Meh.

DSC_0089

The deers seem to be extremely stressed after last weekend so they don’t show up here until late at night now. Not surprising really since they were chased by a dog and one of them died. I don’t think they connect this garden with that but one never knows when that hunting dog will turn up again. Also, when lots of deer comes to one place like this it attracts other predators like the lynx. No lynx has shown up here so far but they have killed deers in gardens here before.

DSC_0081

DSC_0091

DSC_0092

I bought two poinsettia last week and they are amongst the few plants I kill rather quickly🙂 The biggest problem is to get them home to be honest, they really can’t take any cold at all and if I actually manage to bring them home without chilling them down I always have problems with the watering part, they either get too wet or too dry, I never get it right🙂 But poinsettia are the big Christmas flower here so I usually want a couple even if I know they’ll die before Christmas🙂 The other big Christmas flower here is the Azalea. Those I rarely have any problems with though and I can have them for several years until I get tired of them and plant them in´the garden, they can’t take our winters so when I plant them I sort of say bye bye🙂

DSC_0094

DSC_0104

DSC_0010

Otherwise I’m not a person that likes potted plants indoors. I have a few cactuses and some orchids because they don’t need a lot of attention or water🙂 I do have a few other plants but mostly for sentimental reasons, I’ve gotten them from friends so I really can’t kill them. After all I am a gardener🙂

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0012

I’m getting more and more irritated on my new computer and it isn’t Windows 8 this time. The pad (I think it’s called that, You know thew square I control the arrow by) is either over sensitive or not sensitive at all. Only when writing this I’ve zoomed the page in all directions and I wasn’t even near the place where I do that. But when I really want to do something it’s so insensitive that I must press down my finger really hard! Also the letter buttons are much smaller on this one than my last so I tend to write several letters at the same time, that’s really annoying!Computers!!!

DSC_0035

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

It’s time to make something to eat and a couple of cups with cocoa. after that I’ll sit down on the floor to have a chat with my dogs.

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Meh.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I sympathize with you on the house plants. If it can’t live for 6 months without water, it doesn’t live in my house.

    I have a Christmas cactus that a friend gave me as a rooted cutting about 40 years ago. I have forgotten to water it on a regular basis. I have left it where all its leaves froze, thawed, died and dropped off.
    It should be a huge plant by now but it is tiny. But it still lives. Sometimes it even has flowers. Usually after I have forgotten to water it for several months.
    I guess it figures it should make seeds quickly in case I really kill it this time.🙂

    For Christmas I bought two small Norfolk Island pines and have some decorations on them. I have an even smaller one, also decorated. And I have an amaryllis. We shall see who is the last survivor.🙂

    I love the 6th and 7th photos, today, though the ice one at the top is good as well. The 6th one is like a painting of the sunlit forest through a dark window or something.
    The 7th one is like a stairway of light coming down to the forest floor. It was a bit big for my monitor but that’s okay.

    When does hunting season end in your area? The deer can settle down a bit then except for lynxes of course.

    It’s a Meh day here. Not cold but grey and drizzly. Much like yesterday.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I usually remember to water my plants once every month🙂 Except during summer when I place many outdoors and they’ll have to manage on what nature gives them🙂
      I don’t have any Christmas cactrus any longer, I left mine outside during heavy frost and that finally killed it🙂 I still have my Easter cactus though, it’s a bit more delicate so I tend to remember that one🙂 and I agree that catus is desperate to give some seeds until it’s too late🙂🙂

      I like those two photos as well but I have no idea whay the 7th photo is that big? It shouldn’t but Word>Press sometimes decide to do thing without telling me🙂

      I think the moose season is over in late January and deer season in early February. But I’ve noticed that the hunters starts to give up shortly after Christmas here. Late January and February is the coldest period here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I know laptop users cringe when I say this, but if your touch pad isn’t working for you, just use a wireless mouse. It’s so fast and easy. (you can hide it when people stop by…) Dee

    • Hi Dee St Romain and welcome to my blog🙂

      I have no problems using a wireless mouse, I’ll buy one as soon as I can🙂 Yesterday I changed everything involuntary all evening and it almost drove me mad🙂

      Thanks for the tip and welcome back🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I have a couple of spider plants which were given me when I moved into my house 36 years go. They are still healthy, and I gave cuttings from that plant to my friend who gave it to me Hers had died. I always have poinsettias around the house, and they last well into the next year.

