a few minutes.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I had just that reaction when I looked at that photo too🙂🙂🙂 Oh god, that house is burning🙂🙂🙂 But that is as much Swedes decorates for Christmas outside their homes🙂

      I heard it was a doe but I haven’t seen neither Rune nor Longhorn in a long while. Lotta is quite young but Doris is older. But to be honest, I haven’t seen Doris in a long while either.

      Yes I do like that area very much and it looks much like the place we had our sumer cottage when I grew up. But it’s getting a bit cvrowded there now, lots of people from Gothenburg is moving there now so the house prices are rising and there’s less space to walk alone on too.

      The sky has cleared up and all of Sweden will have frost tonight, that means blck ice on the roads and I’m not especially happy about that. Thankfully I have the fire now tonight and I have a heat pad if I want extra warmth🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is a beautiful area, too bad we never saw the mouflon this time. Yes it is sad but she didn’t feel a thing and lived a rather long life in the free.

      I don’t decorate that much, so I’ll take a photo when I’ve dressed my Yule tree too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      She had lived a rather long and rather stress free life, that’s more than we can say about most of the animals we eat that comes from big farms.

      I’ll have two weeks of during Yule and new year if the owner doesn’t say anything else🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