    I have plants in this room and the dining room. When I was in college, they were a huge part of the decor as we didn’t have much furniture. Other than when I was in Africa I have always had plants in the house.

    Poor deer-I hope they’ll be safe so enough.

    • Hi Kat!

      Long time since I had those, their popularity comes and goes like waves and this is a wave when they’re not popular at all. We always had those at home when I grew up and they could take almost anything, they actually work rather well in aquariums too🙂 I’ve had my poinsettias for four days now and they still live🙂

      I used to have lots of plants when I lived in an appartement, now days I prefer them outside🙂

      I think I had a buck here early this morning so at least they still come here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I missed a post or two so I have to go back and find out what happened to the deer..and what dog did what. I love your pictures..all of them are beautiful. Not to worry..it’s warm here and I kill poinsettia’s too..🙂 I’ve even had them died the first night I had them..and you are right ..they are NOT good in cold weather. Odd that they are the traditional Christmas flower here since Winter is cold. I understand they are from Mexico..which is WAY South..so..in a place where it snows…it’s understandable that they would die quickly.
    Take good care, Christer!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s nice to know that You who lives in almost the rigyt climate also kill them🙂🙂🙂 Some people have them for years and years and they even manage to make them flower every winter! even if they just have them in the same cold window year after year🙂 But I have to admit that I haven’t killed them that fast🙂🙂🙂

      I agree, it is strange that they became so popular here since they tend to die even if we only think cold🙂 But their Swedish name is “Yule star” so >I guess that helps to make them a bit popular. Begonias used to be big but not any longer, they tended to die even faster🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Kmac and welcomne to my blog🙂

      Well the problem is that sometimes it’s so sensitive it’s enough that I barely touch it and sometimes it isn’t sensitive at all no matter what I do🙂🙂 I’ll check the link but I lean towards buying a wireless mouse🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer –
    I know what you mean about house plants being difficult to take care of, especially when the cold weather sets in. The only plants I really try to keep indoors in the Winter are the succulents I grow in containers on my deck in Spring & Summer. As hardy as all the experts claim they are, they are quite easy to kill. I have learned that they will not tolerate changes in watering, light or temperature. In September I have to gradually start moving them closer to my sliding door, then into the house (hopefully without bugs) and then into my guest room which gets the most sun. Succulents are one of those plants that fool you about their health. They do not show the damage of over-watering or under-watering until 2 weeks after you did the act that offended them. You think they are doing great & I have finally figured out the right watering schedule & then they suddenly rot or become so heavy with moisture that the leggy stems snap off. I have a whole collection of pots that were overflowing with all kinds of beautiful flowering succulents in Summer and by Spring there will be one lonely chick & hen plant alive. They may multiply like crazy when planted in the ground, but in containers, once they have mostly died they will not come back. I have become so paranoid about killing them I am now procrastinating to take all the individual surviving bits of plant and transplant them all into one container. I have had good success year round with a begonia that seems to be do great without much attention. It grows a lot of pretty dark green leaves with a grey speckled pattern. Itt has never bloomed indoors, but I think it is supposed to flower normally. As long as there is any sign of life in a plant, I cannot bear to throw a plant away. I would feel like a plant murderer & there is always the possibility it could suddenly decide to grow back – at least that is what I hope for.
    I do have some lovely fake poinsettias that I put by the fireplace this time of year. I don’t use my electric heat too much in the Winter & the cold makes all the leaves fall off of real ones I have bought in the past. I just have to admire all the pretty different varieties they sell in the stores at Christmas. I will be putting up my tree this week & get it decorated. It seems like time is passing so quickly that I want it up to enjoy for a few weeks before the New Years arrives. The older we get, the fast time passes with frightening speed.

    We are just now getting hit by an Arctic cold front and we are not going to get temps above freezing all week. We will be down in the teens at night. Today I had to bring some large containers of geraniums and one of Swedish ivy very close to the house and cover them with sheets in hopes that they will survive our unusually cold weather. There is a family of 4 hummingbirds that live here year round and come several times a day to check out the flowers, especially now that there are few flowers around for them to find. Just before dark at about 4 PM they came and saw that I had moved their flowers & they were so mad that they came to the picture window & looked at me like they were demanding that I give them back their flowers. These hummingbirds have been coming for the past 13 years & they have no fear of buzzing right in my face when they want something. I guess I will put their nectar feeder up tomorrow since I feel sorry for them with such unusually cold weather coming for the next ten days.

    We may get some snow during the week, so I need to fill the car with gas & get some basics at the grocery store in case of bad weather. I will not drive in snow anymore. Not because I don’t know how. I am originally from Northern NY where you get 4 feet of snow in one day, so I know how to drive in bad conditions. I don’t drive because people out here on the west Coast are clueless about driving in snow and they crash into one another & think they can drive in any weather because they have a big SUV or truck. The streets and highways become littered with vehicles that people who insisted they could handle the conditions either abandoned,, crashed, slid into ditches or were hit by another driver. When I lived downtown I had a great view of one of the highest bridges over the river and when we had snow or ice I would sit on my couch and have fun watching all the cars coming down the slope go sliding & spinning into other cars. So, I just stay home and wait for the snow to melt in a day or two.

    Your photos look great. Are you using a new software program? Your problem with the sensitivity of the cursor should be able to be adjusted I would think. If you are using Windows operating system you can just use the help & support icon & ask how to adjust the speed or sensitivity. I joined the Windows Community because you can post a technical question & get responses from people who are tech savey & who give much better advise than the “professionals.”
    I hope you, all the animals & the poinsettia stay nice & warm..

    • Hi Ellen!

      I used to have catuses inm my garden all year round. They survived because the east wall of my cottage is ratgher dry but they never flowered there. The best would have been towards the south wall but it’s just too wet there during autumn and parts in winter so they would have rotten. I have a few cactuses on my windowsills though and they seem to like it there. I rarely give them any water during winter unless it’s warm as it has been this year.

      I have a few plants I have in pots outside during winter that I place in my cold cellar, some die but most of them survives. I used to have my citrus plants there too but this year I have those by the windows at my entrance hall. A bit cool there and they seem to like it a lot, just like my fuchsia does. But You are right about succulents, they are too easy to kill🙂 As You say, it takes some time until one know if they like it or if they’ll die🙂 I’m like You, if there’s sign of life they’ll stay, I was just about to tgrow out one of my orchids when I noticed new leafs growing on it🙂

      I had to check what Swedish Ivy was🙂 It used to be very common over here and since they tended to flower here in November we call them November candles. I haven’t seen one in many years, I sold some when I had my garden centewr but that’s over years ago now. >I like them a lot and that was one of the plants we always had when I grew up.

      Hummingbirds are something we only see on tv here🙂 I would love to have them here too but they only exists on Your side of the ocean. We’ll get some snow too they say and after it has fallen we’ll get it cold here too. I wouldn’t mind if this warm weather could stay some more. I’m not theone that needs a white Christmas at all. I grew up by the ocean and it mostky rained during Christmastime🙂 Most people behave well when the snow falls but it’s another thing in the big cities. They always get surprised every year when that white stuff falls from the sky🙂🙂

      Yes I had to buy Photoshop elements since they don’t have windows editing program with Windos 8. I just need it so I can reduce the size on my photos and I know there are programs so I can do it online but I like to be able to shut down the internet while doing it. I still can’t say I like it but at least I now understand how it works🙂🙂 It seems that most editing programs that could be downloaded isn’t compatible with Windows 8. I really dislike Windows 8!

      I’ll buy myself a wireless mouse instead or even one with a wire, I don’t care as long as it works🙂🙂

      We are all well and warm here in the cottage🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I have plants all over my kitchen and living room right now. They are all from the back patio. The Azalea is blooming right now and looks lovely but it’s so hard keeping the cats away. That’s why most of the time the cats are downstairs.
    I’m not having computer problems right now, rather it’s cell phone headaches.
    I was on my sisters plan but it will be up in a few days and everyone has to get their own phones and plans and it’s giving me a big headache!

    • Hi Cindi!

      My poinsetties are still alive and kicking🙂 They haven’t even lost a single leaf yet🙂 My cats only like the big pots where they either sleep or pee in🙂

      I don’t understand what You mean by being on Your sisters plan? Is it some kind of joint subscription You’ve had?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

